Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    190 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 190

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2008

      These are great! I love depression era style cakes: cheap, easy, moist and vegan! Instead of using AP flour, I used whole wheat pastry flour (all I use for cookies, cupcakes, crusts, etc.) and they came out great: I can't tell the difference. I also put 5 or 6 chocolate chips into the center of each cupcake to make a gooey center. Topped with a cinnamon and coffee icing= a super easy treat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      These were very easy, good for kids, especially allergy kids! I'll store this one away for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      these were great! nice and moist I used vanilla buttercream frosting #222188 grandaughter wanted to color it pink and sprinkle ..rainbow sprinkles on them..they turned out really nice! thank you for recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Mine turned out perfect! Thanks for the recipe. It made 12 cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I didn't even have to substitute any ingredients in order to make it vegan. These cupcakes are great, I topped one batch with "chocolate buttercream frosting" (#44126) and another with a batch of peanut butter frosting (#33520)......yummylicious. I have since made a one layer 9" cake, topped with the chocolate buttercream frosting, I think I like the cake better than the cupcakes, which I didn't think was possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      These were extremely delicious cupcakes... I made them for an order and for free samples, and I was practically mobbed! Thank you so very much for posting this recipe. My only complaint is that the cupcakes didn't rise very well. In fact, they barely got out of the cupcake papers. I recommend filling the cupcake papers up to the top with batter, which is what I will do next time! (Will post photo soon)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      At first, I wasn't so sure about these. However, I made them yesterday and they are gone. This is a fairly low calorie cupcake recipe that my huband has devoured. Thanks for posting. I wll make these for play dates since they don't have eggs. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Rich! Chocolate! and YUm!!! These were so good I cant believe just how easy and throw together they are! Ive now made them twice and can highly recommend them! they were really popular and i got compliments for them! thanks kmdipaolo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Made a half batch, but then couldn't find my cupcake pan so I used a small springform. Best homemade cake I've ever made! Unlike 742492, mine didn't taste like vinegar. Frosted with a improvised mix of butter, table sugar ground in a morter, cocoa, and vanilla. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      These were my first batch of from-scratch cupcakes and I will never use a box mix again. These were delicious, chocolately cupcakes! Very tender crumb, rich chocolate flavor and despite what Chef 742492 says, no discernable vinegar taste. The batter was runnier than I anticipated, so I was a little nervous, but the cupcakes baked up beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I used this because my non egg recipe was for a cake and I wasn't sure if it would work as well for cupcakes. This recipe did not work for me! You could almost taste the vinegar in them. Even my 2 yo (who eats everything) said "yuck" and threw it out. I went back to my other recipe and noticed they were almost exactly the same but this one had 1.5 tablespoons of vinegar, and my original recipe called for 1.5 tsp of vinegar (this was for 23 cupcakes). I'm back to the old recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      OMG! Thank you!!! My 4 year old daughter was diagnosed with dairy, egg, and nut allergies when she was 1 year old. I have been using boxed mixes to prepare cupcakes / cakes for her and all have been just okay. I decided to try this recipe for her 4th bday party at school the other day, not a cupcake left. For her actual bday party I plan on using the recipe to prepare a cake. My husband (a cake snob) even loved them and couldn't believe they were made "special" for my daughter. This is a must have for all cooks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      I found these cupcakes WAY overrated. They just weren't very flavorful, all I could taste was flour with a hint of chocolate. I kept looking over the ingredients list thinking I forgot something...but no, it was all there. I think if I made these again I'd add more sugar. They tasted okay once I frosted them, however, and they were very moist. Good texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      I found this recipe a month or two ago and I have made cupcakes quite a few times since then. It's amazingly easy to make--it takes me about half an hour, including washing the dishes after putting the cupcakes into the oven! And I love that it doesn't require butter, since that means I don't need to plan ahead if I want to make them--all of the ingredients are already room temperature. Lately, I've been making them with whole wheat flour, and they still come out nice and moist. As other reviewers have said, it works better to cook them for just 15 minutes or so. They have been a hit with our friends. I can't decide whether to let them know how easy they are, or to preserve my status as a master cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      THE best chocolate cupcakes I ever made. And an easy recipe to make! A bit fragile though, especially in warm weather. But if you're careful when unwrapping them there's no problem at all. The taste is just amazing, I almost forgot they're vegan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Excellent cupcakes! Deeply chocolate, very moist and tender crumb. I added 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and used Ghirardelli cocoa. I also used brewed coffee with 2 tbsp. of instant espresso powder dissolved in it instead of the water. Cupcakes only took about 15 minutes to bake and were nicely domed but didn't get a high peak on the top. I prefer slightly rounded tops because the frosting seems to sit better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      My absolute favourite cupcake recipe. It really is easier than a box mix, and tastes even more delicious. I've used it multiple times with the same great result, and have recommended it to people who have also had much luck with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Only sub was to use 1/4 c cocoa powder, 1/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder. We found these to be very rich and chocolately. frosted with a chocolate cream cheese iceing. 3 oz cream cheese, 4 tbsp butter, 1 1/2 c powdered sugar and 3 tbsp cocoa powder. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I used this recipe several times to make cupcakes. I even added mini chocolate chips to the batter and of course made homemade chocolate frosting. My husband and daughter are bother "chocoholics" and loved the way they turned out. I love the fact that I can make them if I forget to buy eggs. Probably the best Cupcake recipe I have found.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    41%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites