Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Extra Sharp Mac and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Extra Sharp Mac and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2010

      Thank you for sharing this recipe. My favorite part of baked mac is the crusty top so to me this was perfect. Just a dash of salt & pepper was the only adjustment I made. I told my mom about it and hers came out terrible. Turns out, she didn't use cheddar. The cheddar cannot be substituted because other cheeses do not melt the same way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Perfection on a fork, right here. Wow! I am amazed that very little work went into to prep and it come out like a labor-intensive old fashioned Mac/Cheese. This is really going in my top Favorites of 2012. I added a bit of white pepper and some salt granules, but other then that....no need for anything but a fork. Thanks, Acadia* for such a wonderful treat! Made for The LOVE TrAiN. Jan. 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      This is like my mom's recipe. I used Vermont Extra Sharp Cheddar and only used a cup sliced. I also added a good bit of pepper. I also used a lot more macaroni's then the recipe called for as 1 1/2 cups didn't seem like enough to me. We enjoyed this for dinner and I have some for leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      A very nice Mac and Cheese Recipe. I love how easy it is to prepare and how tasty it is! The pasta gets very soft on the inside and the top layer gets a very crunchy crust. Mmmm!
      I would have liked a little more seasoning, maybe some granulated garlic or some herbs. But other than that I really liked this recipe and so did my family. THANKS for sharing it with us, Acadia!
      Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag August 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      The best mac and cheese I've ever had, it's not your traditional creamy kind which I'm not that fond of. This was divine however!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      Very good mac n' cheese. We did use the veggi shells (tri-colored), so this was also very pretty and I think a tad healthier. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This perfectly easy recipe made a perfect hot lunch today. It's snowing and in the sub zero temps and this creamy mac and cheese really hit the spot. It will certainly be made again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Loved, loved, loved this recipe. Super easy and cheesy! To see my version, Google my blog A Fridge Full of Food and use the search box for "Purist Mac & cheese". Tried to leave a link to show Acadia what I posted about her Mom's awesome recipe but for some reason the site wouldn't allow it.---Glenna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

    • on February 21, 2012

      This is very good and easy. I use about 2c macaroni and two cheeses, cheddar and jack. Also salt and pepper. But I layered as directed putting the cheeses and salt and pepper for each
      layer. I put on the top some slices of butter. I also used a round dish. This is how my Mom used to make it too. You can make it in the morning, but leave out the milk. Cover and refrig til you want to bake it off. Add the milk when you bake it. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This is so close to my Mom's recipe! The only difference is salt the water that you cook the pasta in with a couple oftablespoons of salt. I use Cracker Barrel extra sharp cheddar but have had success with white chedder's as well. I measure the milk in a six up measure and then add three eggs and whisk until combined and pour it over the layered macaroni and cheese. I bake for an hour to and hour and 15 in a 350 degree oven and don't need to do the broiler step since its already nice and brown and crunchy on top and the bottom. Love not tohave to do a white sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Mmmm, comfort food at its finest! I added more macaroni and some hefty shakes of salt and pepper, and we gobbled this up faster than you can blink. I love how easy it is to put together, too. I will say that I used a combination of cheeses, and one of them (I think the reduced fat cheddar?) turned white, which was really strange to me. The flavor was fine, though! Thanks so much for posting. Made for Veg Swap January 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2010

      I wanted a quick fix and this did the trick! I served with salmon and salad for a lovely dinner. Thanks! Made for you being VIP for Nov. 2010 Vegetarian swap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Great Mac and cheese!! I made 1/2 of the recipe to have for lunch today, which I would say serves 2. So quick and easy and the only change I made is when the macaroni was done, I added a tad of butter and some salt and pepper, then followed as written. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      So easy...and cheesy! The only thing I did different was I used a whole bag of cheese, because I'm addicted to cheese. :D The broiling makes a perfect "crust" on top! Made for Veggie Swap 17, VIP Recipenap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I made this for my family when I was working evenings so I didn't get to try this myself. DH ate it all! It had to be good. I don't feel that I ended up with 10 servings, maybe more like 4. There wasn't any elbow macaroni in the cupboard and I made this with farfalle. Other than that the recipe was followed to a T. Thanks for posting. Made for Potluck Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Extra Sharp Mac and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.6
     
    Calories from Fat 173
    44%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 60.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 339.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites