194 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

FANTASTIC. I bake quite often and been searching for the perfect choclate cupcake recipe to bake for my daughter. My search is over, although I did take the suggestions of the other members and substituted milk in place of the water. YUMMY!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fran #2 November 27, 2012

WOW ! I love these , i haven't baked for a couple of years now, and after baking these im amazed! They were moist, chocolatey and delicious. I dont eat cupcakes but these i absolutely LOVED these <3
I didn't have any vinegar, i used milk instead of water, i added a bit more v. essence and milk and cocoa to what the recipe suggested. I made up a filling and a frosting and man was it sweet, i love sweets and thought id share them. My friends nd family LOVED LOVED LOVED them Next time , i'm doubling the mixture and possibly adding choc. chips or a choc. nughart bar on top ;D
Thaanks a million ;) xx'

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vintage_Youth November 25, 2012

The PERFECT cake! Let me first say I followed the directions exactly, using the directions for a layer cake (one layer so I could try out the exact recipe--no doubling). I didn't substitute anything. I didn't change the temperature or the bake time. I may have stirred the dry ingredients together before adding the wet ones, but that's it.

The resulting cake was dense and soft. The chocolate flavor was dark, but not overpowering (I abhor dark chocolate, so keep that in mind). The pan I greased well with enough flour came out of the pan easily. It had some crumble to it, but not much. There were a few large chunks on the plate when I was done eating my piece (no frosting).

The is cake is just about as purely wonderful as it can get, and mostly on its way to being vegan (depending on the brand of sugar you buy, for example) if you have friends you'd like to consider. And, the absence of egg means you could eat the batter with a spoon if you wanted to.

If you haven't guessed, I love love love this cake. Follow the directions. Don't skip anything. And enjoy this super simple recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bearsquared November 16, 2012

This wasn't a cupcake. I just made these and was so disappointed. If I wanted a brownie, I would have made brownies...Don't make these if you want light and fluffy brownies.
I should have listened to all the other negative reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTadlock October 31, 2012

The kids and I had a sudden craving for cupcakes while watching Cupcake Wars, and I quickly found this recipe. With such basic ingredients, this is a fabulous, easy go to chocolate cake recipe. What I was even more thrilled about was the fact that these are entirely vegan, and not even on purpose! I will definitely be making these again, and will try a little extra cocoa powder next time. I actually registered to this site just to rate these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof3Cookies October 14, 2012

These cupcakes were mediocre at most. I didn't think they were all that chocolatey. I replaced the water with milk. It tastes like they're missing something

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melbop October 13, 2012

These were horrible. I made them because my son has an egg allergy, but they had way too much salt- 1 tspn, should be about 1/4 tspn. The texture was so-so and the flavor was just too salty and not really sweet enough for a 4 year old to like (or a 35 yr old for that matter :) I would not recommend this without some serious tweaking. Unless you are on some special diet, a little milk, butter and eggs can make a HUGE difference. I threw these away!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
senrei76 October 03, 2012

I may have screwed up by using apple cider vinegar instead of the plain vinegar, but that's all I had on hand. I also used milk instead of water. I loved the texture, it was light and springy. They tasted really good with chocolate butter cream frosting. Although, without it, they weren't sweet and had a vinegar/baking soda taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyndee911 September 07, 2012

I don't know why this recipe works with no eggs, but it does!!!! I made these and they turned out so soft and so moist!!!!! They are fabulous!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdorminey_12805446 September 07, 2012

Perfect texture! Full of chocolatey goodness. This will now be my go-to recipe for chocolate cupcakes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jshorton September 02, 2012
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes