9 Reviews

Taste was good but the end result was just too dry. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole March 23, 2015

ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL BREAD! I liked everything about it ~ Its preparation (so easy), its aroma (so comforting), its taste (out-of-this-world, in my opinion)! I ALWAYS buy extra bags of fresh cranberries, especially when they're quality berries, & freeze them to use throughout the year (if I still have any left by the end of Spring)! And, although I did follow the list of ingredients, I was very generous with the orange zest (I usually am when it comes to zest)! I gifted one of the loaves to a neighbor couple & they loved it as much as we did, but if I grant my other half his wish, I'll be making another couple of loaves within the week! Thank you so much for this wonderfully tasty treat! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike January 02, 2011

Great recipe, adapts well to gluten free, too! I made one loaf gluten free, one loaf as per the recipe, both turned out perfect! The batter does come out very thick - don't be alarmed. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen November 21, 2010

I hate writing anything negative; but I followed this exactly and was very disappointed. The dough was VERY thick and that worried me; but after double checking; I was sure I had included all the ingredients. It was very dense; had a very dry texture and little flavor. I was very hopeful; but honestly won't use this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJBisanz December 23, 2009

What's not to like? I wasn't sure about soaking the cranberries overnight either, but after doing it I can tell the difference in the taste. They aren't' quite as sour using this method. I made 2 large loaves out of it. I used a little leftover hot orange tea for the water. Very good. I will make this for Christmas morning this year! Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe - Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 28, 2008

Very good! I really enjoyed the cranberry/orange/walnut combination. I subbed a little wheat flour and used mostly splenda, and it all turned out very tasty. I found that my batter was very thick, almost like a yeast bread. Makes a large amount - I got one good-sized 8x4 loaf and 12 muffins from one batch. Definitely more than 8 servings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 26, 2008

Wonderful recipe!! I used fresh cranberries that I had stored in the freezer....added the sugar and let them thaw overnight in the fridge. I baked them one loaf at a time for about 40 mins. each. The flavor and the texture of the bread is excellent! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn June 10, 2007

This is the BEST cranberry bread I've ever baked or eaten! I was wondering if letting the cranberries sit overnight was really necessary...after one bite, I can see that it does make a difference. Thanks so much for posting, this is the only cranberry bread recipe I'll use from now on. (I divided between 3 8x4 loaf pans and they baked up great!) P.S. The title says walnut but the ingredients say pecans. I used walnuts in mine. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= December 16, 2006

I absolutley LOVE this recipe! I ended up eating the whole loaf in less than 24 hours! Bread was great with cream cheese! Thanks for the keeper, KLBoyle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD November 04, 2006
Mom's Cranberry Walnut Bread