202 Reviews

I absolutely love this recipe! I have used it at least 4 times now (as cupcakes and cakes) and it has turned out perfectly each time. I have altered the original recipe slightly per other reviewers suggestions and my own preferences: I up the cocoa powder to about 1/2 cup, add just a bit more sugar, sub the water for milk, add about half teaspoon more vanilla extract, and about a half teaspoon more baking soda. Each batch has turned out moist, fluffy, and has a delicious chocolaty flavor. Part of my reason for writing this review is to also, hopefully, have a question answered regarding this recipe. I have scoured the internet looking for a great vanilla/yellow cake recipe and have not had any success. Can anyone tell me if this recipe will also work as a good vanilla cake minus the cocoa powder? I am a relatively new baker and didn't know if this was possible as I am trying to do a marble cake for my daughters upcoming birthday. Thanks a bunch in advance for any help!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer C. July 09, 2014

LOVE THESE!! And so does my husband, I added 1/2 cup cocoa after the first try for a bit more chocolate flavor, baked in oblong pan, nice size for the two of us, chocolate buttercream frosting.. I have made this 4 times in the last two weeks!! My husband's new favorite dessert! Thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqui S. April 05, 2014

I love the original recipe the way it is. My fiancée on the other hand, not so much. I love the way the original recipe is airy and light. I had to change it up a bit to get my chocoholic fiancée to love it. I changed the water to milk, and I also added 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and added 1/3 cup more of the cocoa powder. I thought they were a little too dense, but chocoholic over here loved them. Just something to think about.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kindeyes1802 March 13, 2014

These are awesome. Mother Hubbard's cupboards are very bare so I had just enough milk and cream to make 1/2 cup and I made the other 1/2 cup water and they still turned out very moist. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Conductorcyn February 28, 2014

Moist and chocolatey! This recipe made exactly 12 cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 08, 2014

I made these exactly as the recipe stated. The taste of them was good. However I found the tops of them got a bit dry. If I make these again I will try to use the milk instead of water like the other reviews suggest..maybe that will help some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joann January 29, 2014

These were good, but the best part is the ease of preparation. I'll be honest, they didn't blow me away, but they were easy enough to put together and the ingredients are all stock items so I am happy and they served their purpose. I would make these again because of the simple ingredients, time involved and such. Thanks for sharing !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva December 19, 2013

Easy to throw together, with standard pantry items, and results in a moist, light, fluffy cupcake with full chocolate flavor. Tics all the boxes for me! Thank you for offering this wonderful recipe which is sure to be used often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full November 18, 2013

yummy. I made it with Bob's Red Mill AP gluten free flour, good results. Used my left over coffee instead of the water. Light texture, not too sweet, very easy to do.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlic Gnome October 26, 2013

Goes so well with my cream cheese frosting! I used milk instead of sugar and added choco chips. Mine were perfect. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jelsiao18 October 12, 2013
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes