12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a very nice soup, and doesn't take long to make....about 50 minutes from begining to end, because of preparing the ingredients. I did not have the banana pepper or the red pepper flakes, so I used Tobasco sauce....just a bit, because I don't like too much heat. The next time I make it though...I think I will double the recipe, because it tastes even better the next day! I also used about twice the amount of caraway seed. It is what really makes this soup, I think. I also used a potato masher to mash up some of the ingredients before serving. Cathy in Ontario.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy in Ontario May 18, 2002

Perfect for a cold, wet, dreary day. I didn't tell anyone what kind of soup it was because I knew I would see some turned up nosed at the mention of cauliflower. Everyone seemed to like it. The only thing I may do differently is to chop the veggies smaller, or use a hand mixer or potato masher to it before serving

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom October 16, 2014

Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gpconlon January 19, 2012

I loved this soup and my family too! I think the dill and carway give it the best flavor ever! I give this 5 stars! Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann_marie63 October 13, 2009

Exelent recipe!!! We love this soup! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sabina, Balto November 15, 2008

This was definitely good. Didn't have the wow I was looking for but maybe that's because I didn't have the caraway. Next time I will puree some of the veggies like the other reviewers suggested to give a creamier texture. Used soy milk in place of evaporated and a vegan cheese spread in place of cheddar. Kids inhaled it though, and it was a very filling meal so I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy October 21, 2008

Made the soup, doubling everything since I had two small heads cauliflower, and gave hubby the obtion of creamed or not. He chose not and added shredded chedder to the bowl instead of to the soup. Was very tasty. Think I'll cream the leftovers and serve over chicken breasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitaye October 09, 2008

Great recipe. Like others, I blended a good deal of it and left some chunks. I hate evaporated milk so used ordinary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul46 December 26, 2006

pureed but left some cauliflower chunky; would not use the cheddar next time as it becomes stringy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klong December 08, 2005

This was excellent ! I used 5 cups cauliflower (instead of the 2 cups in the recipe)since I had a large head of cauliflower and added 2 cups of water to compensate for the extra cauliflower. My recipe made 14 one-cup servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieBea November 14, 2005
Mom's Excellent Creamy Cauliflower Soup