Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 18, 2002

      Hi Michelle! This is a wonderful german potato salad. We loved it! I had some left over ham that needed to be used up and this was a perfect side dish to go with it. The vinegar, sugar, water and flour amounts were perfect for this dish. I have put this in my "keeper" notebook. Thank you for sharing and also thank your Mother!!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      This is a great recipe. I substituted Yukon gold potatoes as that is all I had on hand, and also added a couple hard boiled eggs to the layers, and a chopped red pepper to the onion sauce. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Just love it, would not change anything, just ono.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      I have made this recipe several times over the years. It is always a huge hit at potlucks and holiday gatherings. Russets and Yukon Golds do fine in this recipe also. This is one of my go-to recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      One million stars! My German friends swore I hi-jacked their mother's recipe! This was great with brats in beer and Marinated Coleslaw (marinated cole slaw). Guests piled the slaw onto the brats and some put the potato salad on the brats as well. Enjoyed by everyone at our party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      DH and I really enjoyed this German potato salad. It is just excellent. A lovely blending of flavours. What a Keeper. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I would give this ten if I could. The combination is just incredible. Made this for our Ocktoberfest party and it was a hit. My husband and I could not get enough! I doubled recipe and there wasn't a scrap left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Michelle, this recipe is just perfect!! We loved it! This recipe is so easy and delicious. I sliced my red potatoes before cooking to make the recipe easier, leaving on the skins to add a little color to the salad. I did not have any dried onions, so I used the green onions I had on hand. It turned out so good that I know I will be making this recipe often! Thanks so much for sharing it with us, Michelle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      I made sauerkraut and sausage for dinner tonight, but I didn't have a clue what to serve with it. I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I was a little worried though because I don't usually like sweet tastes in certain dishes (seems wrong in potatoes) and my husband isn't big on vinegar. I made it in spite of this and I am so glad I did. I loved it and so did the rest of my family. It was also very easy to make. We will definitely be having it again soon! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2005

      We made this for our annual Oktoberfest party and of the four different German potato salads, this one was gone first. We received rave reviews. The fact that it's cooked in the oven makes it so simple. We will be doing it again for a family reunion. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      This is the perfect German Potato Salad... a little sweet and a little sour just the way it should be. This was great served hot, warm and cold. I followed this directions exactly and served this aside a Reuben Salad Sandwich, which I will be posting. Thanks to Michelle and her mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (448 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 720.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    32%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 574.1 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 23.7 g
    94%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes