15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I scaled this back for 4 serves and made them into 6 mini meatloafs which was plenty for 3 of us (the DM and I had 1 each and the DS 2, a delicious recipe that is easy to put together. I baked them for 20 minutes (at 175C fan forced) in the muffin pan and then transferred to an 8"x8" pan and topped with the sauce and mozzarella and put in for a further 10 minutes. Thank you SweetsLady. made for Went To Market.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 17, 2010

DELICIOUS! The only thing I did differently was to put the meat into a muffin pan for mini meatloaves. Of course, bake time was a little shorter. These were a big hit with our family! Thanks, SweetsLady's mom, lol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 March 02, 2009

it literally changes the concept of meatloaf, esquisito, delicious indecriptible flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
narizoniz September 09, 2008

This was pretty good, I liked this better than the ketchup topping that so many meatloaf recipes have. I tried using half ground beef and half ground turkey and try as I might, I can't get myself to like the ground turkey or chicken - yuck. I will try next time with just the beef. Thx.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 27, 2008

Everyone loved this meatloaf! I thought there was going to be too much breadcrumbs, but it was just fine. I actually ran slices of bread through the food processor and made them crumbs instead of cubes. The only thing I changed was to omit the salt because I knew it was too much for our salt sensitive palates and did not want it to reflect in the rating. There was plenty of salt from the tomato sauce, cheese and butter for us. Thanks SweetsLady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper March 24, 2008

Man, oh man, is this good! It got a resounding 5-star rating from everyone at the dinnertable tonight, and they were even trying to sneak bites off each others' plates when someone wasn't paying attention. I had to leave out all dairy products for dietary reasons, so soaked my breadcrumbs in homemade vegetable stock instead. I used olive oil to saute the onions, and just skipped the cheese altogether. But let me tell you, this doesn't need the embellishment of cheese -- it is a fantastic meatloaf recipe. Thanks, SweetsLady!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too March 03, 2008

Thanks Sherry for a very filling and satisfying sunday dinner for DH and DS#3. The combination of spices and ingredients was a perfect combination. So glad I could try one of your mom's recipes and glad I tagged. Made for Feb. Bev. Tag 08 Adding 5 stars to this recipe as the first time it didn't go thru:-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB March 02, 2008

This was a moist and tasty meatloaf. I made it exactly as stated and it came together very easily. It was a bit too salty for my taste, but not overwhelming so. We definitely liked the tomato sauce and cheese instead of the usual ketchup type sauce. Thanks Sweetslady :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy February 21, 2008

A nice variation on meatloaf. The Italian herb combination and cheese are a great addition. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. February 14, 2008

Wow this is so good. I love the addition of cheese on top. Thanks Sweetslady :) Made for Beverage tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 09, 2008
Mom's Italian Meatloaf