Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    190 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 190

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2014

      I love the original recipe the way it is. My fiancée on the other hand, not so much. I love the way the original recipe is airy and light. I had to change it up a bit to get my chocoholic fiancée to love it. I changed the water to milk, and I also added 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and added 1/3 cup more of the cocoa powder. I thought they were a little too dense, but chocoholic over here loved them. Just something to think about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      These are awesome. Mother Hubbard's cupboards are very bare so I had just enough milk and cream to make 1/2 cup and I made the other 1/2 cup water and they still turned out very moist. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      Moist and chocolatey! This recipe made exactly 12 cupcakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I made these exactly as the recipe stated. The taste of them was good. However I found the tops of them got a bit dry. If I make these again I will try to use the milk instead of water like the other reviews suggest..maybe that will help some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2013

      These were good, but the best part is the ease of preparation. I'll be honest, they didn't blow me away, but they were easy enough to put together and the ingredients are all stock items so I am happy and they served their purpose. I would make these again because of the simple ingredients, time involved and such. Thanks for sharing !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      Easy to throw together, with standard pantry items, and results in a moist, light, fluffy cupcake with full chocolate flavor. Tics all the boxes for me! Thank you for offering this wonderful recipe which is sure to be used often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      yummy. I made it with Bob's Red Mill AP gluten free flour, good results. Used my left over coffee instead of the water. Light texture, not too sweet, very easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      Goes so well with my cream cheese frosting! I used milk instead of sugar and added choco chips. Mine were perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I made these for my boyfriend and his friends, and needless to say they were gone in 2 seconds! I keep getting asked for the recipe that I used to make them, and they all want me to bake more. Such a big hit! I was a little hesitant when I saw that vinegar was one of the ingredients, but it made sense when I was baking. The cupcakes rose very well and barely stuck to the paper liner when taken off. I didn't switch out milk for water, and they were still very moist; barely crumbly and a very nice texture. I would recommend these to anyone- they are now my go-to cupcakes! I used a mint frosting and it worked out very nicely. Thanks for the awesome recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      I know, it tastes terrible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      This recipe was terrible. I made it twice just in case I did something wrong and it still came out terrible.<br/>I threw out the batches I made and scratched it all together. <br/>Two thumbs down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Wow! what an incredibly easy recipe, made them with my grand daughter. I did the milk instead of water thing too, added a few mini chocolate chips. I was a bit puzzled over the no eggs factor as well, but I remembered my mom had a chocolate cake recipe like this we used often, the vinegar reacts with the soda and makes a very even rise. I think its a depression era recipe, no eggs no milk. And you really don't need any icing. delicious and oh so moist all on there own.....I couldn't resist eating one, diet be damned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Used this recipe when i made cupcakes for a baby shower :) Very rich and moist, and I appreciate that these are egg less. A lot of the guests at the shower appreciated it as well. Very easy to make as well. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Just made these;<br/><br/>added 1/2 cup of chocolate chip morsels<br/><br/>baked them at 325 vise 350 <br/><br/>pulled them out when a knife stuck in them came out clean. <br/><br/>they were fantastic. Love the no milk recipe as my sister is going lactose-free and needed a recipe that would give full flavor and this one is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Excellent, simple cupcakes! I see this recipe floating around a lot online and I am so glad I tried it. I am making more today and going to add a scoop of cheeaecake filling.in the center. Mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      These were a hit! I loved the texture, they did not crumble as others noted and they passed the hubby test. I did use whole milk in place of water but am excited to have a recipe that doesn't require dairy. I'm looking forward to experimenting with this recipe and altering for my gluten/dairy free friends!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      This is the easiest cupcake recipe I have ever tried. They are so delicious and moist! I used fluffy vanilla icing for the topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Didn't like these at all, unfortunately. They didn't rise in the middle (my son said they looked like they had bellybuttons). The flavor was also really odd... like they were burnt on top, and they weren't very chocolaty. I did like that they weren't sickeningly sweet and they were nice and soft in the middle, though. I made them as directed, so I'm not really sure what happened. They got mostly good reviews, I'm kind of surprised they didn't turn out! Sorry I couldn't offer more positive feedback. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Great recipe and very easy and quick. They turned out really moist and chocolatey and rich. They were not crumbly at all as some others have stated. I did make some substitutions. Instead of 1 cup of water, I used a little more than half a cup of cream and a little more than half a cup of brewed coffee. I added the liquid until the batter was creamy and smooth, but not runny. I used half granulated sugar and half brown sugar. I prefer the rich taste of brown sugar to the taste of white sugar (just a personal preference). I also added dark chocolate chips. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      The cupcakes were just OK nothing special. I had to add milk to make it thiner, it was very thick. Tastes kinda like a brownie in my opinon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    41%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites