Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Hot Chocolate Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Hot Chocolate Mix

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2007

      Really good, I hate sharing with the girls. Thanks for the recipe.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I made a double batch of this today to include in my gift baskets. It is without a doubt the best I have ever made or had anywhere. My husband went wild over it. Thank you so very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      I halved this recipe and now wish I would have made the entire batch. It is fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly as posted. I plan to make these up as Christmas gifts for my grandson's teachers and for my neighbors whom I like to have a little something for. This is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Made 1 1/2 recipes of this today to add to holiday gift baskets. It's really good! I ended up adding another 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 1/3 c. sugar to a batch and a half. What a great recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Honestly don't know if I've already done a review but I wanted to make certain I did! I made this last year in November to give as gifts and have on hand. I received rave reviews from everyone. My kids asked for it each time they came in from the snow. I'll definately be making this again! I tell everyone I found it on RecipeZaar! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      I gave jars of this as gifts last year to just about everyone. It makes one of the best cups of hot chocolate I've ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      Fantastic. I used flavored coffee creamer and extra chocolate...but it was just so good! I gave so much away I didn't have enough for home! My 3 YO demands "Alex coffee" every night after dinner. That's what i labeled the jars that gave as gifts...very cute! And added marshmellos to the tops of the jars. It has become an instant family tradition. "Alex Coffee" all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I made this up for Christmas gifts and already have had friends calling to get the recipe! Everyone loves it in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Used 1 1/2 cups powdered coffee creamer, 10 Cups Nesquick (which is equal to a 3lb 8oz container), mix fits nicely in a 265oz or 7.5L container. It was better with the extra Nesquick, wasn't chocolaty enough for us with just the 2lbs and it could stand for a little more for the die hard chocoholic. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Made this with my Sunday school class as a Christmas project (they measured out the ingredients into quart jars which they then wrapped to give as gifts). We had lots of fun and the end product was tastey to boot! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! I made this and took it to work and it was gone before I knew what happened. Two of our guys wanted it sweeter and threw some mini marshmallows into their cups, but everyone else liked it just as it was. Many thanks, Caryn, we'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Whoops! I forgot to rate this recipe when I made it. I made it last year for holiday gifts. I put it in decorated mason jars. I made 20 jars (I had to double the recipe). My recipients said it was great. I liked it too. A pretty easy, inexpensive gift to give. Thanks, Caryn. Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      All 3 of my daughters loved it!!! (Mommy tried some too, and she also gives it 5 stars! lol) This one is definately a keeper, no doubt about it! I will also be adding jars of the delicious hot chocolate mix to Christmas baskets this year! Thanks for the best hot chocolate recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I have been using a similiar recipe for years. I run my mix through the blender to make a smoother mix. This will distribute the ingredients more evenly. Over the years the sizes (amount in container) of the ingredients have become smaller, so I use the nearest to the required size. I sometimes add rasberry Kool Ade to my personal mix, to make a "gourmet" treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2005

      As others have said, this is a very creamy and smooth hot chocolate. It dissolves completely and instantly! However, I think I need more cocoa and more sugar for my tastes. It was creamy and rich, but not 'chocolate-y' enough for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      I go thru a lot of hot chocolate mixes when the kids are visiting and made this recipe, following the directions exactly. All the kids were here this weekend (along w/ grandchildren) and they really enjoyed it. The only complaint was that I didn't have any marshmellows to put in the hot chocolate. (Will make sure I have some on hand for the next visit.) The recipe makes a LOT and I needed my largest mixing bowl and several containers to put it in... I will definitely make this again when this batch is gone... and will probably make another batch or two to give the kids as gifts. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2005

      This is most EXCELLENT! I was surpised how much this recipe makes too. Its the best hot chocolate mix I have made. Really good flavor! Thanks for sharing your recipe. I had three large cups this morning :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      This is good.... I would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      This was wonderful. Hubby kinda wrinkled his nose at the idea of instant pudding in the mix, but after he tasted it... he didn't wrinkle the nose anymore! I'm putting some mini marshmellows in the mix, and putting the mix in quart jars, then putting fabric between the seal and ban, and putting ribbon around the ban. I think this is a wonderful gift!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      I had high expectations after reading the reviews and reviewing the ingredient list and was a little disappointed that the taste wasnt a little richer. I cut this recipe in half and added a bit of vanillin. I kept adding sweetened cocoa and quick to get it to taste more chocolatey and rich. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Hot Chocolate Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (2871 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 826.1
     
    Calories from Fat 288
    34%
    Total Fat 32.0 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 22.5 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 85.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 528.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 109.5 g
    36%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 102.5 g
    410%
    Protein 27.0 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes