Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2003

      Thank you Sue for such a wonderful tasting pot roast. You were certainly correct to point out no extra liquid should be added. We had a truck load of the most wonderful tasting gravy!! I do not have a dutch oven, so I used my steel wok to cook the roast in. We will definitely treasure this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      We loved this pot roast! Fabulous flavor and gravy. Instead of stove top simmering, I baked it covered in a 300F oven until the internal temperature probe read 200F and then for 30 minutes more. I turned it every 45 minutes. My 4 lb roast took 3 hours and 15 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      This is the most brilliant Pot Roast recipe I have ever made! Never until now have I had a gravy come from something that needed nothing added other than thickening! I had to vary two things- 1. I didn't have a dutch oven so I just used my largest non stick pan. 2. I only used 1 huge onion because only two people in my family will eat cooked onion and even with just that the flavor was wonderful! Easy, simple, I didn't have to watch it and the roast was moist and had flavor! I don't blame you for never making any other recipe for this, this is absolutely perfect! Thank you for the best roast recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Fantastic. I used balsamic vinegar. ( a suggestion of one of the other reviewers...) I used red onions as well. I, like several others, cooked the roast in the oven rather than on the stove top. I covered the roaster with tin foil and then put the lid on top for a better seal. I cooked my roast for about 3 hours at 325 F as I like my pot roast to be fall to pieces tender. Great Recipe, Paja.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      This was wonderful. The flavor of the gravy and meat was really great. I added some red potatoes and carrots to mine to make an all in one meal. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      My husband tasted this and said "you can make THIS again!". This is huge high praise from him! I made the recipe as posted except I doubled the mustard, brown sugar, water, vinegar mixture, and as other posters mentioned - this was highly unnecessary. The original amounts shown would have been plenty for gravy, but he likes alot so I always worry - won't need to do that with this recipe again! I simmered the roast for 4 hours - no special reason, because it was nice & tender after 3 hours as posted. The onions made a delicious side. Also served with brown rice (with the gravy!) and steamed broccoli/cauliflower medley. This is a keeper - thanks, Sue!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Suej, What a perfect pot roast this was.very easy to make,and absolutely wonderful to eat.This was Grrrreat!!! Thanks,Darlene

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Easy and the onion gravy is amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      We really enjoyed this, it was very simple to make. I thought the gravy was a little on the sweet side, but my husband and kids loved it. Next time I'll probably use beef broth instead of water to see if I can take the sweet edge off just a little. Overall though, great pot roast, will make again. Thanks Paja!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      This is the best pot roast I have ever eaten! Now that I've found this recipe I think I'll be making pot roast a couple times a month. I browned the meat and put all ingredients in my smaller crockpot the night before and placed the liner in the fridge. In the morning I popped the liner in the crockpot, and cooked on low all day. I did use flour to make a gravy, although I had to transfer to a sauce pan b/c it did not thicken in the crock pot. I used cider vinegar, and next time will try balsamic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      Excellent recipe, great flavours and easy to put together. I didn't thicken with flour as I really liked the way the onions had caramelised and just used them as a 'gravy' Thanks for a great recipe. (I used a piece of topside)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      Very nice. Like other reviewers I recommend using Balsamic Vinegar instead of the regular white. I browned it and cooked it in the crock pot for 6 hrs low. Delicious with mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This was really good. I did wish that the roast would have been more tender. Next time I plan to cook it longer about an additional hour. The gravy came out excellent. Almost like a sauerbraten taste without the gingersnap cookies. It does make alot of gravy so do make sure not to add any additional water. Overall a very enjoyable dish. Thanks Paja for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      This is an excellent pot roast recipe. I used balsamic vinegar and cooked it in the oven at 325 degrees for about 3 1/2 hrs. The family loved it! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I must admit, I was a little skeptical about the mustard and brown sugar...but I read all the reviews, and well...all I can say is WOW! Super tender roast...no need to add liquid...the gravy was YUMMY! I added some baby carrots the last 30 mins or so...and chose balsamic vinegar...and it was great! I served the roast with curly egg noodles, baby carrots, salad and crusty bread. A+++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I made this today, and it was much more than I expected..very good flavour, for the meat and the gravy...cooked my roast for four hours, until it fell apart because that's how I like a pot roast...thanks for sharing this simple ingredient recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      This was incredible. I will be making this tasty tasty dish again and again. I cooked a 3.5 lb roast on top of the stove for 3.5 hours. We loved the flavour of the gravey and the moist and tender meat. We just couldn't get enough of it. Thank you so much Paja for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Wow! This was absolutely delicious! I added sliced potatoes and used a crock pot after browning the meat and bringing everything to a boil. I will definetely be making this pot roast again for my family. thanks again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      I really liked this. It was simple and different. I did use balsamic vinegar and made this in the crockpot. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2004

      This pot roast is deliciously different, and came out incredibly moist and juicy. The onions along with the flavorful ingredients made for an excellent broth base for the potatoes and carrots I added to complete the meal. I made this in the oven at 300F and thinking to using my crock pot for the next time around. Thank you Paja for sharing a family recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 50.9
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    62%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pot roast

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes