14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the kind of cookie that would make you run home from school. A nice soft oatmeal cookie that you would never get bored with given the wide verity of stir in's. I made as written using half dates and half walnuts. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 23, 2011

These were great. I used white chocolate and pecans, delish. Made for DH's pool club at the Elks... they all gave you the thumbs up. This is a nice basic recipe to have around when you're trying to please so many pickey cookie eaters. Hummmm. is there such a thing, as a pickey cookie eater? Thanks for sharing Mom's recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby May 02, 2011

We loved these cookies! I only made 1/2 a batch, and wish I had made the whole recipe! They were soft and chewy, and sooooo good! :) I used semi-sweet morsels, and no nuts this time, although I like the fact that I can add anything, to suit my tastes! Your Mama was a smart lady, Lori Mama! Thanks so much for sharing your treasured recipe with us; I know that I'll be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl November 12, 2010

Great base for cookies! I used mini-chocolate chips, dark chocolate chips and millet. I liked the light crisp texture especially around the edges. I used a medium cookie scoop and baked just a couple minutes more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 17, 2010

Try this with craisins and walnuts! It's one of those just gotta have another recipes. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie in TX May 18, 2009

I love oatmeal cookies and these did not disappoint. I made these with the chocolate chips at DS's request, but I would prefer them with dates or raisins. This recipe cooked up more accurate than most I've found...I didn't have to cut the cooking time. Loved them. Made for Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 17, 2009

Excellent recipe with many possibilities - you could conceivably use this recipe alone and no one would notice, with all the possible variations! I made simple chocolate chip cookies this time, and DH was stealing them when I wasn't looking before I packed them up for my get together. The dough was a bit softer than I'm used to, but turned out great!! Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 29, 2009

Great cookies! Made 1/2 a recipe as I wanted to take a variety to my parents. DH liked them so much I didn't have any left to take! :) These are a new favorite in our house! Thanks Lori! I will be making these often! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom April 10, 2009

Yummy little things, I have to say! ;) Like Annacia I used only raisins, which was really nice. They came together quickly and easily and had a very nice crunchy texture. They did taste quite buttery, but I liked that in combination with the oats. I made hald the recipe, which yielded 18 cookies for me. Also I reduced the sugar by half and they still were sweet enough for me (that way you could really taste the raisins in them). I had to bake mine a little longer than stated (~18 minutes), but that might well have been just my oven. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Lori! Made and reviewed for Every Day is a Holiday Tag Game March 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 26, 2009

I made these for DH using only raisins. I'm rating then at 5 because I made 24 and by the time they had cooled I only had 18 left and had to make him stop munching until I got pix done. For some reason mine didn't spread but pretty much stayed in the drop shape. As these are for my honey I made them exactly by the recipe using margarine, real brown sugar and egg. Lol, he just raided the cookie jar and gave me 5 fingers with a grin. They are winners :D.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 15, 2009
Mom's Create-A-Cookie