11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this in the early morning. The plan was to serve it later, after dinner. The house smelled so good and it looked so scrumptious when it came out of the over, that it became breakfast! We ate half the cake in one sitting, with lots of coffee. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover August 02, 2013

Boy was this delicious! So easy to make, and we loved every bite. The spice mix was particularly delicious. I used gluten free cake flour mix (1 part brown rice flour, 1 part millet flour, 1 part potato starch) and reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup because we are used to very low sweetness LOL It was absolutely fantastic, and I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing this gem!<br/>Made for ZWT 9 / Family Picks (Scandinavia) for The Apron String Travelers

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 04, 2013

OMG! This is soo good! I do not like fruit that has been cooked such as pie or cobbler but this was amazing. I think I liked this because it is cake based. This is a easy, quick dessert if you decide to have guests over at the last minute. Serve it with fresh whip cream and your guests will go home with fond memories! Made for ZWT9 for the Gourmet Goddesses July 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz August 10, 2013

First I must say, I am not much of a baker, so I was a bit worried about this recipe. But after reading all the wonderful reviews and seeing the yummy pictures, I decided to make this cake for our Thanksgiving dessert table (along with another of Pammy's delicious desserts). I'm certainly glad I did. I'm happy this was a cake, and not a pie (I cannot make pie crusts). This was the 2nd of our desserts to go (right behind Pammy's Deluxe Lemon Bars, which were gone before dinner). The pumpkin pie and brownies that others had brought over were hardly touched! I will definitely be making this again. Made in memory of my dear friend. You are truly missed, Pammy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 November 30, 2013

So easy, and I am not the greatest baker, but this worked perfectly, thank you Pammy, looks good, smells great, tastes fab!!! Lovely recipe, made in loving memory of a dear friend, never forgotten, Pammy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth November 18, 2013

A cold blustery day outside but I'm inside with a hot cup of tea and a slice of this moist, buttery, totally scrumptious cake. I'm no baker but this is easy to make and oh so good!<br/>Made in honour of Pammyowl. RIP my dear. Your recipe will be a family favourite from here on in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned November 12, 2013

Made this cake lastnight and it was VERY delicious! a wonderful breakfast treat! I ate this right out of the oven with butter and just enjoyed it immensely! The apples helped give this cake a delicious moisture and texture. I will be holding on to this recipe to make again. Grpa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA November 11, 2013

What a buttery apply delight! Was planning to serve this with a dab of whipped cream for our lunch dessert but it smelled so good that we ended up eating it for breakfast. I can see what this is one of your family's favorites and is now one of ours as well. Rest in peace my dear friend, will remember you every time we enjoy this wonderful snack cake. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 09, 2013

Wow this was fabulous. Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have any zest so I just added a splash of lemon juice. Other than that, made exactly to direction and wouldn't change a thing. We tried putting frosting on a slice, but honestly I think it detracted from the wonderful texture and flavor of the cake. Perfect as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast October 15, 2013

This is just wonderful! It's a very moist cake.....it reminds me of bread pudding! I was worried it was going to overflow in my oven so I placed it on a foil-lined pizza pan but i didn't have to bother, nothing ran over. My only problem was getting it out of the pan.......I had to run a knife along the edges and tap the bottom of the pan. A piece still stuck to the bottom but I was able to mold it back in place. I used cooking spray to grease the pan instead of butter so that may have been the problem. Thanks for posting! Make for Newest Zaar Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa December 13, 2012
Mom's Buttery Apple Cake