195 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cupcakes were the richest, moistest (is that a word?), and the most chocolaty cupcakes I have ever made from scratch :) At first, I was a little hesitant about the "no eggs" factor, as well as using the vinegar, but they came out perfect! I added a touch more cocoa and maybe a 1/4-1/3 cup more sugar (there were no raw eggs in the recipe, so I was able to really taste the batter and adjust it to my liking)...Also, I added 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and boy, do they add to the moistness of the cupcakes :) Next time, I will try this as a full layer cake with a cream cheese frosting :D Thanks for posting this recipe!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lac925 October 27, 2010

These cupcakes were great, and very simple to make! I did replace the water with milk, but only because a couple of reviewers suggested it. Usually, recipes taste better with milk instead of water, but I'm sure they would have been fine either way. Thanks for posting, I loved them!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnaCutone February 11, 2011

A nice, spongey cupcake. I will use milk next time--and maybe chocolate chips!--for a richer cupcake. Thank you for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 December 31, 2010

These cupcakes were amazing! Like other reviewers, I added a tad more cocoa powder and used milk instead of water. I also added a tablespoon of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the batter to add some spice. They were rich and incredibly delicious. I didn't even have a chance to frost them cause they were eaten before I could whip up some frosting! Will make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
college_cook18 February 16, 2012

It did not turn out well. I am not sure what went wrong... Will stick to traditional butter n egg recipes in future...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetgrr October 28, 2011

Great if you like cardboard. I'm not sure what went wrong. After reading all the reviews, I was excited about making these. They did not rise in the middle, even after baking them for 25 minutes. They were crispy on the outside and bland on the inside. They were very easy to mix together, but not worth the 10 minutes of prep time. If you choose to bake these, I hope you have a better result.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
discofroggy October 10, 2011

perfect! Next time I'll try usig milk instead of water for a richer cupcake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u December 11, 2010

Oh so easy, made these with my 4 yr old. Didn't change anything. Cooked in silcone muffin tray with no papers, when I pulled them out they were a bit crumbly but not a dry crumbly, nice and moist. So I might try using papers next time. I used Not Too Sweet Chocolate Frosting to frost them. It would cover 2 batches I'd say.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YnkyGrlDwndr June 15, 2010

I'm so glad I came across this eggless recipe. You saved me a trip to the store and left me with a tasty and rich cupcake. I love that all I had to do was throw everything in the bowl and mix. Couldn't have been easier!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice November 19, 2009

Wow! I was a little worried about these because of the no egg and the fact that some reviewers said that the cakes were crumbly. I found that they rose well, and were just the right about of fluffy and moist - the cupcake wrappers came off well without sticking too much too. Like other reviewers, I swapped the water for milk (skimmed) and instead of the vanilla I used orange flavoring because I wanted chocolate orange cupcakes. Topped them with a light orange buttercream and made them for a party. Had loads of compliments! I might try a mint flavoring next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Learningtocook23 August 13, 2012
Mom's Chocolate Cupcakes