14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would give you 10 stars for this recipe! MY Family LOVES this bread. I have always wanted to give home made bread a try. But all I would see is these bread recipe made with a bread machine "I don't have one" So I went searching and found this recipe. I have made it twice since I found it. The first day I made it the 2 loaves were gone in 1 day by 3 of us. LOL I couldn't keep my girls from it. Next day my DD emails me from work and asks that I make it again. I could I not when it was so good and easy :) Now.......mind you, I told them to stay away from 1 loaf cuz I want to use it for another recipe, they complied with grinding teeth LOL. This weekend instead of loaves I am going to make dinner rolls. Wow...so that means I will have made this recipe 3 times in 1 week. See how good this recipe is? Thank you so much for posting this recipe and I will make a zillion times for sure :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisygrl64 October 16, 2009

I just got this recipe 3 days ago and I have made it three times. Once I made bread, once rolls and today I made cinnamon bread and all 3 times it turned out great! Easy to make and the only thing I did different was put a pan of boiling water on the bottom of the oven and it rose within 1/2 hour. Best recipe ever!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evelyn Rizzo July 30, 2009

Great recipe! If you've ever tried making bread before and failed (like I did) then cast your worries aside and begin your new life as a baker. I've made this bread several times so far and have even played around with recipe by adding things like herbs, cheese, seeds, soaked grains etc. Follow the steps and you will have fluffy, light bread just like you buy from the store.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaron L April 26, 2013

Let me just start by saying I have NEVER made homemade bread before and I was very apprehensive. I've tried to use yeast in the past and had no success, but I was eager to try again. I looked at several recipes for homemade bread online, and this one seemed the most foolproof (and had the BEST reviews!). I made one loaf and 12 rolls and they turned out PERFECT. I seriously cannot get over it. I wanted to call everyone I knew and tell them.

I did take a few notes from reviews on this recipe and on other websites I visited. Namely, I warmed the bowl before adding the water & yeast by pouring in hot water and then pouring it out. Then I combined only the water and yeast (and made sure it was completely mixed) before adding the oil and honey. And, thanks to a tip from one of the other reviewers, I put a pot of boiled water in the oven along with the dough while it was rising, and it only took about 45 minutes for it to rise.

Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It's so delicious, and I cannot wait to make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodieray03 January 04, 2013

Quick. Easy. I have a hard time not making dense bread. This was moist and delicious. It wasn't dense and was a good all around bread. I'll be using it for this thanksgiving and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaitlynfire November 20, 2010

The best bread recipe I've found yet. I'm always looking for basic bread recipes, this one was perfect. Made one loaf and rolls. Only had to add 1/4 cup flour, otherwise, followed recipe exactly. VERY YUMMY. My wire and 2 year old son loved it too!! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustinR October 29, 2009

great recipy, easy to make - just used my mixer and let it run for 4-5 min i also used half whole weat flower - very fluffy and light! we will see how the kids like them tomorow as sandwichis for school

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twigo March 02, 2009

I did it! I made bread! Tried making bread a while back and it was a failed attempt. My husband really wanted me to try again and I found this recipe. I'm not a huge fan of bread maker bread (plus I don't own one anyway!) so I wanted to try it from scratch. I even altered the recipe a bit using 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 3 cups of bread flour. After reading some reviews, I place a bowl of hot water next to the dough in the oven and it rose in no time! The result? Delicious, melt in your mouth bread! I also rubbed the tops with butter when I took them out of the oven. Will definitely use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm January 24, 2015

Great bread recipe. I just used it in French toast for breakfast, turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 08, 2014

Thank you soooooo much 4 this recipe!!!! I have recently gotten n2 baking my own bread,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikirasmommy September 08, 2013
Mom's Delicious Homemade Bread