Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Danish Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Danish Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Hello teresa: congradulations! You have come up with a winner(even tho I am italian) I organized a cooking club and used this recipe it was a huge success, I also made extra sauce, and I did use 6 eggs. Thank you. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      Teresa I made this for lunch today and it is wonderful! I made double the dressing to use the next time (soon). I added 2 green onions chopped., Easy do ahead recipe. Thank-you (of course it has to be good it's Danish!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2002

      OMG!!!I promise I will never make potato salad any other way!!!I have always wanted to try a cooked dressing and this one is great.I have done nothing but try new recipes since finding RECIPEZAAR.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Superb! Not your ordinary potato salad thats for sure. The dressing is really what makes this recipe and I had rave reviews from family with it. Will make this a lot over Summer. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      This is the best!! It has such a great dressing, we really loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      This potato salad was delicious. The dressing was yummy. I like the sweet taste. I had some dressing left over so I used it to make a macaroni salad. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      Made this for Ducky's Tailgate Party and actually took it to a real UA tailgate yesterday--GO HOGS!! This made a very good potato salad. I used 4 boiled eggs but will probably increase to 6, like you, next time. The dressing is what makes this so delicious and everyone was curious about how I made it. Travels well in an ice-chest. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. Thanks Teresa M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Good stuff! DD and DH really liked this salad. DH doesn't normally care for potato salad but he gobbled this salad up and said that it had more flavor than most potato salads that he's tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2003

      This is the best on this site so far. Really love it. Anything else from Mom?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2003

      Yum! Yum! Yum!- I left out the sugar and the celery (my dh doesnt like it). I also didnt heat the begining with the eggs (left it out). This is super good and easy. This is great to take to picnics and barbecues. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      My DH loves potato salad and this is indeed a favorite. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      This is a delicious moist potato salad. Easy to prepare too. It was way to sweet for my taste (but that is personal preference and not posters fault). It uses far fewer eggs that my usual recipe and is also quicker to prepare. I will be making this one again adjusting the sugar amount. Thanks Teresa M. for posting! 1/6/11. made again using just 2 tablespoons of sugar and I LOVE it. It has such a nice consistancy and a hint of tartness that makes the flavor awesome that and being so easy to put together will make this a favorite. You must try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

      This is our new hit in the house. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Delicious! I really liked it! As suggested by previous reviewres, I reduced a little bit the sugar and it was just perfect. I will definitely do it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      I agree with others that the recommended amount of sugar makes this too sweet but that can be adjusted. Since we prefer a tart potato salad I cut the sugar down by half and will probably cut it even more next time. I really like the precooking method. It makes a nice creamy dressing. After a day in the fridge it tasted even better. This is going into my cookbook and definately will be repeated. Thanks for sharing Teresa M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This was my first attempt at making a homemade potato salad. I opted for this one because it was the first that I had all the ingredients for. I used yellow prepared mustard instead of mustard seed (wasn't sure which one the recipe needed, it wasn't specified.) End result was decent, everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This had a very good flavor. I almost followed it exactly but didn't have any celery so I put 1 teaspoon of celery seed in it like my mom always did. I thought the dressing was too thin and next time I'll omit the water. Oh and I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I am not a fan of potato salad, but I had so many potatoes and hard-boiled eggs (and ham!) to use up after Easter dinner and picked this recipe to help me use up a lot of my leftovers. I was very pleasantly surprised! The proportions and flavors were really good. This is now my permanent potato salad recipe! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Making this for father's day along with smoked pulled pork, coleslaw and baked beans. I had a recipe that was very similar, but missing something. This is the ONE!! I will never go back to another plain mayo/mustard recipe again. I used 8 russetts boiled in jackets, then cooled, peeled and sliced. I added 2 T butter to the sauce (that was in my other recipe) which makes it richer. Used EVOO mayo and regular prepared mustard. Also added dash of cayenne and white pepper. I left out the relish, but used celery and onion chopped very fine and 5 eggs that I mashed the yolks and mixed in w/ sauce, then chopped the whites. Garnish with paprika and sliced egg. Decided to make a day ahead to let flavors blend. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I used this recipe for my first attempt at making a home-made potato salad and I got just what I was looking for! I love the sweetness and the creaminess (it didn't get pastey!) of this recipe. It was also very easy to make. I added a couple extra tablespoons of sugar, just because I like it sweet and I left out the relish because I don't like relish. I cooked the potatoes in their skins and cooled them before peeling and my potatoes came out perfect! This salad got even better every day I ate it after I made it! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Danish Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.5
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    27%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 134.6 mg
    44%
    Sodium 424.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 15.5 g
    62%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes