Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Meatloaf....... Really!!! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Meatloaf....... Really!!!

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2002

      This is a wonderful meatloaf! So quick and easy to make. The Lipton Onion Soup Mix gave it a great flavor and everyone loved it. Thank so so much Miss Kitty (and Miss Kitty's Mom). I will be making this over and over again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      Miss Kitty...thank you! What a great recipe. With your help I did substitute some bouillon cubes and dried onion & chives for the soup mix (to avoid the MSG). The oatmeal made this hold up so much better than bread crumbs...and please tell Mom I had no "shoe leather bottom". Basting was the key. This was even better the next day on a sandwich. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      Excellent meatloaf! I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      I used ground chuck, otherwise made the recipe as described. I still need to work on getting that delicious "bark" around the meatloaf. Thank you for the share, this is my go to recipe for meatloaf now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I love easy recipes! I used ground turkey, added some ketchup, garlic, and made a ketchup sauce for the top. There was nothing to baste, but the sauce helped. It was moist, tasty and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Easy to fix but it was really bland to my family. I would try it again but add some extra spices, cheese and a sauce on top. The oatmeal taste seemed really overwhelming. We added some italian seasoning and seasoned salt and it was better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This was a very nice meatloaf. I used Substitute for 1 Envelope Onion Soup Mix for the onion soup mix since I'd rather make the mix instead of buying a store brand. I halved the recipe since it's just the two of us here at home and it still was more than enough for 2 people. Baked covered as stated in the recipe and uncovered for a extra 15 minutes to brown the top alittle. Served this with Tasty Peas, My Cream Potatoes and homemade bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe. It was a delicious dinner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was my first meatloaf and my husband LOVED it! He said it was almost as good as his mother's lol. I will definately be making this again! I added some garlic as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Loved it! Added ketchup. So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      For my tastes, it was a tad bit on the bland side. It's a very dense, dry-ish loaf which definitely would be great the next day for sandwiches and also great for meatballs as someone else stated. I would make this again, but would add some kind of "sauce on the side" or saude to the top while it's cooking and most definitely would use it for meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I think the real kicker is dissolving the soup packets in warm water first. My dad claims he doesn't like meatloaf with onion soup mix. He didn't notice it was in this one. I halved the recipe & baked it in one of those meatloaf pan sets, where it drains as it cooks. I also covered it per your instructions. I had to cook it for an hour and a half in my oven, but that's fine. Thanks for a recipe I'll definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This will be a family favorite for a LONG time!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      My 8 yr old daughter who doesn't like meat ate 4 pieces! I didnt' have any juice to baste with though, not sure what happened. I split into two loafs in non stick metal bread loaf pans, so maybe that's why.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      YUM! We LOVED this one, even my 18 month old! DH doesn't like tomato-y meatloaves so we chose this recipe. I basted it with a little tomato sauce, but he didn't seem to notice. ;) I used a double batch of Sub. for 1 Envelope Onion Soup Mix in place of the onion soup packets and had to bake for about an hour and 20 minutes. This came out moist and wondeful! This will make great sandwiches tomorrow with the leftovers! Could easily be dressed up with tomato paste, sauce, or ketchup for the tomato lover like me! :) Thanks a bunch, Miss Kitty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2005

      Very good. Juicy, not dry at all. Not perfect but not bad at all =) Thanks a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      This was not great but good. I made two smaller loaves for my family. I will probably make this again as meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2003

      Very nice! This was my first time making meatloaf and my own mother was jealous. I used one Lipton Onion and one Onion and Mushroom. It held together nicely and makes for a very good leftover. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      Miss Kitty.....you are my hero!! I have tinkered with meatloaf recipes before and have never found the perfect one. Now I have it!! It must be the combination of simple ingredients and the "squeezing, squeezing, squeezing"!!! The texture was perfect and it didn't fall apart when I cut it. Can't wait till lunch tomorrow...cause me favourite part of meatloaf is always the sandwiches we have the next day. Thanks a ton!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      I've been with my husband for about 4 years now, and this is the first time I've made him meatloaf...due to the fact he's always told me how much he hates meatloaf. Well, he ate 2 BIG slices of this! I actually didn't have any Lipton soup mix on hand...all I had was some Knorr French Onion soup mix, so I used it, and it still gave the meatloaf a great flavor. The only negative thing I could say is that the loaf was a tad dry...what was I supposed to be basting with?? Anyway, I'm sure we'll make this again in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Hey finally found a meatloaf recipe that don't have all the chunks of pepper & onions, my boyfriend & his parent's really like it it's a keeper for sure dippy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Meatloaf....... Really!!!

    Serving Size: 1 (185 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.5
     
    Calories from Fat 278
    44%
    Total Fat 30.9 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 245.2 mg
    81%
    Sodium 389.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 55.5 g
    111%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes