54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect Brownies. I like a fudgy chewy brownie and these were exactly that. I followed the recipe exactly including bake time. I omitted the nuts because I like a plain chocolate brownie. I cooked them for 25 minutes. I let them cool completely on a wire rack in the pan. I don't know how these could be cakey with no leavening agent.
Anyhow they are perfect

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roccopico March 01, 2013

After reading all the previous reviews I wondered how these brownies would be. I followed your directions to a T. I made a double batch and baked them for 35 minutes in a metal baking pan.

They turned out perfect!! They were chewy, not the least bit "cake like", and enjoyed by all. I will add this to my recipe box. Oh, my family is already asking for a rerun. Thanks so much for this wonderful, easy to make recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theblond July 07, 2011

These are fudgy and kind of chewy around the edges which is the way that I like my brownies. I made these yesterday and when I woke up this morning someone in the family had eaten nearly the whole pan, all except for 2 brownies. I think my son and his friend are to blame. Next time I make these I'm going to hide them in my room! I've made these tons of times now and I sometimes double this recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan and bake for 35-40 minutes. These brownies are total chocolate heaven. I think that this would be a great recipe to make a mix from too. I'm going to double this recipe and put the dry ingredients in a canning jar. This mix would store well because it doesn't have baking soda or baking powder in it. I think that it would fit in a quart jar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady April 14, 2010

These brownies are a staple in my house. My fiance and I entertain the same group of friends virtually every weekend, and at least twice a month I whip up a batch of these brownies as a dessert to keep us going as we chat late into the night, when dinner has long since worn off. ;) I don't even have to say a word to them; all they have to do is see me bringing out the ingredients, and there are cheers of delight all the way around. I never have leftovers. (Two weeks ago, after the first batch disappeared in the blink of an eye, everyone begged me to make a second batch -- and when I said yes, one of the friends, someone who's usually rather shy, gave me a HUGE hug of thanks!) Sometimes I add a touch of almond extract to boost the flavor, and on occasion I've instead used peppermint extract and mint chips, but the only change I regularly make is with the cocoa -- we all prefer dark chocolate, so when I have in the pantry (which is most of the time), I use Hershey's dark chocolate cocoa instead of the more common milk chocolate variety. This is a real winner! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne the Pirate Queen August 20, 2008

These are, hands down, the best brownies I've ever made. And SO simple. I added nothing and they were perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmeloveschicken January 01, 2014

I chose this recipe specifically because it said they were NOT cake-like brownies. Unfortunately, the second I took them out of the oven and dropped the sides of the Perfect Brownie Pan, I could see from the texture that there was too much egg in this recipe to produce chewy brownies. I'm afraid I couldn't eat the whole brownie. My kindergartener and her friend thought they were fine, but I still ended up throwing out at least half the batch. I made a double recipe to fit the pan I was using, but that's been done many times without altering the results. I'm sorry I just can't agree on the texture of these; I'm a brownie snob according to my DH. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** December 11, 2012

These were decent for one bowl brownies. They were chewy and easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KokomoEMT May 27, 2012

I tried this recipe because it specifically said they are not cakey brownies... but they are actually very cake-like, probably due to the 2 eggs. They were also very cocoa-ey, not so sugary. I doubled the recipe, used butter instead of oil, and cooked in a 9X13 pan for 45 minutes. They came out perfect. Next time I will add less cocoa and either use very small eggs or just one large egg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RealFoodz February 27, 2010

These were delicious. I followed the recipe to the "T" until I saw the eggs on the table and the brownies were in the oven. I pulled the pan out of the oven as it had only been in a few seconds. I put the batter back into the bowl and mixed the eggs into it. I had sprayed the pan with Bakers Secret so the brownies released from the pan nicely. I liked that this makes a smaller amount of brownies so you do not have a lot of leftovers. Made for *I Recommend Tag Game 2010* they were recommended by *4H Mom*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J February 19, 2010

This quick & easy recipe requires simple ingredients that you always have on hand. The flavor & texture were just right (especially if you let the flavor develops by keeping them refridgerated overnight). I tweaked a bit by adding 1/4 tsp Baking Power + 1/4 tsp Salt. Instead of dumping all ingredients in a bowl, I started by mixing cooking oil well with sugar. Then, I added eggs & vanilla extract and stir until incorporated. Finally, I added all the dry ingredients, give them a good stir again before pouring the mixture into my baking pan. This will be my one & only recipe for brownies. Mthks for sharing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Second2None October 28, 2008
Mom's Cocoa Powder Brownies