Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2002

      Sue L, my dear, this is just divine. WOW!! It disappeared at my house too. Creamy and buttery. I liked the use of cayenne for some spiciness. Comfort food extraordinaire. Thanks. I look forward to making this all winter long ;D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      I can't believe how quick and easy this was to make! I added chopped celery, and it turned out wonderful! Thick, rich and creamy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      This is a very tasty soup. It was very easy to prepare. I did put a little to much cayenne pepper!! But it was still delicious. My husband bragged about this soup to everyone (and it was so easy to make!)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      My mom and I made a big seafood dinner tonight and we made this first. It was a HIT with EVERYONE in our family! I thought it was delicious! I love how creamy it is! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Very good. I made a few changes - I used broth instead of water, arrowroot starch instead of flour (to make it gluten-free), double the onions, added 8 strips crumbled bacon, 2 cups of whole milk instead of evaporated milk (more than creamy enough for me), two cans of wild salmon, and one can of organic corn. Very tasty, will make this again. I think it would be good with some bits of shrimp or other seafood too. I found it needed more then just a pinch of salt, I didn't measure but I kept adding salt about four times till it was right for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Great recipe we used bacon fat instead of butter and it turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Great Recipe! Much lighter than my usual family recipe which has cream cheese and bacon...and many others on this site. I really like how making a quick roux thickened it nicely. I chopped the potatoes very small, and had slight modifications to ingredients. I used 1/4 stick of I can't belive it's not butter light and Fat Free Evaporated Milk since I'm on WW. Had my doubts with my changes, but the flavor was fantastic. I may skip the cayenne and sub for some dill next time. I kinda liked the subtle heat on the back of the throat, but the kids were not as receptive. Thanks for a great go to and QUICK clam chowder recipe. Hats off to your mom. Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This is such a KEEPER. My husband and I both thought it was the best we've ever had as did a lot of other reviewers. It was excellent and is now going to be a regular in my kitchen. Thank You so much for sharing. The only thing I did different was I used organic chicken broth in replacement of the water...had to get rid of it..hehe, and added celery, oh and had no parsley left so added some chives. Incredibly Yummy. Ate with fresh crusty baguette and butter and it was too die for. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      SUE.. i wish i could give this recipe a thousand stars... made it tonite and hubby eat two and a half b i g bowls.. i ate one and a half.. we both agree this is far beyond the best we have ever had.. i added 1/4 tsp. greek seasoning, 1/4 tsp. mrs dash original seasoning and some season salt plus all the goodies you have listed.. Wish i'd found this recipe years ago, but better late than never.. The texture was perfect, so creamy.. This has been put in my best recipe file..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Quite good! So simple and yet very flavorful. I usually don't follow recipes exactly. I did this time and I'm glad I did. Wouldn't change a thing. I''ll definitely be making this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Delish! Used celery flakes, didn't drain the clams, and upped the flour (so I could use the juice in the clams)... also added LOTS of garlic and a carrot for color. Highly recommend! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      My 15 y/o DS just emerged from his bedroom and asked if there was any clam chowder left! There was, so he happily reheated a bowl in the microwave and asked if I'd make it 2x a month! He said it's the best clam chowder he's ever had. SOOO on that note I have to give it 5 stars! I made it exactly as written except that I used 3 cans of clams, and used several shakes of cayenne pepper sauce rather than powder which I didn't have. I was liberal with the salt and pepper shakers. My DH does not like clam chowders that are mostly potato - but I cut the potatos quite small (1/3" cubes??) and some just seemed to dissolve in the broth and he had no potato complaints. Will make it again, as requested :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Amazing! As a guy, even I can make it! I double up the clams, since I enjoy them. The cayenne pepper gives it a nice little kick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      I love clam chowdah- I was in Boston for vacation and enjoyed this dish often. The "recipe" was great But canned clams just aren't that great. Any suggestions for a Gulfcoast girl unfamiliar with clams and brands, anyone, please feel free to send to zaar mail. Thanks, Beth

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      This is a fabulous clam chowder. The only thing I did differently was I added 2 cans of cream of celery soup. Everything else I did just as the recipe instructed. I was struck by how wonderfully creamy the chowder is. My husband, who is very picky when it comes to his clam chowder, said it was the best he has ever tasted. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      What a filling and flavorful chowder! My brother went clamming this morning and came back with a heaping amount of razor clams. This was easy to prepare, and worked out well since we didn't have to go the extra step with bacon which tends to typically be on the ingredient list. We tripled the recipe (large family, I know), and increased the flour by 3-4 tablespoons to make it extra thick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      The flavor of this Chowder was great but I would have preferred it a bit thicker. I will just up the flour a bit next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      This is a very nice recipe. The base recipe is very easy and flavourful and can easily be built upon. My family gave my modified version 4 1/2 stars. Here's what I did: Added 1 tsp chicken boullion pwd. 1/2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning 1/2 cup dry white wine (pinot grigio) 3/4 cup fresh small shrimp. I added the extra seasonings to the flour mixture and added the wine to that once it was thickened. Added the shrimp in along with the clams and then let the whole thing simmer for about 15 minutes or so, stirring often. **I used three 85g cans of Cloverleaf's new Chopped Ocean Clams. Very nice. Served with Fisherman's Wharf Grilled Cheese (Fishermans Wharf Grilled Cheese) Made a simple soup & grilled cheese night into something special!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      this was good and easy. My chowder lovers loved it. It won't convert non-clam lovers, but a great easy recipe for the rest of us

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Very good, quick and easy to make. Tastes even better the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.0
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    36%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 99.7 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1141.7 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 31.8 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites