14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Redneck, this recipe didn't dissapoint me, or the others that ate it. I wish I could give you more stars. I tell you what, I'm being very good, and really watching what I eat. But, I tasted this in order to give a true review. Thanks to the help boards, I will share that I made 2 deep dish pies. I tripled the filling and just divided it between the two pies. It filled each of the pies right to the top, it couldn't have turned out more perfect. I also added an 8 oz container of cool whip to each pie (made it real high) and then I took my vegetable peeler and a Hershey Bar and made chocolate curls all over the top. I have never posted a picture, but this recipe has made me want to learn how in order to show this beauty. I did save a piece in order to take a picture. Hopefully it will work out and I can post a picture. Thank you so much for sharing you and your mom's recipe. I've already had several requests to make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doing it Right November 30, 2006

I don't think I cooked this long enough. I made a cracker crust and skipped the meringue and put it in the fridge to chill. However, it was still delicious! We scooped it out of the pie plate and the cracker crust was a great topping to the pudding bottom. We loved it! Will try again and let it cook longer next time. Lovely, simple recipe! Amy, I hope your sweet mama isn't too horrified at what I did to her recipe! I know you are resting in Jesus!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose September 16, 2013

Mmmm mmmm good! I made this for 4th of July, with My No Roll Pie Crust #51537 and Weepless Meringue #20159. It is rich and thick, with a dark chocolate flavor. The chocolate layer was pretty thin so I may double the filling next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenjie July 04, 2010

I didn't actually try this recipe, but since it's just like the one my grandmother made years ago, I KNOW it's a winner. I also use this recipe for chocolate gravy by not cooking it quite as long. And to make a great coconut pie, omit the chocolate and add toasted shredded coconut. A real old-fashioned recipe that's so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLee in TX May 02, 2010

This is the only recipe I'll ever use for chocolate pie. Delicious and soooo easy. Took about 12 minutes of stirring for filling to get to right consistency if this helps anyone. My family is already BEGGING for me to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SnoopyCooks February 12, 2010

This recipe has never failed me! For those of us who grew up on Moms Sunday dinners and down home cooking, this is THE chocolate pie that was set on every one of those tables! I hvae enjoyed so many of Amy's recipes the past couple of yrs, I'm sorry she is no longer with us to continue sharing her wonderful recipes and bright sense of humor that is so evident in most of her reviews and descriptions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mydoggiesmom January 06, 2010

This pie never set up for me, even after 2 attempts. The second time I made the filling, I added a bit more flour, and cooked longer hoping it would get thick, but it never did. Very disappointing. I ended up with a soupy mess in a pie crust. The filling did taste really good, I wish it had thickened so it would actually have been a pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj May 14, 2009

Just what I was looking for! My first ever chocolate pie was YUMMY! Tasted just like my mom's and grandma's!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma May 04, 2009

WOW! This pie is amazing! mmmmmm I doubled it and made one with meringue and one without. mmmmmm if your thinking about trying it... Go for it! You won't regret it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Lovins Resident Chef May 02, 2007

I made this tonight for dessert after dinner. We had unexpected company and I needed something I wouldn't have to slave over. Luckily, I remembered seeing this recipe in my files and had thought to myself at the time that this looked quick and easy. Not only was it quick and easy but it was really very tasty as well. Very rich and enjoyed by all. Thank you for the great dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay January 15, 2007
Mom's Most Requested Chocolate Pie