Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Gravy

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2009

      Delicious! A big hit with my whole family. Would be good over pound cake with strawberries, or ice cream, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is incredible! Instead of biscuits we serve it over waffles for breakfast because there is nothing better than starting your day with chocolate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      YUM!! This was very good. You're right....you need milk to drink with it. My daughter loved it! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This recipe has been used countless times at our house. We found someone at our local Farmer's Market selling the dry mix: after I looked at the ingredients, I thought there had to be a way to make this myself. This recipe saved the day! It is wonderfully delicious, very easy to make, and my whole family loves it. (Except for my son, but he hates chocolate. But he's weird.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Wow! I just thought I would go ahead and say how EASY and AWESOME this recipe is! You see, I'm 16 and my brother is 18 and naturally during the summer, our parents are at work. We're left to fend for ourselves when it comes to eating, so it's usually ramen noodles or easy mac or something. But whenever we're in the mood, my brother and I cook some eggs or something. Today I was feeling the chocolate gravy so I looked up a quick recipe online and I was shocked at how easy and delicious it was! Thanks a bunch, I just had the best meal of my summer days without having good ol' mom to cook :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      GREAT, WONDERFUL, YUMMY! I made this yesterday morning for my 3 year old...we both loved it. Tasted just like the chocolate gravy my mom used to make me every Saturday morning. Thanks SO MUCH for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was such a good gravy and great to eat by itself! I made buttermilk biscuits and used Hershey's dark chocolate cocoa powder, added 1/4 cup more sugar and the gravy turned a beautiful black color. When I ate this, I felt like I was back home in the South again. Great comfort food- to be made again and again. Thank you again Redneck Epicurean for posting this lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      I prepared exactly according to instructions, using sugar, and it came out perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      This is a family standard for us, too. It originated in our family during the depression when syrup was scarce. It's in it's 4th generation in our house - with my making it for my children. We mix the dry ingredients, and heat those in a good skillet until hot (not melting), then add in the milk a little at a time until all smooth. Let it boil slowly for a few minutes until thick. Hope it warms your heart like it warms ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      This is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Very good, very simple recipe. Made it without a hitch and my boyfriend and I both loved it...thanks so much! I've been looking for a good recipe for a while!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Wow!! This took me back when I was a little girl...my mom made it as well!! I tried it once on my girls...they didnt enjoy it as much as I did watchin them taste it!! Thanks so much for bringing those memories back!! AWESOME!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      OMG!!!!! can u say wonderful...=) this has been the best that i have ever had....thanks so much....=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      This was excellent. I made Bisquick drop biscuits and put a little dent in the top of them after they came out of the oven and put a little piece of butter in the dent and then put the gravy on top. The kids asked if I could make this for breakfast when their friends spend the night. A lot of sirring, but a definite keeper. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I made this with pancakes and bacon. I grew up with eating chocolate syrup like this. I could never get the consistency just right. This one was perfect! I just added a little vanilla to make it rich. Very easy and very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I never heard of chocolate gravy, much less chocolate gravy over biscuits, until I moved to Tennessee. We have a friend who loves it, so I decided to make it, and see what all the fuss was about. First of all, I have to tell you that this gravy looks amazing; it is as smooth as silk ! Next, I have to admit, it IS good over buttered biscuits ! This gravy is not overly rich, or overly sweet; it is just right. If you want to try chocolate gravy, THIS IS THE RECIPE TO TRY. Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      i have been trying to make chocolate gravy for sev yrs and never got it right, always lumpy or just didn't taste like moms.. well, i used this recipe today and it turned out perfect!!..it took me and my hubby back to our childhood. soooooo good and not a single lump! :) thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Chocolate gravy might sound a little strange, but it sure is good! My son and I have it often enough to make the food police swoon! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      My great-grandma used to make this when all us "grown-ups" were kids!! She just guessed at the correct measuring but now I don't have to guestomate!! By the way... no matter where I move to, nobody has ever heard of chocolate gravy. I guess it's a southern thang!! If you haven't tried this, you haven't experienced a SWEET BREAKFAST TREAT. SO, TRY IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      My mom's family use to make this for me all the time (breakfast/"feel-good" sauce, etc.) but for the life of me, I couldn't remember how to make it. Thank you so much for posting this. It is wonderful when something you remember as being delicious and comforting IS actually delicious and comforting! The only thing I did different was use 1/2 cup Splenda Sugar Blend rather than 1 cup sugar and only 3/4 skim cup milk. Of course, the cocoa powder had to be Hershey's ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.6
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    20%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 13.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 47.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 33.3 g
    133%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites