21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids gave this a "10" but 5 stars is as high as it gets. Nice soft on the inside, crisp on the outside cookie. I got just under 3 dozen beautiful 2" cookies, and I'm adding this to my favorites!

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W January 17, 2002

I love molasses cookies, and this is the best one I've ever had. They are moist on the inside, crisp edges, the taste is perfect!! This recipe will get a lot of use.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 10, 2002

Cant buy Crisco here, so I used Chefade. These really are delicious, molasses isnt something I''d normally have in the pantry either, but had that because of another zaar recipe I''d tried. =)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 04, 2001

I'm at home visiting my folks and my mom made these cookies and reminded me how good they are!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moishe Lettvin (1) October 03, 2001

These cookies are delicious! I will be making them again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jtrillich December 15, 2009

These are the BEST molasses cookies, I substitute 3/4 cup canola oil for the Crisco for a healthy alternative - you can't taste the difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peggy.mazza June 18, 2009

delicious - I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out wonderfully! We ate almost half right out of the oven and even my sister who doesn't like spice-type cookies, loved these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovin' to cook November 14, 2008

This is the same recipe I have been making for years, straight out of the Betty Crocker Cooky Book cookbook. Always bake up delicious and perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbraun July 30, 2007

I used Tenderflake instead of Crisco. I didn't pack the brown sugar. They're really delicious. I can't wait to taste them tomorrow. And I still have in the fridge to bake for tomorrow. I did 16 cookies tonight. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 29, 2007

A good cookie but a tad on the greasy side (the pans and our fingers got oily). The dough did end up sitting in the fridge for over a day and maybe that caused the problem. I added another t of cinnamon, and thought the amount & combination of spices was perfect. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4Susan December 30, 2006
Mom's Molasses Cookies