Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    192 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 192

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2010

      These cupcakes were the richest, moistest (is that a word?), and the most chocolaty cupcakes I have ever made from scratch :) At first, I was a little hesitant about the "no eggs" factor, as well as using the vinegar, but they came out perfect! I added a touch more cocoa and maybe a 1/4-1/3 cup more sugar (there were no raw eggs in the recipe, so I was able to really taste the batter and adjust it to my liking)...Also, I added 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and boy, do they add to the moistness of the cupcakes :) Next time, I will try this as a full layer cake with a cream cheese frosting :D Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      These cupcakes were great, and very simple to make! I did replace the water with milk, but only because a couple of reviewers suggested it. Usually, recipes taste better with milk instead of water, but I'm sure they would have been fine either way. Thanks for posting, I loved them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      A nice, spongey cupcake. I will use milk next time--and maybe chocolate chips!--for a richer cupcake. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      These cupcakes were amazing! Like other reviewers, I added a tad more cocoa powder and used milk instead of water. I also added a tablespoon of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the batter to add some spice. They were rich and incredibly delicious. I didn't even have a chance to frost them cause they were eaten before I could whip up some frosting! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      It did not turn out well. I am not sure what went wrong... Will stick to traditional butter n egg recipes in future...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Great if you like cardboard. I'm not sure what went wrong. After reading all the reviews, I was excited about making these. They did not rise in the middle, even after baking them for 25 minutes. They were crispy on the outside and bland on the inside. They were very easy to mix together, but not worth the 10 minutes of prep time. If you choose to bake these, I hope you have a better result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      perfect! Next time I'll try usig milk instead of water for a richer cupcake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Oh so easy, made these with my 4 yr old. Didn't change anything. Cooked in silcone muffin tray with no papers, when I pulled them out they were a bit crumbly but not a dry crumbly, nice and moist. So I might try using papers next time. I used Not Too Sweet Chocolate Frosting to frost them. It would cover 2 batches I'd say.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I'm so glad I came across this eggless recipe. You saved me a trip to the store and left me with a tasty and rich cupcake. I love that all I had to do was throw everything in the bowl and mix. Couldn't have been easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Wow! I was a little worried about these because of the no egg and the fact that some reviewers said that the cakes were crumbly. I found that they rose well, and were just the right about of fluffy and moist - the cupcake wrappers came off well without sticking too much too. Like other reviewers, I swapped the water for milk (skimmed) and instead of the vanilla I used orange flavoring because I wanted chocolate orange cupcakes. Topped them with a light orange buttercream and made them for a party. Had loads of compliments! I might try a mint flavoring next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      My husband had a good description for these cupcakes, "benign". They weren't bad, and they weren't great, they were good. Nothing out of the ordinary, a good result for a quick and easy recipe. Nothing I would be proud of, but okay overall.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      I just made these this morning. The recipe is probably the easiest scratch recipe I've tried. I did however, separate the wet and dry ingredients. I substituted buttermilk for the water and vinegar (for those of you subbing milk for water and adding vinegar, you are basically making buttermilk). I also added a half a cup of semi sweet morsels (which was all I had on hand). The cupcake was very moist. I did find it crumbly, but not in a bad way. They were good cupcakes. I am going to make another batch this afternoon and I will probably add some cocoa and use milk chocolate chips instead. I'll let you know how it turns out. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Pretty simple to make, which is good for me because I'm not much of a baker. Made these for Father's Day....added a tad bit more sugar, and chocolate chips after reading reviews.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      Easy enough cupcake recipe, I used a bit of milk after reading other comments. The cupcakes look nice and taste great, but they were very crumbly, as in upon cutting into them, there was almost a hollowness that allowed the cupcake to kind of fall apart. Also, I was a little leery at the word "vinegar", as I never had heard of using that ingredient in cupcakes before. However they tasted fine, and not too sweet. I added some chocolate cream cheese frosting and all was well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      This is an amazing cupcake recipe. I don't think it needs any changes for milk - or added chocolate chips. But that's because I thought it was a very nice, light chocolate cake. I'm not a fan of things being overly chocolatey, or overly rich. So if you like a light cake, keep the recipe the same as printed. If you would like it richer, follow some of the users comments to modify it. Either way I'm sure it is absolutely delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Awesome recipe! As some members suggested, I substituted milk for water and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and they came out great! Very moist, very chocolatey, but not too rich. I baked them for 20 minutes and that was perfect. Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      I need a no fail cupcake recipe for my younger daughter's first birthday (at somewhat the last minute I realized it really would kill me for someone else to make her first "birthday cake"). This recipe really was awesome! Moist cake and nicely chocolate-y. I am using the recipe again for a layer cake this weekend for my older daughter's birthday. I used cream instead of the water, but really like how this recipe is so allergy friendly as it is already no dairy and no egg! And so good! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I just finished making 2 dozen of these awesome cupcakes for my daughters dessert party.This was my first time to do a cc from scratch and went and addeded it to my favs. I like to make alterations I like to work with spelt flour so for my 3rd dozen cc (for hubbies birthday) I went and produced awesome spelt choc cc and they too were awesome they took 20 min to bake but all else was normal I choose a buttercream frosting and my daughter decorated them to her desires.Happy and pleased with the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2014

      I was looking for a simple dairy and egg free chocolate cupcake recipe and I'm glad I found this one. These turned out nice and rich. The next time I make them I will tweak the sugar content some because they weren't very sweet, my daughter called them plan. I did use sweetened vanilla coconut milk instead of water and added 2 tsp of vanilla extract. I will definitely make these again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2014

      I made these cupcakes twice over the weekend. I was told that they were the best cupcakes I've ever made. I'm not sure if that means that all of the rest of the cupcakes I've made (and I've made plenty) have been bad, or that these are really great. I'm assuming the latter. :) I was told that they are very moist and chocolaty. They're easily put together and economical too (no butter). I topped them with a chocolate ganache. Thank you for posting this recipe. It'll be made again (not again this weekend though... :) ),

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.2
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    41%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 225.2 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes