9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Try using the Italian style bread crumbs an then add grated Parmesan cheese to the breading. I know what your Mom was trying to make since this s very Italian and very delicious. It is missing a certain flavor and this is the correction that I am sure you will know what I mean. I would also like to add that you can use chicken breasts which have been pounded down to a cutlet with a meat mallet and then bread them in this mixture and lightly fried in a little olive oil and then placed in a casserole dish. Then you add some good spaghetti sauce of choice and then top that with slices or shreds of mozzarella cheese until it is melted in a 350 degree oven let's say about 10 minutes or so.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseChef May 19, 2002

The coating sort of fell off and was mushy. I guess I expected crispy. But it had a good taste. The chops were OK. I wouldn't make it again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OahuPat Abrams May 30, 2002

these were very good i added minced garlic to the bread crumbs,and they were quite tender. thanks dana!!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polly salama May 02, 2002

These are very good and tender. I did not put them in the oven. I kept them on the stove in a pan with a lid on.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Bailey April 30, 2002

Very good chops. Thanks for recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
turtle May 06, 2002

Yummy! I did sorta use your recipe as a starting point, however.... I followed the lead of some of your commentary and I added parmaggiano reggiano to the bread crumbs- along with substituting half of the breadcrumbs with crushed saltine crackers. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes, some garlic powder and some Italian seasoning. GREAT recipe! Thanks for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly May 02, 2007

These pork chops were fabulous! I took a reviewers advice and added Parmesan cheese to the bread crumbs as well as garlic powder, Italian seasoning and red pepper flakes. The weren't mushy or soggy at all. They had a delicious flavor. Reviewed for Chef Alphabet Soup cooking tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa April 27, 2012

These were GOOD! Simple, juicy, and tasty. And it would be so easy to embellish this a bit. I added some garlic power, oregano, basil, and a smidge of red pepper flakes. If you found the coating mushy, you could put them on a rack within your baking dish to keep them a little crispier, while you deglaze the skillet with a dry white table wine, drizzling those pan juices over the chops once baked. Froze and thawed pretty well. Thank you for a good, basic recipe for pork, Dana; I never used to cook chops much but I will now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB February 10, 2004

Well these were very easy and very tasty. The flavor of these chops was excellent, but there are some errors in the directions. It seems that you should brown the chops in the heated oil first before baking them in the baking dish, which is what I did. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs, as that was what I had on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather May 24, 2003
Mom's Italian Pork Chops