Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake with Chocolate Deluxe Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake with Chocolate Deluxe Frosting

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2009

      I did not make the cake but I have made mayonnaise cake in the past and really like them. I did make the frosting for another chocolate cake and it is wonderful. I was a bit leery about the egg but this is the smoothest quick frosting I've ever made. I added just a few grains of salt and some extra cocoa because I wanted a darker chocolate than I thought 2T would give.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I've heard many times of cake with mayonnaise, and this was my first try. Very impressed with how moist it turned out. The frosting was delish also. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      For some reason this did not hit the spot. A little to much taste of the mayo came out in the cake. Might of been my fault but not really a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      OMG this is wonderful!! I only had 1/2 cup miracle whip so I used 1/2 mayo also to make up the cup. It turned out great! I really wasn't sure (I've never made a cake from scratch before) I poured the icing on the cake while it was still a little warm so that it melted down into it. I was such a big hit the hubby took one bite and tried to run away with the cake!!!( the little pig! he didn't want to share but thats alright the kids tackled him and got some...lol. He didn't belive that I made it from scratch and kept telling me to show him where the box was, I showed him the recipe!! Thanks so much for posting this I won't be buying devils food cake again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      I made this cake the other night after getting a huge craving for chocolate. I cut the recipe in half and baked it at 350 in a glass 8x8 pan for 15 minutes. I put it in the fridge to cool ( I was in a hurry..LOL) and when it was cooled I frosted it and put it back in the fridge to set the frosting. This cake came out so moist and yummy.. it was chocolately goodness. It deffinately took care of my craving and It tasted a lot like the chocolate cake I remember having as a child, and I am wondering if it is my mom's recipe. A++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      i've made this cake 3 times it disappears very fast. i'm making it today again,its easy an moist and quite satifying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I found this cake to be tasteless and dry. The direction called for the oven to be set at 375 for 30 min. I did not trust this and bake the cake at 350 for 30min. when it came out it seemed more like a whoopie pie consistancy. I ended up pocking holes in the cake and pouring a chocolate liqueur over it to moisten and sweeten the cake which I felt it really needed. Since the liqueur was quite sweet I topped it with whipped cream with a few drops of the same liqueur. I don't think I will try this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      This was just like my hubby remembered :). His mom used to make this for birthday cakes. It was moist and tastey. Great recipe if you like your cakes a little more dense. Be carful though...it's so moist that it can be tricky getting it out of the pan and on to a plate to decorate :o. Will definitely keep this one handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      Pac 2006 this was so rich and delicious I can't even describe it to you. everybody at work just loved this and wanted to know when I was going to make it again. I did make the frosting which is very sweet but really did make the cake something special. will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Delicious cake! I already had some frosting made so I didn't try the recipe for icing. The cake was sooo moist! And soo easy too wow! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used only 1/3 cup of sugar. I also used 4 tablespoons of cocoa instead of 2 (with recipe cut in half) Turned out beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      i didn't make the frosting, but just used the cake recipe. i think it's the best one i've ever made. i was concerned about using the mayo, but it's completely undetectable. light, chocolatey and fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      i didnt make the icing- just baked the cake. it turned out really well but took about 40minutes instead of 30, maybe this was just my oven? i also added 1/4 cup of cocoa since its pretty much the same amount hehe. next time i would add some stronger coffeeto give it a bit more of a rich chocolatey flavour. thanks so much, ill definetly use this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I am afraid to use raw eggs so I exchanged 1/4 cup Helmans mayo for the egg and 1/2 cup cream cheese,if you need to thin out use a small amountof liquid coffee and use all other ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2004

      This cake was really easy to make, and the miricle whip made the cake REALLY dense. I added chocolate chips too it, just to make it a little bit gooey and chocolatey. Everyone who ate it loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      I also did not bake the cake, but used the frosting recipe for a chocolate box cake. I made a white frosting by leaving out the cocoa powder. I made the cake for my husband-I'm more of a cookie person myself!-but I could not stop eating it because I LOVED the frosting. Something about it. It is so good. I will try making the cake and the frosting sometime soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2004

      i didn't bake the cake, but i used the frosting recipe for mysterygirl's 1 pan fudge cake. at first i thought the frosting was really weird, although that didn't stop me from eating the extra by itself. but anyway, i poured it onto the slightly-warm cake and within a few hours, it had turned into this absolutely amazing frosting. i don't know if that's what it was supposed to to, since you're supposed to keep it cold, but if you do let it melt and just use it for a 9x13-- wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake with Chocolate Deluxe Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.9
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    27%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 23.1 mg
    7%
    Sodium 548.3 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 38.6 g
    154%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes