10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The BEST!!! I have been making these rolls for 20 years. I have the book in which they originally appeared. "A Family Raised On Sunshine" by Beverly Nye. They are so easy to make, and have always been a hit. When I make them..I roll the dough out into a thin, large rectangle and cut into 2" strips. I butter the strips with melted butter (I never use margarine). I stack four strips, and them cut them into 2 " pieces. turning them on edge, I put them into cupcake pans that I have oiled slightly. Let rise 2 hrs. and when they bake, they open like fans. they require no extra butter. Making some now for Christmas Eve dinner. Enjoy!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julied717 December 23, 2008

With all of the great reviews I was really thinking these would be great. They just didn't do it for me. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn April 12, 2010

I made these for Easter and although simple, I can not say the recipe was over the top. The dough barely rose in the refrigerator. I did these as cresents. Not sure what happenede but I did it just as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe April 05, 2010

Great recipe! I can not make yeast anything and these were a sinch!! I rolled out the whole thing and cut them with a pizza cutter, making them pull apart rolls. I also topped half of them with creamcheese filling and they made great kolaches! These have become a family tradition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cabeah February 24, 2010

It was the hit of Thanksgiving dinner. There was going to be 18 of us for tThanksgiving so I doubled the recipe and it made 50 crescent rolls. The only problem was that I did not know how thin or thick the dough should be. After making about half of the rolls thin I rolled the last half much thicker. The thin crescent rolls really spread out alot and looked bad.(They still tasted YUMMY) The thicker rolls looked just like the picture and were AWEOME! ********* So my hint to all of you that if you think that when you are rolling them out they are too thick---they are PERFECT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jonibears November 27, 2009

These rolls are so good and easy.I used real butter. I made them in my kitchen aid mixer. I let the mixture rise on the counter for 2 hrs, them formed the rolls. Next time I may make bread stick twist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfcook November 25, 2008

These were fantastic rolls. And they were so easy to make, mostly because there was no kneading. I will definitely make these again and again and again. Considering there is no kneading, there isn't any reason we can't have these often. Very tasty and very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal November 08, 2008

These were a **BIG** hit at my dinner table. The smell in your house when these little guys are baking is to die for! No more store bought rolls during the holidays. I plan to make these up early and freeze them to see how they turn out. Thanks for a great dinner roll!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bratty Brina April 16, 2007

These rolls are awesome and so easy - I feel like I cheated somehow! I added about a cup more flour before putting it in the fridge to rise because it didn't look enough like dough - way too wet and sticky. I ended up with about 32 rolls. They were moist and beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. December 31, 2006

These were the star of Thanksgiving! My Mother made them for me. She says, "they're not hard to make especially since there's no kneading. Took a bit more flour to make the dough less sticky though. Will definitely make this recipe again". She put the dough in a large ziploc bag in the fridge overnight. I kept on having to let out the gas. She almost threw them out in despair as she didn't think she was doing good with the crescent shapes and then they all rose and grew together as you can see by the photo. So they became pull-apart crescent rolls. But they were so soft and wonderful! My uncle ate more of these than anything else and loved them with honey. I'm wondering if the dough could just be spread out in a large 1" baking sheet and then scored on the top with a knife to make pull apart rolls? I think I'll try it and if it works it makes it even easier! Thank you so much for this recipe, it is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 06, 2006
Mom's Melt-In-Your-Mouth Dinner Rolls