Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Homemade Apple Cider (Non-Alchoholic) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Homemade Apple Cider (Non-Alchoholic)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2012

      AWESOME recipe! If you use whole spices and not ground ones, you should have no problem with the cheesecloth. My entire house smells delicious; this is a perfect thing to make on a fall day when you've got company coming!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      this recipe would've gotten 5+ stars from me except the whole spices in the cheese cloth threw me off. After fighting with the cheese cloth and finally deciding that the cinnamon and allspice would just end up falling through the cloth anyway, i decided to just dump all the spices in. I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 dark brown sugar. added nutmeg and cloves. after dumping the mixture through a strainer i had to taste the result and it tasted wonderful. i gave my DH a small taste and he said it was thicker then he expected but i think that came from all the spices being added in. It is absolutely wonderful and i havent even strained the apples through cheesecloth yet. thanks for a great simple (besides the cheesecloth thing) recipe. I fell in love with apple cider all over again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      I've been wanting to make my own cider for years now, but I never got around to researching recipes. A few days ago, my family and I visited a local farm to do some apple picking. I thought that if ever there were a time to make a nice batch of cider, this was it. This particular recipe seemed to be fairly simple so I thought I would give it a whirl.<br/><br/>THE GOOD: It's delicious. It really is. The apples are key here. Freshly picked golden and red delicious apples made for a naturally sweet and delicious beverage. Loved what the allspice brought to the table. Can't say enough about how tasty this turned out to be.<br/><br/>THE BAD: This was without a doubt the most tedious and time consuming recipe I have ever attempted. Appears simple, but wait until you get to the filtering! Three total hours of cooking and about two hours of squeezing apples though cheesecloth as well as double filtering through a fine strainer. And for what? Perhaps a tad more than a quarter of a gallon of cider. I started with ten apples and what must have been about three quarters of a gallon of filtered water. I'm not an idiot. I understand that a fair amount of the liquid will evaporate via the boiling process and of course there will be plenty of liquid that you just won't be able to squeeze out of those juice-logged apples. But I expected to get AT LEAST a half gallon of cider out of this recipe. Bare minimum.<br/><br/>A conservative estimate on this project would be around $18 ($8 for the ten apples, $4 for the 4 cinnamon sticks, $2 for the 3 tbsp allspice and $4 for the cheesecloth). That's $18 for around five hours of work and a quarter gallon of cider. I don't care how delicious this turned out. I can't justify giving more than two stars for a recipe that takes this long, costs this much and gives me this little in return. And quite frankly, two stars is very generous. Taste alone bumps it up one star. It is that good. Too bad it's not worth the effort.<br/><br/>I won't be attempting this method again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      I don't know if I did something wrong--but this was not at all like cider. Instead I ended up with essentially, flavored applesauce and a *really* thick chunky apple-cinnamon syrup. I mean, I can use both of these things--but neither of them are anything near cider.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      If I made this again, I think I'd leave the sugar out (I only used 1/4 c.) and cut the spices in half. I think the sugar made it more syrup-like than cider-like. It tasted good, though. Most cider recipes don't call for cooking the apples - they just process them. I'd like to try it that way, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Oops, tried this last year and forgot to review it. Actually I made two (3 gallon) batches, one with the spices (I put them in a tea ball instead of cheesecloth), and one without the spices. I used a mix of macintosh and delicious apples with a few winesap apples for extra flavor, since they are "sweet" apples I cut the sugar back to 1/3 cup and that was plenty sweet for us. I also substituted some store bought unsweetened apple juice I wanted to use up for the water. I did find the spiced batch to be a bit too spicy - slightly overpowering the apple flavor - I think next time I will cut back the amount of spices a bit (personal preference).
      When I made the unspiced batch, I made it expressly for the purpose of "jacking" it (aka making apple jack which is a alcohol based brandy type of beverage). It made a very nice hard cider which was enjoyed by all. The left over hard cider was then "jacked" over the winter. The apple jack turned out well too. :-)

      I ran my stick blender through the leftover apple solids to finely chop the skins (I had removed the seeds before cooking the apples) and added the solids to a pumpkin quick bread batter I was making.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Made this last year and will definately be making again in the next few weeks. Took it to the Falloween Festival and shared with my large family and they all loved it. I used brown sugar for that caramel flavor and sweetened it to taste, and I just dumped the spices in since I don't have cheese cloth. I like how less sugar keeps the tartness which is the best part. Made the house smell fantastic and made me fall in love with cider all over again. My mom is asking for it again this year so she can keep some at home for the winter months. I will be too! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      WONDERFUL!!! I made this to use up a bunch of apples that were getting ready to get over ripe. My family loved it bot cold & hot. Thank you for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      This was really good! I think I put in a little to much water. This was pretty easy and a great way to use up apples! I think I ended up with about 3/4 gallon cider.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Absolutely fabulous! I used Macintosh apples. I didn't have enough allspice, so I substituted in some ground cloves. This puts store-bought cider to shame. I will DEFINITELY be making this over and over. Thank you, Crazy Crafter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      tasted great, smelled great, fun to make!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Thank you so much for posting, this was wonderful! I used about a dozen smallish apples, 1/2 red and 1/2 green. I used 1/2 a cup of brown sugar and 1/2 a cup of white sugar and added cloves and nutmeg also. It added up to about 7 cups of final cider although I may have gotten more but got a little impatient with the straining process. :) Thanks again, this was a wonderful, cheap fall recipe that I made with the kids. Bonus: The house smelled wonderful for hours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2014

      Okay, I'm giving this a great review because it really is not hard to do...time consuming yes but most of the time is in the cooking/simmering and the cooling but rather simple, and it tastes great. If you're not getting a lot of juice or your cider looks like apple sauce you over cooked your apples. I did that the first time, but figured that's what happened you know everyone's burners cook at different temps, so test that out if that's your problem. I'm going to add some cloves and next time I can't wait :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      It's hard to find a great starter recipe for homemade cider. I had to use this recipe the first time for a base for my grandmothers recipe. I usually make mine with gala apples as they are a bit sweet but not sweet. I don't add the sugar until closer to the end so I can taste it and adjust to my tastes. I toss in a few orange peels sometimes a whole orange, depending on how much I plan to make. I add about 3 cinnamon sticks, 1/2 tsp cloves 1 whole nutmeg and 1 tbs allspice. I add water throughout to keep about the same volume as I make it. I keep it at a low boil for only about 30 minutes and simmer it for about 2 with the lid on and occasionally stir it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      So I just finished making this, and the result are as good as ever. This is my third time making it, so I know how long it takes and how all the work is at the end. What I will say is that this works, will take about 4-5 hours total (depending on how long you let it cool), and is delicious.<br/><br/>To the other review that said they barely got a quart of cider, the only way I can imagine that happening is if you're using small apples. I used 8 big red delicious (I just bought them in bulk at Costco cause why not), and quartered them, covering them with boiling water. It made, in total, a half gallon full and a quart. So this recipe will deliver quantity. <br/><br/>Another important thing to do is to keep adding water during the first hour of boil and the two hours of simmer. I add water around every tenth minute during the boil, and about twice during the simmer. This keeps the volume up, and if you give it enough time during the cooking, doesn't dilute the flavor. <br/><br/>All in all, great recipe, and totally customizable. I don't mind the time spent. Tip: you don't have to do the final squeeze of the apple pulp. You won't get that much cider from it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      3 hours and a lot of apples wasted :(<br/>I added enough water to cover apples like the recipe says and in the end just had mash and like 1cup of thick cider<br/>really disappointed this is the 2nd time iv'e tried this recipe 1st time I noticed my wayer boiling away too quickly so this time I reduced the heat a bit and still had the same problem

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This recipe doesn't really need any sugar. It's sweet enough from the apples!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Homemade Apple Cider (Non-Alchoholic)

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.0
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    44%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 41.9 g
    167%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes