Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Cheesy Potato Casserole Aka Funeral Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Cheesy Potato Casserole Aka Funeral Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      I was wondering if any other cream soup would work instead. I observe kosher laws and can not use cream of chicken soup ( not kosher). Other options would be cream of mushroom, celery, or potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Oh yeah baby!!!!!! You butter grab a couple napkins for this one. Cheesiest, tangiest, moistest pot of potatoes you will ever devour. This one is a for sure at my funeral.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Finally a recipe for funeral potatoes that doesn't use frozen hash browns and too much cream o chicken soup. This turned out great! Cheesy, tangy, moist. Perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      I don't like cheese... so I can't speak for myself. But 3/4 kids liked it and that's good. I cut the butter and sour cream in half. Thanks for the recipe... I volunteered to bring them to a funeral dinner... hopefully they like them too.<br/><br/>By the way for those who don't know and have seen some Utah and LDS references in these recipes and reviews... It's an LDS (short acronym for Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) tradition to provide a meal for the extended family of someone who has died after the funeral service. So if there is a large family (sometimes 70-100), there might be 25 women participating in the meal. Today, I'm one of 5 bringing funeral potatoes. Depending on the local congregation, funeral potatoes may be on the menu, as they have been for years in ours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Great versatile recipe! Hubby laughed when I told him I was trying out a 'funeral potatoes' recipe. He'd never heard the term. He's not laughing now, though; too busy asking for more! This one isgoing in my Favorites! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      This was great! I'm a Utah transplant and every time I brought au gratin potatoes to a potluck people would say, "who brought the funeral potatoes?" so I decided to embark on a search for the real thing. Toss the au gratin out the window, there were delicious everyone at Easter brunch went back for seconds. I did think it was a little wet, I might try using half the sour cream next time. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. I have been looking for it for a long time and I know it is the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      They were yummy! These will be a great standby side dish. I used left over baked potatoes and that worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Cheesy Potato Casserole Aka Funeral Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.2
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    61%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 59.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 409.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes