Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Oil Crust Pie Shell Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Oil Crust Pie Shell

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2009

      Thank you!!! I have been trying to find a crust like this forever, and it is so easy to make, I didn't know I could use oil, and it is just what I was looking for. Ttthhhaaannnkkksss!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      I have never been able to make a decent piecrust until I found this recipe! Thank you, thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This is a very quick and easy to make pie shell. Very flakey. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      I don't know why this recipe has so few reviews...it's amazing. I didn't use it for pie (I don't like pie), but I used it for quiche. It was so flaky and scrumptious. I caught my brother opening the fridge to break off pieces of the crust :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Super easy, delicious crust. The pie shell was crisp and flaky, and SO easy and quick. Mine did not cook in 11 minutes at 375...it still wasn't done after 20 minutes, so I turned my oven up to 400. Then it browned. By the way, directions didn't say whether or not to dock the crust before baking, but I did. (Dock=poke with fork all over bottom and sides to prevent shell from raising up from baking form.) I put water in the freezer for about 1/2 hour before measuring out my 4 T water from that. I also added 1 T sugar, since I was making a sweet Raspberry Cream Pie, Zaar #42831. Delicious! Oh, I used peanut oil, as it's healthier than canola or veg oil. I wouldn't hesitate to use olive oil for a savory pie, as others have suggested. I actually used all of the dough in the 9" glass form, so that's probably why it took longer to bake, but I've always liked a slightly thicker crust and had plenty of dough to make a more generously decorated rim crust that resulted in no notable shrinkage...and it all held together beautifully when removing, even the first piece. You could use this in a 10" pie form, and it would probably be the perfect "standard" thickness. I don't think I'll buy those Pillsbury crusts anymore, this was more flavorful, looked prettier and is much cheaper to make. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Really easy and quick pie crust recipe. I made exactly as stated, using vegetable oil, and it worked a treat. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      After all the wonderful reviews I decided to try this crust... And it came out delicious, really tasty and great consistence. I added a lil garlic powder because I was making a chicken pot pie and it was my best pie ever. Thanks!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I frequently bake 'regular' crust and have a recipe I love, but when I don't have time (for the rolling or the mess) I love to use an oil crust mixed right in the pan. It's great for a simple fruit pie or tart with a T of sugar added to the flour, or a meaty pie made with Olive oil. I'm making a pumpkin one tonight with Canola. I agree with your mom that cold (or even iced) WATER is the way to go - it makes a much flakier crust. I will add to your recipe that this makes more than enough for a Deep dish pie, and the water measurement should be 3 to 4 Tablespoons, sometimes a little more, depending on how wet or dry your flour may be. Anyone thinking of making this crust will not be disappointed - it works well and tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This recipe has changed my pie-making. Although I make an amazing basic pie-crust which is always commented on, I no longer have the time or patience except once a year or so to go through the labor of making the crust for pies. I tried this one because it is so fast so easy and best of all no cleanup; but the surprise was how it held it's own in the taste/texture department. Not a highly structured crust, but very tasty and flaky. I have used it for an onion tart, a pumpkin pie and it was equally good. Will use this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I have been using this recipe for months and haven't reviewed it yet. This is great tasting, super easy pie crust. I never had success with roll-out crust, so this is great because you don't have to roll it. I use palm oil, but you could probably use coconut oil also (these oils get solid at cooler temps). Sometimes I'll add a tablespoon of sugar for sweet pies, but it is great either way. Thank you soo much for this recipe, I never used to be able to make pies, but now I can!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Nice crumbly crust that compliments any pie. I found the salt level to be perfect. I baked it at 375 F for 11 minutes and came out perfect though not quite golden brown.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Excellent crust that I used for a quiche like concoction. Very easy and quick to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This is a very good pie crust. The amount of salt was way too much for me and I would drop it down to 1/2 but no more than 1 tsp. I made the crust for pumpkin pie and aside from it being too salty, it was a great crust. It is super easy to make and very eay to work with.
      I actually made the crust right in the pie plate, didn't use any cooking spray and the pie slices slid ou with ease. I am an avid pie baker and this is the trick with pie crust. The crust itself was perfect.
      I will definitely make this again. Regardless if I am making a dessert pie, a quiche or a pot pie, I will cut down on the salt.
      Highly recommend this crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I doubled the recipe for a two-crust pork pie. I used 3 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup white wheat, and I used olive oil. The crust worked well for a savory pie -- not as flaky as my regular shortening crust, but it held up well in the meat pie. I measured the ingredients per the recipe and everything worked well, except next time I would halve the salt. I pressed the bottom crust into the pan (10" deep dish) and rolled the second half between sheets of wax paper for the top crust. I baked the pie for an hour or so at 350, and the crust was browned, but not overdone. Thank you for a quick and convenient crust recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      This recipe was cut in half to make a mini pie crust for this: Applesauce Pie (and I substituted homemade pearsauce for applesauce). Sunflower oil was tested, a food processor to prep the dough and the recipe required more water than indicated. Make for Help a Naked Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      I don't think I will rate this. Just comment. Over all I liked recipe for savory dishes like quiche but for a pie I will still go with a rolled out dough. I think rolled pie crusts are flakier. I make good pie crust just wanted something fast and easy which this is. Otherwise I would make quiche a lot less often. Since I would only use for savory recipes I would rate a three if I was rating. since I dont want to lower ratings I wount rate at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I know that this recipe is great, without a doubt, because I'm the "Mom" referred to! I always use this pie crust, and it's easy to put together and tastes good, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I tried this using whole wheat flour and it turned out alright. I made this crust for a tomato pie and I thought it was a little tough. I might recommend not using 100% whole wheat, maybe a combo with white flour would work better. Easy and quick to make though. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Oil Crust Pie Shell

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1873.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1003
    53%
    Total Fat 111.4 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3495.0 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 190.7 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes