18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome cake. I substituted the oil with applesauce and used 1/4 c. cocoa. I added 1 tsp salt as I compared it with other recipes and they had salt. Moist and delicious! A real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharibomke November 19, 2009

I made this recipe and just wanted to say that the cake really needs to cook much longer! I had it in for about 60-65 minutes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maybey September 12, 2003

Great cake I start making this once I have a few too many zucchinis. Like today!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jnebia July 24, 2011

Not as great a recipe as the reviews would indicate. It tasted pleasant enough but it took almost DOUBLE the time to bake! I eventually cranked the heat up to 350 and it still took forever. It was OK, but not as good as some others I have tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chillibite October 03, 2009

This is the best chocolate zucchini recipe I have used. This will be the only one I will ever use again, Thank You so much for sharing this recipe. (I didn't change a thing). Both of my girls loved this: they keep running out to the garden in hopes to find more zucchinis so I can make more. This cake also freezes wonderfully. I made two cakes sliced one of the cakes into indivual servings and then flashed freezed the cake on waxed paper. I bagged the cake slices and take out what I need in the morning....always taste great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csilcox75 September 21, 2009

Thanks for the great recipe! It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Cinnamon August 18, 2009

I made this and it was very good. I liked the addition of cinnamon with the chocolate a great taste and addition of chocolate chips a real boost to flavor. Moist, tasty, a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muddyboots September 20, 2008

I was looking for a choc. zucchini cake to use up my huge zuke. This is a great, moist cake. I used 1/3 C cocoa and forgot the choc. chips. Didn't need it. Also used 1 C white and 1 1/2 C whole wheat. I used the electric mixer to mix the first 6 ingredients. Left out the cinnamon. I frosted with Silky Smooth Chocolate Frosting/Icing and the whole family almost devoured it in one night! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead September 19, 2008

Fantastic and moist cake. I subbed apple sauce for the oil to cut down on the fat and it tasted wonderful. I also used a bit less sugar, about 1 1/4 cups. I did use a lot of chocolate chips on the top though! Baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. The smell while this was baking was so chocolatly, it was divine! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cranberry September 10, 2008
Moms Chocolate Zucchini Cake