194 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the easiest cupcake recipe I have ever tried. They are so delicious and moist! I used fluffy vanilla icing for the topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakinggal21 March 20, 2013

Didn't like these at all, unfortunately. They didn't rise in the middle (my son said they looked like they had bellybuttons). The flavor was also really odd... like they were burnt on top, and they weren't very chocolaty. I did like that they weren't sickeningly sweet and they were nice and soft in the middle, though. I made them as directed, so I'm not really sure what happened. They got mostly good reviews, I'm kind of surprised they didn't turn out! Sorry I couldn't offer more positive feedback. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrebleClef February 19, 2013

Great recipe and very easy and quick. They turned out really moist and chocolatey and rich. They were not crumbly at all as some others have stated. I did make some substitutions. Instead of 1 cup of water, I used a little more than half a cup of cream and a little more than half a cup of brewed coffee. I added the liquid until the batter was creamy and smooth, but not runny. I used half granulated sugar and half brown sugar. I prefer the rich taste of brown sugar to the taste of white sugar (just a personal preference). I also added dark chocolate chips. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
devosun February 19, 2013

The cupcakes were just OK nothing special. I had to add milk to make it thiner, it was very thick. Tastes kinda like a brownie in my opinon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Briannakeesler40 February 11, 2013

These cupcakes were absolutely delicious!! I followed the instructions with no substitutions, and added just a drop of peppermint extract (we are nuts for mint chocolate in this house). Made them with my 4 year old, and love that she could lick the beater! Paired with cream cheese icing, they disappeared in a day!! This is now my go-to chocolate cake recipe. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosybeanface February 05, 2013

I followed the recipe fairly closely. What I was nervous about was the lack of eggs. I chickened out and added an egg anyway. The batter looked a little light brown for a chocolate cupcake so I added some more cocoa. The cake texture and flavor was wonderful. Perfect for any novice baker or cupcake lover in a bind.
I may make another batch without the egg.

A note to those who were complaining about their cake not rising. Be sure that your baking soda is in date and fresh (by that I mean hasn't been opened for 30 days or more) The baking soda is what makes the cake rise. If you have old inactive baking soda, you have nothing to help your cake rise. Also, I've noticed with other recipes, that WHEN you add ingredients really does matter. I added the vinegar last and quickly filled cupcake liners for baking so that the baking soda and vinegar didn't go flat. And as always, DO NOT OVER MIX. This is the biggest sin I've seen new bakers commit. It's not a box mix, it's not fool proof. You have to know when to tell yourself enough is enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haute_Mama January 29, 2013

Very good recipe. I used water, like recipe called for. Added some dark chocolate chips. The kids were eating them before I frosted them!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluebutterflyz January 19, 2013

I really do like them. And they're not too sweet. They were fantastic and pretty easy to make. We used a mini cupcake pan and baked them 12 minutes. Will make them again for my daughter's birthday party coming up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amyyenho December 31, 2012

These were the best cupcakes! I made 3 changes in recipe, one change was an accident. I actually forgot the vinegar, will use it next time, but they were great without it. I didn't use water, instead I used one cup of fresh brewed vanilla coffee. I usually do this with all my chocolate cake recipes, just something my mom always did. I would use milk for more of a milk chocolate flavor. And lastly, as suggested, I added a handful of chocolate chips in the batter! Yummy! No real need for frosting, they were rich, moist, sweet...so I sprinkled powdered sugar on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Czaplickin December 31, 2012

Bland. Cardboard. A waste of cocoa powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeliCooks November 29, 2012
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes