Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Gravy

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2011

      From the Northeast. Learned of Chocolate Gravy when I served in the Army. Buddies mom would bring four of us to Tennessee from South Carolina. She would serve us this for breakfast. Brings back alot of fond memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      I have never had chocolate gravy before. Whenever I saw the recipes I actually thought it sounded kind of gross putting a chocolate sauce over biscuits. I got curious and made a small batch today for some leftover biscuits I had. OMG! I am so addicted! I even made another small batch again. Love this! Thanks :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      Made this for my family this morning. They ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!! It is a fantastic recipe!! Brought back memories of Saturday mornings at my Moms house!! LOVE!! LOVE!! LOVE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      It was good, but way too sweet! should maybe use a lil less sugar next time and a lil more butter. Pretty close to the way momma use to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Mom always made chocolate gravy for breakfast as a treat for us once in a while. We loved it and still do. She used water instead of milk and no thickening she just simmered it down to a syrup and we had it with hot biscuits and butter. Sometimes should would make vanilla gravy and just leave out the chocolate, we liked that too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      This gravy is so great. I married into a country family and was introduced to chocolate gravy about twenty years ago. Unfortunately the recipe died with my mother-in-law, but this is it and my husband is a happy camper now!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      I was delighted to show this recipe to my mom who grew up in the South in the 30's and 40's. I knew her mom made chocolate gravy from the stories she told us about her growing up years. She smiled and said it sounded just like her mom's...except her mom added a little vanilla. Great memories for her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      I remember my aunt fixing this recipe for my brothers and cousins when we were growing up. I've fixed this for my twins when they were growing up and they loved it.I'm really surprised that more people have not heard of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      Always delicioso!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Thanks so much for putting this recipe on Food.com. I got up this morning thinking of my grandmother's recipe for Chocolate Gravy. When I was a kid spending the night with her, she always asked my Sister and I every morning what we wanted for breakfast. "Chocolate Gravy!" was always the answer. Unfortunately I didn't get her recipe or my Mom's before they both passed away. But this tastes just like it! You have brought back many happy memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      I just made this and my boys loved it my 13 month old even picked up his plate and licked it clean. I will use this recipe over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      I can't wait to make this recipe. Being from the south, when we came to the table, we all were very happy when Mom made this for for breakfast with hot biscuits, which I think she made when we didn't have much else to eat. But as kids we didn't know or care, we just loved it, we thought it was the best breakfast ever. I haven't thought about chocolate gravy for years until seeing this recipe. My two girls used to have it at Grandmas house and thought it was great to have something like this for breakfast. Funny how we forget some of our most loved things until we are reminded by someone. Thanks again I will be making this soon. I know this is a five star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

    • on June 08, 2010

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

    • on April 15, 2010

    • on April 11, 2010

      I grew up with this stuff on my pancakes and biscuits at least once a week. This tastes just like my grandmother's recipe too. I went with Splenda rather than sugar to minimize the "long-term" effects of consuming that much sugar. Thanks again, and you'll be missed, R.E.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Being from the north, I had never heard of chocolate gravy. My grandfather was from Tennessee but this apparently didn't make it up to Michigan with him. I made this "authentic" recipe to serve over biscuits and sliced bananas, for something different. It was delicious and simple and will be using recipe again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      Thank you for posting this recipe! This is such a good one and so easy unlike a lot of the others ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Very good! Just like my mom used to make!! I used fat free milk... not that it made a difference :) Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.6
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    20%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 13.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 47.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.7 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 33.3 g
    133%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes