18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you!!! I have been trying to find a crust like this forever, and it is so easy to make, I didn't know I could use oil, and it is just what I was looking for. Ttthhhaaannnkkksss!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shamelle2003 May 21, 2009

I have never been able to make a decent piecrust until I found this recipe! Thank you, thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b4uc1or2 February 28, 2009

This is a very quick and easy to make pie shell. Very flakey. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn February 07, 2009

I don't know why this recipe has so few reviews...it's amazing. I didn't use it for pie (I don't like pie), but I used it for quiche. It was so flaky and scrumptious. I caught my brother opening the fridge to break off pieces of the crust :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Miss Rachel. January 29, 2009

Super easy, delicious crust. The pie shell was crisp and flaky, and SO easy and quick. Mine did not cook in 11 minutes at 375...it still wasn't done after 20 minutes, so I turned my oven up to 400. Then it browned. By the way, directions didn't say whether or not to dock the crust before baking, but I did. (Dock=poke with fork all over bottom and sides to prevent shell from raising up from baking form.) I put water in the freezer for about 1/2 hour before measuring out my 4 T water from that. I also added 1 T sugar, since I was making a sweet Raspberry Cream Pie, Zaar #42831. Delicious! Oh, I used peanut oil, as it's healthier than canola or veg oil. I wouldn't hesitate to use olive oil for a savory pie, as others have suggested. I actually used all of the dough in the 9" glass form, so that's probably why it took longer to bake, but I've always liked a slightly thicker crust and had plenty of dough to make a more generously decorated rim crust that resulted in no notable shrinkage...and it all held together beautifully when removing, even the first piece. You could use this in a 10" pie form, and it would probably be the perfect "standard" thickness. I don't think I'll buy those Pillsbury crusts anymore, this was more flavorful, looked prettier and is much cheaper to make. Thanks for a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moramor July 01, 2008

Really easy and quick pie crust recipe. I made exactly as stated, using vegetable oil, and it worked a treat. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunny Erica April 20, 2008

After all the wonderful reviews I decided to try this crust... And it came out delicious, really tasty and great consistence. I added a lil garlic powder because I was making a chicken pot pie and it was my best pie ever. Thanks!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andreinha December 27, 2007

I frequently bake 'regular' crust and have a recipe I love, but when I don't have time (for the rolling or the mess) I love to use an oil crust mixed right in the pan. It's great for a simple fruit pie or tart with a T of sugar added to the flour, or a meaty pie made with Olive oil. I'm making a pumpkin one tonight with Canola. I agree with your mom that cold (or even iced) WATER is the way to go - it makes a much flakier crust. I will add to your recipe that this makes more than enough for a Deep dish pie, and the water measurement should be 3 to 4 Tablespoons, sometimes a little more, depending on how wet or dry your flour may be. Anyone thinking of making this crust will not be disappointed - it works well and tastes great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 05, 2007

This recipe has changed my pie-making. Although I make an amazing basic pie-crust which is always commented on, I no longer have the time or patience except once a year or so to go through the labor of making the crust for pies. I tried this one because it is so fast so easy and best of all no cleanup; but the surprise was how it held it's own in the taste/texture department. Not a highly structured crust, but very tasty and flaky. I have used it for an onion tart, a pumpkin pie and it was equally good. Will use this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mode Chef October 27, 2007

I have been using this recipe for months and haven't reviewed it yet. This is great tasting, super easy pie crust. I never had success with roll-out crust, so this is great because you don't have to roll it. I use palm oil, but you could probably use coconut oil also (these oils get solid at cooler temps). Sometimes I'll add a tablespoon of sugar for sweet pies, but it is great either way. Thank you soo much for this recipe, I never used to be able to make pies, but now I can!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjerusha October 17, 2007
Mom's Oil Crust Pie Shell