10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These biscuits came out tall, light and fluffy. However, I think it needs like 1 tablespoon or so of sugar because the taste is missing something. The other thing is that the temperature is too high. I only baked mine for 12 minutes but they came out on the burnt side. The next time, I will bake them at 375. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 16, 2009

First time I have had biscuits come out that I could eat and not have to give to the dogs! The recipe could not have been easier! I submitted a pic of my results and although they may not look beautiful they taste great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R. Paradon January 16, 2013

I was making breakfast for our dinner on 5/6/09, and wanted to make some biscuits. So, did a search, and decided to try this recipe. And I'm so very glad I did :).As with all biscuit recipes, I always double sift the dry ingredients. To me, it seems to make the biscuits rise much higher than if you just stirred the dry ingredients. After adding the shortening, I used my fingers to blend it into the flour ( That's the way I was taught to do it ).After adding the buttermilk and mixing in, I did have to add in a bit more flour to get everything into a soft ball. As I always do, the dough was patted out instead of rolled. I think it makes for a much softer finished product.For my oven, the baking time and temp. was " right on the money " . The taste was light, airy, and just melted in your mouth.And I have to tell you, " this biscuit recipe was " WAY BETTER " than my Mom's ". This " WILL " be made again. Thank you so much for posting and " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 07, 2009

Awesome recipe! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeremy A May 20, 2013

Oooh, delicious and fluffy biscuits! Instead of shortening, I substituted half butter and half lard. Easy to make and oh so good with honey! Thanks! cg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 01, 2009

I made these for my DH this morning for breakfast and he loved them! I served with country gravy and veggie sausage. Thanks Julie! Made for Please Review My Recipe game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 29, 2008

I had my husband make these last night, they were so good. I ate one for breakfast this morning with jelly, (my favorite breakfast). I hate to roll out the dough so my husband makes the biscuits. Very easy and yummy recipe thanks puppitypup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z September 18, 2007

I've never had luck with biscuits before I made these. But these just rose and rose! The texture and flavor is wonderful. I used butter flavored crisco. You've made me so happy puppitypup, now I can have biscuits any time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moor Driver April 08, 2007

These are really nice biscuits, they were very quick and easy to make with great results. A tall, crispy, tender biscuit, with nice flavour. We enjoyed these very much. I can't wait to have these toasted tomorrow with ginger marmalade and sharp cheddar for breakfast. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato March 01, 2007
Mom's Buttermilk Biscuits