Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Buttery Apple Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Buttery Apple Cake

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2013

      I made this in the early morning. The plan was to serve it later, after dinner. The house smelled so good and it looked so scrumptious when it came out of the over, that it became breakfast! We ate half the cake in one sitting, with lots of coffee. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Boy was this delicious! So easy to make, and we loved every bite. The spice mix was particularly delicious. I used gluten free cake flour mix (1 part brown rice flour, 1 part millet flour, 1 part potato starch) and reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup because we are used to very low sweetness LOL It was absolutely fantastic, and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing this gem!<br/>Made for ZWT 9 / Family Picks (Scandinavia) for The Apron String Travelers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      OMG! This is soo good! I do not like fruit that has been cooked such as pie or cobbler but this was amazing. I think I liked this because it is cake based. This is a easy, quick dessert if you decide to have guests over at the last minute. Serve it with fresh whip cream and your guests will go home with fond memories! Made for ZWT9 for the Gourmet Goddesses July 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      First I must say, I am not much of a baker, so I was a bit worried about this recipe. But after reading all the wonderful reviews and seeing the yummy pictures, I decided to make this cake for our Thanksgiving dessert table (along with another of Pammy's delicious desserts). I'm certainly glad I did. I'm happy this was a cake, and not a pie (I cannot make pie crusts). This was the 2nd of our desserts to go (right behind Pammy's Deluxe Lemon Bars, which were gone before dinner). The pumpkin pie and brownies that others had brought over were hardly touched! I will definitely be making this again. Made in memory of my dear friend. You are truly missed, Pammy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      So easy, and I am not the greatest baker, but this worked perfectly, thank you Pammy, looks good, smells great, tastes fab!!! Lovely recipe, made in loving memory of a dear friend, never forgotten, Pammy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      A cold blustery day outside but I'm inside with a hot cup of tea and a slice of this moist, buttery, totally scrumptious cake. I'm no baker but this is easy to make and oh so good!<br/>Made in honour of Pammyowl. RIP my dear. Your recipe will be a family favourite from here on in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      Made this cake lastnight and it was VERY delicious! a wonderful breakfast treat! I ate this right out of the oven with butter and just enjoyed it immensely! The apples helped give this cake a delicious moisture and texture. I will be holding on to this recipe to make again. Grpa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      What a buttery apply delight! Was planning to serve this with a dab of whipped cream for our lunch dessert but it smelled so good that we ended up eating it for breakfast. I can see what this is one of your family's favorites and is now one of ours as well. Rest in peace my dear friend, will remember you every time we enjoy this wonderful snack cake. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Wow this was fabulous. Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have any zest so I just added a splash of lemon juice. Other than that, made exactly to direction and wouldn't change a thing. We tried putting frosting on a slice, but honestly I think it detracted from the wonderful texture and flavor of the cake. Perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      This is just wonderful! It's a very moist cake.....it reminds me of bread pudding! I was worried it was going to overflow in my oven so I placed it on a foil-lined pizza pan but i didn't have to bother, nothing ran over. My only problem was getting it out of the pan.......I had to run a knife along the edges and tap the bottom of the pan. A piece still stuck to the bottom but I was able to mold it back in place. I used cooking spray to grease the pan instead of butter so that may have been the problem. Thanks for posting! Make for Newest Zaar Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      DH's comment when I told him I was making an "Apple CAKE" was you must mean pie! But when he tasted this he said - Cake is good from now on. This turned out so nice and moist and the whole house smelled great while it was baking. I did do a few minor changes. For one, I could only find granny smith apples so used those, then added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of both nutmeg and ground gloves. I just thought it would add to the fall flavors. Then instead of a 9" round pan, used to small 6" ones so that I could make one for our house and send one to a friends. Topped w/whip cream before serving. Yummy good. Made for Newest Zaar Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Buttery Apple Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (1071 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2390.0
     
    Calories from Fat 968
    40%
    Total Fat 107.5 g
    165%
    Saturated Fat 63.2 g
    316%
    Cholesterol 782.0 mg
    260%
    Sodium 1516.6 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 343.9 g
    114%
    Dietary Fiber 17.0 g
    68%
    Sugars 257.8 g
    1031%
    Protein 26.1 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes