Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Homemade Hot Dog Chili -Or- Sloppy Joes! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Homemade Hot Dog Chili -Or- Sloppy Joes!

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      These were excellent. Fast, easy, yet very flavorful, Really delicious BBQ taste. I made Sloppy Joes out of the sauce. I think I have a new favorite recipe for Sloppy Joes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Deeeelicious! These taste like the kind my mom used to make when I was a kid. Love that it is a quick fix...this makes it a super candidate for busy week nights. I usually add onions to mine, just cos that's what I'm used to, but tastes great without. I don't usually have hamburger buns on hand, so we just use whatever bread we have (i like to toast/pan fry). Thanks for sharing this great, time-saving recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This is really good i added a couple TB spoons of yellow mustard and some minced onion.I will never buy canned chili again.and also I'm from WV and up there we love are grilled split top buns and i now live in the south and can not find them,so what i do now is i take a regular bun and take a bread knife and carefully cut the crust off to make a flat surface on each side and then spray with butter and throw in pan and lightly brown.these are the best.MMMMM GOOD

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      This was great! I used it as hot dog chili one day and sloppy joe's the next! I made two slight changes...1) I used apple cider vinegar instead of regular...gave it a nice contrast of sweet and spicy. And 2) I seperated half of it for hot dogs and added a good amount of chili powder and red pepper flakes to heat it up a lot! It was great both days! My husband told me as we were eating sloppy joe's that I could have used the same stuff on the hot dogs...little did he know ;) Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Just made this. Tastes delicious from the saucepan. Very easy. I did add about 2 tsp of finely chopped onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I halved the recipe and used turkey. An easy and fast way to dress up a hot dog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2004

      My husband and I love this. I fix it one day for hot dogs, and the next day we use the leftovers for sloppy joes. yum yum!! I don't even buy store bought chili for hot dogs anymore, and this is certainly better than manwhich anyday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      I thought this was a good hot dog chili. I wasn't "over-wowed" by the spices/flavor, but there was nothing wrong with them either. I am going to experiment with another recipe next time, but I will almost certainly return to this one, because it was so *simple*!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Homemade Hot Dog Chili -Or- Sloppy Joes!

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.7
     
    Calories from Fat 121
    43%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 763.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites