Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Cocoa Powder Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Cocoa Powder Brownies

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2013

      Perfect Brownies. I like a fudgy chewy brownie and these were exactly that. I followed the recipe exactly including bake time. I omitted the nuts because I like a plain chocolate brownie. I cooked them for 25 minutes. I let them cool completely on a wire rack in the pan. I don't know how these could be cakey with no leavening agent.
      Anyhow they are perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      After reading all the previous reviews I wondered how these brownies would be. I followed your directions to a T. I made a double batch and baked them for 35 minutes in a metal baking pan.

      They turned out perfect!! They were chewy, not the least bit "cake like", and enjoyed by all. I will add this to my recipe box. Oh, my family is already asking for a rerun. Thanks so much for this wonderful, easy to make recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      These are fudgy and kind of chewy around the edges which is the way that I like my brownies. I made these yesterday and when I woke up this morning someone in the family had eaten nearly the whole pan, all except for 2 brownies. I think my son and his friend are to blame. Next time I make these I'm going to hide them in my room! I've made these tons of times now and I sometimes double this recipe and put it in a 13x9 pan and bake for 35-40 minutes. These brownies are total chocolate heaven. I think that this would be a great recipe to make a mix from too. I'm going to double this recipe and put the dry ingredients in a canning jar. This mix would store well because it doesn't have baking soda or baking powder in it. I think that it would fit in a quart jar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      These brownies are a staple in my house. My fiance and I entertain the same group of friends virtually every weekend, and at least twice a month I whip up a batch of these brownies as a dessert to keep us going as we chat late into the night, when dinner has long since worn off. ;) I don't even have to say a word to them; all they have to do is see me bringing out the ingredients, and there are cheers of delight all the way around. I never have leftovers. (Two weeks ago, after the first batch disappeared in the blink of an eye, everyone begged me to make a second batch -- and when I said yes, one of the friends, someone who's usually rather shy, gave me a HUGE hug of thanks!) Sometimes I add a touch of almond extract to boost the flavor, and on occasion I've instead used peppermint extract and mint chips, but the only change I regularly make is with the cocoa -- we all prefer dark chocolate, so when I have in the pantry (which is most of the time), I use Hershey's dark chocolate cocoa instead of the more common milk chocolate variety. This is a real winner! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      These are, hands down, the best brownies I've ever made. And SO simple. I added nothing and they were perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      I chose this recipe specifically because it said they were NOT cake-like brownies. Unfortunately, the second I took them out of the oven and dropped the sides of the Perfect Brownie Pan, I could see from the texture that there was too much egg in this recipe to produce chewy brownies. I'm afraid I couldn't eat the whole brownie. My kindergartener and her friend thought they were fine, but I still ended up throwing out at least half the batch. I made a double recipe to fit the pan I was using, but that's been done many times without altering the results. I'm sorry I just can't agree on the texture of these; I'm a brownie snob according to my DH. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      These were decent for one bowl brownies. They were chewy and easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      I tried this recipe because it specifically said they are not cakey brownies... but they are actually very cake-like, probably due to the 2 eggs. They were also very cocoa-ey, not so sugary. I doubled the recipe, used butter instead of oil, and cooked in a 9X13 pan for 45 minutes. They came out perfect. Next time I will add less cocoa and either use very small eggs or just one large egg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      These were delicious. I followed the recipe to the "T" until I saw the eggs on the table and the brownies were in the oven. I pulled the pan out of the oven as it had only been in a few seconds. I put the batter back into the bowl and mixed the eggs into it. I had sprayed the pan with Bakers Secret so the brownies released from the pan nicely. I liked that this makes a smaller amount of brownies so you do not have a lot of leftovers. Made for *I Recommend Tag Game 2010* they were recommended by *4H Mom*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This quick & easy recipe requires simple ingredients that you always have on hand. The flavor & texture were just right (especially if you let the flavor develops by keeping them refridgerated overnight). I tweaked a bit by adding 1/4 tsp Baking Power + 1/4 tsp Salt. Instead of dumping all ingredients in a bowl, I started by mixing cooking oil well with sugar. Then, I added eggs & vanilla extract and stir until incorporated. Finally, I added all the dry ingredients, give them a good stir again before pouring the mixture into my baking pan. This will be my one & only recipe for brownies. Mthks for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      These were SOOO good, especially if you're in need of chocolate and don't feel like going to the store to get a kit. I used the deep, dark Hershey's cocoa with the antioxidants and the brownies came out black in color. They tasted amazing. Easy to make and wonderful tasting. Gooey and everything. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      These are simple and very good. I made one change and it was substituting melted butter for 1/2 the oil-effectivly adding 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. oil. Don't over bake these! Take then out of the oven just before the center is done and let them par-bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Wow..these were sooo good. I ran out of vanilla extract and used mint extract instead..nice chololate/mint combo. Really good fresh out of the oven with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      Very very nice, however a added a bit of my own to pump it up A tsp almond essence A tbsp lemon juice 3 tbsp Amaretto (disarranno) (Disarranno amount it choice) Yum Yum Yummy!!! My mum in law loves it, now that's a plus x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I followed the recipe to the T...except that I convection baked it rather than regular bake. The oven automatically adjusts the temperature difference. They came out a bit dry and hard. Should I have shortened the cooking time also??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Was looking for a quick brownie recipe that didn't have dairy or soy. This brownie is amazeballs! Evening I love about brownies...chewy, with some crunch on edge. Very versatile, I reduced oil slightly and added creamy peanut butter in ratio tho oil I left out. Was about two tablespoons! Yum yum yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

    • on March 29, 2013

      A perfectly respectable home made brownie. Tasted great the next day also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Really good overall taste, but too oily. made a double batch, so next time i will cut the oil by half

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      I tried this recipe as I was looking for a brownie recipe that didn't involve melting chocolate and butter. When I found this I was a bit dubious but I thought that I'd just give it a go. I am so happy that I did - this recipe is fantastic! The brownie's come out gooey and chocolate and just gorgeous (I added white chocolate chunks and I would definitely recommend this for chocolate lovers). I am just so happy that I found this recipe and I cannot wait to make them again - my mum and I have just fallen in love with them! Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Cocoa Powder Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (603 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    47%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 23.2 mg
    7%
    Sodium 81.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites