Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Oyster Dressing/Stuffing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Oyster Dressing/Stuffing

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 28, 2011

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe!!! I made this a few years ago for Thanksgiving and decided to make it again this year. It's so simple to make and has so much flavor! I made it exactly as the recipe states. This one is a keeper for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Awesome! I chopped my oysters so that every bite had a piece of oyster. It's delicious and not overly 'fishy' so everyone will love it. Thanx for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      If you like oyster dressing, you NEED to try recipe! It is wonderful! My wife is from the south, so we used cornbread for hers, and I'm a Chicagoan who grew up eating bread stuffing, so I chose the bread, but I have to confess: I liked the cornbread better! Thank you, Gigi, and thank you, Krsi Sue!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      This is a very good recipe for an all time holiday favorite with most of my family (some prefer plain dressing, so I make both). <br/>We like our dressing really moist so I added 1 cup of organic chicken broth and an egg to the mix.<br/>Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      This was a great addition to our Thanksgiving meal. I was worried about using canned oysters, but after cooking them they tasted very tasty and almost melted in your mouth. I made this with whole wheat bread, which I cubed, and baked it in a separate pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I just made this last night for Thanksgiving. I'm so pleased that I did! What attracted me to this recipe was the ease of making it (the recipe that I have is more difficult and not as tasty.)

      I took the cornbread route (hey, I'm a southerner.) I noted that it used all the cornbread from my cast iron skillet, so that's easy to remember. I used a pint of fresh Apalachicola oysters (yum) and threw in some fresh mushrooms. Soooo good!!

      The only thing I'll do differently next time is cut back on the salt. This is not the fault of the recipe: I bake my cornbread in bacon fat, so it's got a bit of saltiness already.

      Thank you for posting this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Awesome. Adding lots of the turkey pan drippings. I am making this one a tradition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Excellent! I prefer the small cove oysters in the can and more of them but that is a personal choice.If the oysters are cut minced, children will like the dressing. My kids were raised on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Oyster Dressing/Stuffing

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.2
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    50%
    Total Fat 20.3 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 84.5 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1272.2 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes