Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    190 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 190

    Sort by:

    • on July 15, 2012

    • on June 06, 2012

      This recipe reminded me of on my mom used to make when I was a kid. My boyfriend requested chocolate coconut so I made a few changes. 1/4 cup Oil, 1 cup Coconut milk, 1/2 cup of coffee ( I added a little more coffee because the coconut milk was very thick and the batter wasn't as thin as it needed to be). The result was a rich moist chocolatey cupcake with just a hint of coconut, which I then frosted with a coconut icing and topped with shredded coconut as well. It got rave reviews and they were gone in a flash. Thanks for an amazing recipie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Well, these are fantastic! Moist and very rich. I plan on putting raspberry icing on top. I'm going to replace the chocolate cupcake recipe i've been using with this one!
      Also, I substituted the water for milk, as others suggested. I dont know how much that contributed to their being delicious, but unless i'm making these for vegans, i'm going to use the milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Very nice! Like other reviewers, I was skeptical about the no eggs. I added the vinegar at the last second, hoping that it would mix with the baking soda and turn into a nice rise. It did! The first time I used the amount of sugar specified. I topped it with a seriously-sweet raspberry icing. The 2nd time I added about 1/4 cup more sugar because I was using a low-sugar icing. Turned out great! Definitely a keeper - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      I've used this recipe twice now. First time I stuck to the recipe, although I was hesitant at using both the salt and vinegar. The first batch had a funny after-taste, which I figured was the vinegar. So for the second batch, I missed out the salt and vinegar and replaced it with 1 tbsp of coffee (just took a tbsp out of a black coffee I had made for my fiance!)....this produced mush better results! The texture of the cupcakes (both times) were very moist, like something you can buy at the coffee shops, so now after making my own changes, I'm very happy. Thanks for the recipe. I also used "Kittencal's Chocolate Frosting/Icing" recipe from food.com to frost....very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      These were so yummy! I also used milk instead of water. Just sounded like a good idea. The cake is so moist and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This recipe is soooo yummy! I had to add more coco powder and sugar ( and chocolate chips) to make it to my liking, but overall they were super moist super rich. I put a homemade marshmallow frosting on top and it made it even more tasty. The only issue I had was that they kind of stuck to the liners other than that i'm definitely making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      I absolutely loved this! I made my first ever batch of cupcakes yesterday using this recipe, and they turned out divine. Easy peasy, super simple to follow, and really good. I love how storing them in the fridge didn't harden them and the family even agreed they tasted better after pulling them out of the fridge. I used a simple butter icing and they were a match made in heaven. Definitely a must-try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I substituted sweet potatoes for the oil. 1:1 and used low fat milk instead of water. I mixed the wet and dry ingredients separately and added the vinegar last, wasn't sure how it would react to the milk. Baked 15 minutes in silicone cups. Frosted with a cream cheese frosting and they turned out super moist, rich and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      This is an awesome recipe :) i made minor changes (1 1/4 cup sugar, 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, and replacing the water for milk :P) does anyone know why mine would be over done at 19 minutes??? i made sure the temperature was correct, and when i did my second batch, 15 min. 30 sec. was perfect :) and ideas???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Great easy recipe! Good because there was no need for eggs and I had everything required in my fridge/pantry already. I took the advice of others and used milk instead of water added a bit more sugar and cocoa and the recipe came out perfect. Was looking for a good easy chocolate cupcake recipe for my mini cupcakes to celebrate my birthday. Very happy. Next time I might try to add coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Like a lot of people, I put milk instead if water and they turned out good! But I should have added more sugar because they weren't that sweet, but they were still pretty good(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This recipe is really a hero. I've used other recipes but by far this is the best recipe yet. Had to make it for my father's New Year party for his colleagues. It was an instant hit. Even adults can enjoy this very fun sweet treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      I use this recipe everytime I bake for the kids' school occasion, always turns out great and many parents have asked for the recipe. If baking it for the family I use milk instead of water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      Really great and easy. Added a tad more cocoa powder and about a half a cup chocolate chips . Moist and great with cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Good, moist, chocolatey, super easy cupcake. Not amazing - it kind of tasted like it was missing richness - but good. I used milk instead of water based on reviews. Used apple cider vinegar. I had to bake for 25 minutes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      These are DELICIOUS and SO easy to make!!! Awesome recipe! I filled and topped some of mine with homemade cream cheese icing and the rest with homemade caramel icing. They are an absolute hit! I wasn't sure about the no eggs thing, but they really turned out great! This one is going in the recipe box! I changed nothing except for the cook time. My nose told me they were done at about 15 minutes, so I pulled em and they were perfect. Definitely would've burned by the recommended 20 minute mark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic recipe. It's so easy and I get many compliments on it. I have used it for cupcakes, sheet pan and layer cakes. Always comes out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Ridiculously good! I added a small amount of chocolate chips just for fun, and I used coconut oil for the oil. These don't even *need* frosting. So moist and yummy! This is going to be my standard chocolate cupcake. By the way, I love that the raw batter is safe to consume - it was fun to let my son (birthday boy) lick the bowl without worrying about salmonella :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    41%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites