16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for sharing this recipe. My favorite part of baked mac is the crusty top so to me this was perfect. Just a dash of salt & pepper was the only adjustment I made. I told my mom about it and hers came out terrible. Turns out, she didn't use cheddar. The cheddar cannot be substituted because other cheeses do not melt the same way.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
time4takeout May 29, 2010

Perfection on a fork, right here. Wow! I am amazed that very little work went into to prep and it come out like a labor-intensive old fashioned Mac/Cheese. This is really going in my top Favorites of 2012. I added a bit of white pepper and some salt granules, but other then that....no need for anything but a fork. Thanks, Acadia* for such a wonderful treat! Made for The LOVE TrAiN. Jan. 2012

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm January 24, 2012

This is like my mom's recipe. I used Vermont Extra Sharp Cheddar and only used a cup sliced. I also added a good bit of pepper. I also used a lot more macaroni's then the recipe called for as 1 1/2 cups didn't seem like enough to me. We enjoyed this for dinner and I have some for leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol March 01, 2011

The best mac and cheese I've ever had, it's not your traditional creamy kind which I'm not that fond of. This was divine however!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OneYetTwo July 16, 2009

A very nice Mac and Cheese Recipe. I love how easy it is to prepare and how tasty it is! The pasta gets very soft on the inside and the top layer gets a very crunchy crust. Mmmm!
I would have liked a little more seasoning, maybe some granulated garlic or some herbs. But other than that I really liked this recipe and so did my family. THANKS for sharing it with us, Acadia!
Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag August 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 01, 2010

Very good mac n' cheese. We did use the veggi shells (tri-colored), so this was also very pretty and I think a tad healthier. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ September 09, 2013

This perfectly easy recipe made a perfect hot lunch today. It's snowing and in the sub zero temps and this creamy mac and cheese really hit the spot. It will certainly be made again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia December 11, 2012

Loved, loved, loved this recipe. Super easy and cheesy! To see my version, Google my blog A Fridge Full of Food and use the search box for "Purist Mac & cheese". Tried to leave a link to show Acadia what I posted about her Mom's awesome recipe but for some reason the site wouldn't allow it.---Glenna

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlennaMuse May 22, 2012

This is very good and easy. I use about 2c macaroni and two cheeses, cheddar and jack. Also salt and pepper. But I layered as directed putting the cheeses and salt and pepper for each
layer. I put on the top some slices of butter. I also used a round dish. This is how my Mom used to make it too. You can make it in the morning, but leave out the milk. Cover and refrig til you want to bake it off. Add the milk when you bake it. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie427 February 21, 2012
Mom's Extra Sharp Mac and Cheese