9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This actually is not difficult as it sounds. It was actually pretty easy to make. And very hard to share with the rest of the family. (less for me). I did a bit of salt after simmering the chicken for 90 minutes and I used a little more paprika in the chicken portion. But that is because back at home, we use paprika a lot more, and it is stronger than the paprika here in America. It was fantastic! I highly recommend.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck January 04, 2003

This will be made time & time again in my house!!Everyone loved this, even though my dumplings weren't the best (a lil' undercooked) and didn't soak up alot of sauce. I need to start cooking this a lil' earlier than usual- but I definately won't mind!! Thanks for sharing- made for the French Forum Spice of the Month- paprika.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris March 23, 2010

this has become one of my wife's favorite recipes. I find that I am making it at least twice a month--if not more! Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lord Bezoar February 10, 2009

My Family loves this recipe. We had never had anything like it before i found it on here and decided to try it. Evereyone loves it! Thanks so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chgocandygrl03 September 07, 2008

I will try this recipe.But why would you cook the chicken so long.? I make chicken paprika and I only cook my chicken for about 35 to 40 mins. I simmer my chicken and then after it is tender I take it out of pan and set aside. I then make a gravy. Sour cream flour paprika,and then mix in the broth. I never use water I use chicken broth. It has a better flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grannyd29 February 10, 2010

Amazing, simple, delicious. Will certainly make again. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rkn April 22, 2009

Ok the broth was to die for I added sour cream and celery but I think I over cooked the dumpling because they at first tasted like four than tasted good but not fluffy will try again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy_is_#_1 January 08, 2008

Loved it!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dade838 October 07, 2007

Do not overmix dumpling ingredients...they will turn out dense instead of light and fluffy. My grandmother Svoboda never put paprika in her dumplings, but it doesn't do any harm except make all the colors look the same. Also, my grandmother put in a half cup of cream and a good amount of red pepper (cayenne)...in my humble opinion, these two additions are absolutley essential! Recipe as written needs more salt and paprika...I don't know how much bc my grandmother never measured anything...but season to taste. All in all, this is one of my family's favorite meals of all time. Thanks Karen for writing it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saucy Stockbroker October 24, 2006
Mom's Chicken and Dumplings (Chicken Paprika)