204 Reviews

Perfect texture! Full of chocolatey goodness. This will now be my go-to recipe for chocolate cupcakes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jshorton September 02, 2012

These are the best chocolate cupcakes I've ever made, and I bake a ton! So delicious, moist, flavorful and not too sweet at all. I was skeptical when I noticed no eggs in the ingredients, but the vinegar really did something amazing to this. I also substituted milk for the water, and I think it made them richer and creamier, so good! I made a vanilla buttercream frosting for these and my husband said these cupcakes were the best he's ever had! He had a craving for cupcakes, so I indulged him and I'm so glad they came out better than expected! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlainaF August 23, 2012

I was really excited about making these cupcakes. They had gotten great reviews and looked delicious. However, although I followed all the directions exactly, used the right ingrediants and the precise amounts, they came out of the oven dry, inconsistent and bland. The odd thing was, the batter tasted fine, and they were in the oven for the asked time. Do not use this recipe! A real disapointment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoolLikeThat August 18, 2012

Super easy but turn out fantastic. This will be my go to recipe for chocolate cupcakes from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kerynww August 17, 2012

I agree these cupcakes were easy to make and were very moist! Exactly how we like them! I couldn't believe they had no eggs, but they were great! I did switch the oil for apple sauce for less fat and they were still amazing! Keeping this recipe for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suthernmama August 12, 2012

This recipe reminded me of on my mom used to make when I was a kid. My boyfriend requested chocolate coconut so I made a few changes. 1/4 cup Oil, 1 cup Coconut milk, 1/2 cup of coffee ( I added a little more coffee because the coconut milk was very thick and the batter wasn't as thin as it needed to be). The result was a rich moist chocolatey cupcake with just a hint of coconut, which I then frosted with a coconut icing and topped with shredded coconut as well. It got rave reviews and they were gone in a flash. Thanks for an amazing recipie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vivid Dreams June 06, 2012

Well, these are fantastic! Moist and very rich. I plan on putting raspberry icing on top. I'm going to replace the chocolate cupcake recipe i've been using with this one!
Also, I substituted the water for milk, as others suggested. I dont know how much that contributed to their being delicious, but unless i'm making these for vegans, i'm going to use the milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corelila May 15, 2012

Very nice! Like other reviewers, I was skeptical about the no eggs. I added the vinegar at the last second, hoping that it would mix with the baking soda and turn into a nice rise. It did! The first time I used the amount of sugar specified. I topped it with a seriously-sweet raspberry icing. The 2nd time I added about 1/4 cup more sugar because I was using a low-sugar icing. Turned out great! Definitely a keeper - thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Riaketty April 28, 2012

I've used this recipe twice now. First time I stuck to the recipe, although I was hesitant at using both the salt and vinegar. The first batch had a funny after-taste, which I figured was the vinegar. So for the second batch, I missed out the salt and vinegar and replaced it with 1 tbsp of coffee (just took a tbsp out of a black coffee I had made for my fiance!)....this produced mush better results! The texture of the cupcakes (both times) were very moist, like something you can buy at the coffee shops, so now after making my own changes, I'm very happy. Thanks for the recipe. I also used "Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing" recipe from food.com to frost....very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LouE April 14, 2012
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes