68 Reviews

Sue L, my dear, this is just divine. WOW!! It disappeared at my house too. Creamy and buttery. I liked the use of cayenne for some spiciness. Comfort food extraordinaire. Thanks. I look forward to making this all winter long ;D

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' November 09, 2002

I can't believe how quick and easy this was to make! I added chopped celery, and it turned out wonderful! Thick, rich and creamy!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anti August 08, 2002

This is a very tasty soup. It was very easy to prepare. I did put a little to much cayenne pepper!! But it was still delicious. My husband bragged about this soup to everyone (and it was so easy to make!)!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fhonda June 29, 2002

My mom and I made a big seafood dinner tonight and we made this first. It was a HIT with EVERYONE in our family! I thought it was delicious! I love how creamy it is! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick September 16, 2002

Very good. I made a few changes - I used broth instead of water, arrowroot starch instead of flour (to make it gluten-free), double the onions, added 8 strips crumbled bacon, 2 cups of whole milk instead of evaporated milk (more than creamy enough for me), two cans of wild salmon, and one can of organic corn. Very tasty, will make this again. I think it would be good with some bits of shrimp or other seafood too. I found it needed more then just a pinch of salt, I didn't measure but I kept adding salt about four times till it was right for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simonealisa June 06, 2010

Great recipe we used bacon fat instead of butter and it turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chandlert2003 March 23, 2010

Great Recipe! Much lighter than my usual family recipe which has cream cheese and bacon...and many others on this site. I really like how making a quick roux thickened it nicely. I chopped the potatoes very small, and had slight modifications to ingredients. I used 1/4 stick of I can't belive it's not butter light and Fat Free Evaporated Milk since I'm on WW. Had my doubts with my changes, but the flavor was fantastic. I may skip the cayenne and sub for some dill next time. I kinda liked the subtle heat on the back of the throat, but the kids were not as receptive. Thanks for a great go to and QUICK clam chowder recipe. Hats off to your mom. Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messie Chef February 05, 2010

This is such a KEEPER. My husband and I both thought it was the best we've ever had as did a lot of other reviewers. It was excellent and is now going to be a regular in my kitchen. Thank You so much for sharing. The only thing I did different was I used organic chicken broth in replacement of the water...had to get rid of it..hehe, and added celery, oh and had no parsley left so added some chives. Incredibly Yummy. Ate with fresh crusty baguette and butter and it was too die for. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clorivak January 23, 2010

SUE.. i wish i could give this recipe a thousand stars... made it tonite and hubby eat two and a half b i g bowls.. i ate one and a half.. we both agree this is far beyond the best we have ever had.. i added 1/4 tsp. greek seasoning, 1/4 tsp. mrs dash original seasoning and some season salt plus all the goodies you have listed.. Wish i'd found this recipe years ago, but better late than never.. The texture was perfect, so creamy.. This has been put in my best recipe file..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nita 284904 southern girl January 15, 2010

Quite good! So simple and yet very flavorful. I usually don't follow recipes exactly. I did this time and I'm glad I did. Wouldn't change a thing. I''ll definitely be making this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnybrook December 14, 2009
Mom's Clam Chowder