Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Hamburger, Green Bean, Tomato Soup, Mashed Potato Hot Dish Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Hamburger, Green Bean, Tomato Soup, Mashed Potato Hot Dish

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2007

      I have been making this recipe for years. I got it out of a circa 1980 Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook. The recipe was titled Hamburger Pie. I do recommend topping the mashesd potatoes with grated cheese. Cheddar, Swiss, or Colby works well. Thanks for posting AnnMarie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      This was so quick and easy to toss together. I used fresh green beans from the garden and that just made this recipe pop. So sweet, you can sure tell the difference between canned and fresh. I'm not a fan of instant potatoes but they are quick. To add some richness to them I used canned milk. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Well, I didn't make this myself, I asked a friend of mine who made it and brought it to a dinner party we had recently. She did it exactly as the recipe said and it was delicious! Everyone liked it and wanted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      It was very good and quick. I've never made shepherds pie with tomato soup. I think I will start doing it more often. Some changes I made... a layer of frozen hash browns on the bottom. Then a layer of the ground beef (also frozen previously). Then I took 2 cups of frozen peas and mixed them with the tomato soup. I kept the layers intact and used leftover instant mashed potatoes on top. Popped it all in the oven. Wasn't sure if the potatoes would dry out since it would take longer with everything frozen but it worked out OK. Partway through I sprayed some PAM on top. Don't know if it made a difference or not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      We enjoyed your recipe. I did use leftover potatoes from last night which worked well. I think next time I will dot the potatoes with a bit of butter or margarine to help them brown up a bit. The family licked their plates clean. Thanks for sharing your tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      I haven't tried this recipe but, this recipe for me is called Shepards Pie. Have made my Shepards Pie many times but ALWAYS used real mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Nice comfort food. I added 1 tsp creole spice mix to the meat, about a cup of frozen veggies with the beans and about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese on top. Simple, yet really good. Thanks for sharing. Will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

      This was sooo yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      this is comfort food at its best easy dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      This is a recipe I've been using for a while. Love it. I added corn to the green beans. Very homey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I was debating making this recipe, but I'm so glad I did. It was easy to throw together. I used ground turkey and defrosted haricot verts. This recipe had a nice sweetness to it. I admit, I used Idahoan potatoes since i didn't have any on hand. I turned on the broiler for the last 5 minutes of cooking to slightly brown the potatoes. Thank you for posting Ann Marie, I will definitely keep this in my quick dinner night arsenal :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      A very tasty & easy meal. Made as written plus added a few leftover peas. May even add extra beans next time as I like the veggies more than the meat. Thanks for the recipe. Made again and added celery as I browned the meat. Also added peas & carrots with the beans as I like lots of veggies. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Ultimate comfort food and a great budget stretcher. I use garlic powder and onion powder since my kids don't like the crunch of the real thing. I also make mine in the microwave to save time and avoid heating up the house in the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      My mom never made anything like this. We were from California and this seems more like a Midwestern recipe to me. Anyway,my cowboy husband loved it as did my two DSs. And I absolutely loved that it used just what I had leftover when the cupboards are bare! Substituted peas b/c that is what I had and the mashed potatoes from the night before had butter, sour cream and cheese. Thanks - you saved dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      This is an awesome recipe, I've been making it for years. I add 1/2 c shredded cheddar to the mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2005

      My Mom also made this dish as far back as I can remember. Great comfort dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      I love this recipe. I can't tell you how many times I made this as a new bride, some Um, 30 years ago?! Am I that old? I just wanted to let you know, this is a great recipe to use up real leftover mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      This was very very tasty and so easy to make. We really enjoyed this recipe. I added 1 rounded teaspoon of both cajun spices and italian spices and substituted frozen corn for the beans. I also added 2 tablespoons of onion soup mix to the potatos. We've made this twice now and will definitely make it again! Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      Ann Marie,You said you weren't a cook? This recipe was Very Good!!! It was also very easy,(My Kind Of Recipe),this was a real comfort food dish,it was the throw together great tasting kind of food I love. Thanks, Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      Oh so good! I added steak seasoning to the burger and some garlic salt to the potatoes. It's a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Hamburger, Green Bean, Tomato Soup, Mashed Potato Hot Dish

    Serving Size: 1 (202 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    30%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 670.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 28.5 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites