193 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I absolutely loved this! I made my first ever batch of cupcakes yesterday using this recipe, and they turned out divine. Easy peasy, super simple to follow, and really good. I love how storing them in the fridge didn't harden them and the family even agreed they tasted better after pulling them out of the fridge. I used a simple butter icing and they were a match made in heaven. Definitely a must-try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatterBug February 25, 2012

I substituted sweet potatoes for the oil. 1:1 and used low fat milk instead of water. I mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately and added the vinegar last, wasn't sure how it would react to the milk. Baked 15 minutes in silicone cups. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting and they turned out super moist, rich and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xgemxx February 20, 2012

This is an awesome recipe :) i made minor changes (1 1/4 cup sugar, 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, and replacing the water for milk :P) does anyone know why mine would be over done at 19 minutes??? i made sure the temperature was correct, and when i did my second batch, 15 min. 30 sec. was perfect :) and ideas???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madiwatkins123 February 07, 2012

Great easy recipe! Good because there was no need for eggs and I had everything required in my fridge/pantry already. I took the advice of others and used milk instead of water added a bit more sugar and cocoa and the recipe came out perfect. Was looking for a good easy chocolate cupcake recipe for my mini cupcakes to celebrate my birthday. Very happy. Next time I might try to add coffee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lcrall January 22, 2012

Like a lot of people, I put milk instead if water and they turned out good! But I should have added more sugar because they weren't that sweet, but they were still pretty good(:

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yummyummyfood January 22, 2012

This recipe is really a hero. I've used other recipes but by far this is the best recipe yet. Had to make it for my father's New Year party for his colleagues. It was an instant hit. Even adults can enjoy this very fun sweet treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ayuni.adnan December 30, 2011

I use this recipe everytime I bake for the kids' school occasion, always turns out great and many parents have asked for the recipe. If baking it for the family I use milk instead of water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorka October 26, 2011

Really great and easy. Added a tad more cocoa powder and about a half a cup chocolate chips . Moist and great with cream cheese frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samikeeley October 19, 2011

Good, moist, chocolatey, super easy cupcake. Not amazing - it kind of tasted like it was missing richness - but good. I used milk instead of water based on reviews. Used apple cider vinegar. I had to bake for 25 minutes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 09, 2011

These are DELICIOUS and SO easy to make!!! Awesome recipe! I filled and topped some of mine with homemade cream cheese icing and the rest with homemade caramel icing. They are an absolute hit! I wasn't sure about the no eggs thing, but they really turned out great! This one is going in the recipe box! I changed nothing except for the cook time. My nose told me they were done at about 15 minutes, so I pulled em and they were perfect. Definitely would've burned by the recommended 20 minute mark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shannonkjames September 18, 2011
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes