12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Quite good! I took the advice of the other reviewers and added cinnamon (1/2 tsp) and vanilla (1 tsp), which really added some good flavour. I found them to be a tad dry, but I think I just have a preference for very moist muffins. Was very careful not to overmix, and they turned out perfectly fluffy. Next time, I'd like to substitute apple sauce for oil like others have done! Sounds delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Torricus June 24, 2012

I was looking for a simple and fast recipe to replace my usual just add water Quaker muffins and these were perfect! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrVanilla March 15, 2007

these were really good. i added some oragne juice and some orange zest to give them a different flavor. i think i stirred them a little too much though

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 January 19, 2007

Excellent muffins. Instead of an egg I added an extra teaspoon of baking powder and 2 tablespoons water. I also added 1 tablespoon corn meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May A December 10, 2005

I had high hopes for these muffins. They stuck to the paper cups and were gummy. I used the applesauce instead of oil and increased the sugar to 1/3c. I did make a mistake though. I forgot to look at the oven temp until 10 min after cooking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valgal123 January 19, 2008

I found these a little dense and bland but I'm not rating because I made so many substitutions that it was probably my own fault. I added 1/8 tsp cinnamon, 1 TBS flaxseed meal, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup raisins, and subbed 4 TBS applesauce for the oil. My son refused to eat them and I also decided they weren't worth the calories on my diet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamara.packer December 23, 2007

Awesome recipe! I've substituted oil with 4 tablespoons of unsweetened apple sauce, instead of regular milk I've used vanilla flavored Soy milk with no sugar added, I've also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract and 2 1.5oz boxes of raisins. Those muffins came out nice and moist. I had to make a second batch pretty much within minutes! Thank you for sharing =).P.S. I've made this with bananas, apples, pears, blueberries and strawberries. Such an easy recipe to add ingredients to!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JessicaWabbit November 27, 2007

Quick, tasty and easy to make. What else do we need??? Summer guests will enjoy these. Thanks Narshmellow

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo May 28, 2007

These are quick, easy and good. I did add some vanilla essence and cinnamon but they would've been fine without. Personally I like more sugar than this so I now add more. I've made a few different batches of these and have included some with sultanas and choc-chips. It's a great recipe as is but also makes an excellent base for other additions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mermaiden91 March 30, 2007

Great, easy recipe! The only substitution I made was using applesauce for all oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Cooking March 03, 2005
Mom's Oatmeal Muffins