24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you Sue for such a wonderful tasting pot roast. You were certainly correct to point out no extra liquid should be added. We had a truck load of the most wonderful tasting gravy!! I do not have a dutch oven, so I used my steel wok to cook the roast in. We will definitely treasure this recipe!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James Craig January 25, 2003

We loved this pot roast! Fabulous flavor and gravy. Instead of stove top simmering, I baked it covered in a 300F oven until the internal temperature probe read 200F and then for 30 minutes more. I turned it every 45 minutes. My 4 lb roast took 3 hours and 15 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, I'll make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melinda2 October 05, 2003

This is the most brilliant Pot Roast recipe I have ever made! Never until now have I had a gravy come from something that needed nothing added other than thickening! I had to vary two things- 1. I didn't have a dutch oven so I just used my largest non stick pan. 2. I only used 1 huge onion because only two people in my family will eat cooked onion and even with just that the flavor was wonderful! Easy, simple, I didn't have to watch it and the roast was moist and had flavor! I don't blame you for never making any other recipe for this, this is absolutely perfect! Thank you for the best roast recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow July 13, 2003

Fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar. ( a suggestion of one of the other reviewers...) I used red onions as well. I, like several others, cooked the roast in the oven rather than on the stove top. I covered the roaster with tin foil and then put the lid on top for a better seal. I cooked my roast for about 3 hours at 325 F as I like my pot roast to be fall to pieces tender. Great Recipe, Paja.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Regina V. Smith September 17, 2007

This was wonderful. The flavor of the gravy and meat was really great. I added some red potatoes and carrots to mine to make an all in one meal. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingMama34 April 12, 2004

My husband tasted this and said "you can make THIS again!". This is huge high praise from him! I made the recipe as posted except I doubled the mustard, brown sugar, water, vinegar mixture, and as other posters mentioned - this was highly unnecessary. The original amounts shown would have been plenty for gravy, but he likes alot so I always worry - won't need to do that with this recipe again! I simmered the roast for 4 hours - no special reason, because it was nice & tender after 3 hours as posted. The onions made a delicious side. Also served with brown rice (with the gravy!) and steamed broccoli/cauliflower medley. This is a keeper - thanks, Sue!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee December 29, 2003

Suej, What a perfect pot roast this was.very easy to make,and absolutely wonderful to eat.This was Grrrreat!!! Thanks,Darlene

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers November 04, 2003

Easy and the onion gravy is amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLCWoods March 05, 2010

We really enjoyed this, it was very simple to make. I thought the gravy was a little on the sweet side, but my husband and kids loved it. Next time I'll probably use beef broth instead of water to see if I can take the sweet edge off just a little. Overall though, great pot roast, will make again. Thanks Paja!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy November 12, 2009

This is the best pot roast I have ever eaten! Now that I've found this recipe I think I'll be making pot roast a couple times a month. I browned the meat and put all ingredients in my smaller crockpot the night before and placed the liner in the fridge. In the morning I popped the liner in the crockpot, and cooked on low all day. I did use flour to make a gravy, although I had to transfer to a sauce pan b/c it did not thicken in the crock pot. I used cider vinegar, and next time will try balsamic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee October 12, 2008
Mom's Pot Roast