Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moms Chocolate Zucchini Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moms Chocolate Zucchini Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2009

      Awesome cake. I substituted the oil with applesauce and used 1/4 c. cocoa. I added 1 tsp salt as I compared it with other recipes and they had salt. Moist and delicious! A real keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      I made this recipe and just wanted to say that the cake really needs to cook much longer! I had it in for about 60-65 minutes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Great cake I start making this once I have a few too many zucchinis. Like today!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Not as great a recipe as the reviews would indicate. It tasted pleasant enough but it took almost DOUBLE the time to bake! I eventually cranked the heat up to 350 and it still took forever. It was OK, but not as good as some others I have tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This is the best chocolate zucchini recipe I have used. This will be the only one I will ever use again, Thank You so much for sharing this recipe. (I didn't change a thing). Both of my girls loved this: they keep running out to the garden in hopes to find more zucchinis so I can make more. This cake also freezes wonderfully. I made two cakes sliced one of the cakes into indivual servings and then flashed freezed the cake on waxed paper. I bagged the cake slices and take out what I need in the morning....always taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      Thanks for the great recipe! It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

    • on September 20, 2008

      I made this and it was very good. I liked the addition of cinnamon with the chocolate a great taste and addition of chocolate chips a real boost to flavor. Moist, tasty, a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I was looking for a choc. zucchini cake to use up my huge zuke. This is a great, moist cake. I used 1/3 C cocoa and forgot the choc. chips. Didn't need it. Also used 1 C white and 1 1/2 C whole wheat. I used the electric mixer to mix the first 6 ingredients. Left out the cinnamon. I frosted with Silky Smooth Chocolate Frosting/Icing and the whole family almost devoured it in one night! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Fantastic and moist cake. I subbed apple sauce for the oil to cut down on the fat and it tasted wonderful. I also used a bit less sugar, about 1 1/4 cups. I did use a lot of chocolate chips on the top though! Baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. The smell while this was baking was so chocolatly, it was divine! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      i was also going to submit this old favorite recipe of mine! i've always called it zucchini chocolate chip cake and love having people try it, then later telling them there is zucchini in it. i've made this recipe for 38 years now and it's even better the next day, but it rarely lasts that long. the only difference is that this recipe calls for sour milk and my recipe calls for buttermilk. one measurement is different in that my recipe says to measure the 2 1/2 cups of flour, then take out 2 1/2 tablespoons (a strange instruction i've always thought). otherwise, it's all the same. yes, it's great to use those garden zukes up which is why i have it cooking right now in my oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is the best! It was gone the same day I made it! I can understand why it won a blue ribbon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      I was going add this recipe but did a search first to make sure I wasn't adding a duplicate. I grew up eating this cake and absolutely love it! My friends always thought I was weird until I could convince them to try it, haha! My mom always added 1/4 t ground cloves too. Wonderful cake; I highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2007

      This was such a wonderful way to use the very last zucchini from my yard. I took Keolani's advice and baked it in a 9x13 pan at 350 for 40 minutes. Next time, I will start checking it at 30 minutes. (ha ha, I was watching Law & Order SVU). I used buttermilk and stirred the chocolate chips into the batter. It was so moist! Zucchini bread usually gives me heartburn. This goes down smooth.....gotta be the chocolate! I bet you could even make wonderful cupcakes from this batter! Dave, your recipe is a keeper, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This is the one I was going to post. Yummy, moist. My boy would have eaten the whole pan which would have been all his vegetables for the week. I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and baked for 45-55 min. It's also good with chopped nuts sprinkled on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I have a garden that is going crazy producing zucchini by the truck loads. In the search to find a recipe new and different I stumbled onto this one. It is absolutely wonderful and moist! Since I had no chocolate chips I found the cake needed to be a bit more chocolatey....so I used 6 tablespoons of baking cocoa rather than 4. I highly recommend this chocolate treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I was going to add this recipe, and found it was already here. We LOVE this in our family. We add 1/2 tsp cloves as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      This is a great cake!! I have also added 1/2 tsp ground cloves & frosted with cream cheese icing for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moms Chocolate Zucchini Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.7
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    44%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 10.6 mg
    3%
    Sodium 76.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 11.3 g
    45%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites