Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2012

      I'm replacing my old recipe with this one. And lest not forget, I am one to hang onto things pretty long. Like, I've been married to the same man for the last 25 years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      Very good and creamy potatoes. Very simple to make and the taste is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Wonderful mashed potatoes!!! I made a scaled back version, using about 1lb of potatoes and since I didn't need a full can of milk, used regular, but otherwise followed as written. With the butter and milk, I didn't need any of the reserved potato water. Served it with fried chicken and corn for a wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Stars Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Great! I thought I made enough to have leftovers to make shepard's pie, but after DS and friends finished, I couldn't spot a spud in the bowl! Everyone loved them. Thanks Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Fantastic way to make mashed potatoes. I used plain milk, but followed the rest of the recipe. Made to use in the topping for Herbed Cottage Pie. Absolutely perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Made these for Thanksgiving and a couple of times since. Very easy, good, basic mashed potatoes. Tried the mixer method which worked well, but I do prefer a ricer. No lumps and no danger of overmixing. Used leftovers from one batch in a shepherd's pie and from another in Amish Potato Rolls. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This is how we make them too - great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Made for ZWT III. This is almost how I make mashed potatoes. The only difference is I always used regular milk. I made these with the canned milk and they turned out great. I didn't need to use the potato water, the potatoes were fluffy and creamy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      Delish! Simple, easy, and tasty. I served these with chicken fried steak and they were perfect together. Thanks Dienia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This is very similar to the recipe I use, and was just as good. I didn't use any potato water though, just all milk. Made for ZWTIII

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This is the best way to make mashed potatoes! I've always reserved a little of the cooking liquid for potatoes, and in the past used it to trim calories and fat. These were light, fluffy, perfectly flavored, and had the exact consistency that we love for our potatoes! Thanks for the only mashed potatoes I'll make from now on! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Very very nice mashed potatoes Dienia B. Usually I cook mine with milk, but instead as per the recipe used canned (Carnation light milk) and this recipe tasted great, still creamy and not lumpy at all. Think in future I might used the canned light milk, the reduced fat in that makes up for the butter !!!!!!!!! And as for the leftovers (although not much was left) I will using again tonight with meatloaf!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Very nice and creamy potatoes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2007

      These were just the best mashed potatoes I've had in a long time. I made them exactly as the recipe states except that I used margarine instead of butter. This is definately a keeper and has found a home in my cookbook to be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      The proportions were perfect. I did not have canned milk so I used regular milk and I did not need to use the potato water. Everyone gobbled these up! Thanks Dienia ZWT3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      My boys love mashed potatoes and these were delicious~very creamy and buttery. Thanks for a great recipe, Dienia B.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      BTW....almost didn't even read this recipe 'cus everybody has their own "Mom's" recipe! Glad I looked! The above was meant as an edit, and somehow, I deleted my "real" comments. This is the way I have always loved my "creamed" potatoes. Chunks of potato were never a preference for anyone I knew when growing up...my g'mothers, and my mother always made them this way! The two "musts" for me are that the butter must be real, and the evaporated milk must be whole milk. In other words, don't waste your time if you're going to trim the fat out of these. This recipe is the REAL DEAL, and should not be messed with. There is one word of caution...do not over-beat the tators with the hand mixer, or they'll turn to glue....as soon as they're smooth, serve 'em up....with another pat of butter, even!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      James albsolutely loves to make these!!! Sometimes he leaves the peel on the red russet pototes and he always uses real milk!!! SOOOO GOOD!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      easy and great tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (275 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.9
     
    Calories from Fat 113
    30%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 36.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 373.2 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 21.4 g
    85%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes