Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Buns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Buns

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2013

      made half recipe and got 18 large, soft, flavorful, beautiful rolls. ( See my photo ). I usually use a bread machine to prepare yeast rolls but these were definately worth the work. Dough was very easy to handle and very smooth. A wonderful addition to our Christmas dinner !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This is not the recipe for you if you need rolls in a hurry,but it really is well worth every minute that is spent making them.Let's face it,most of the time is spent waiting for dough to rise,rather than any effort being exerted.I cut the recipe in half,as it seemed like a colossal amount (although next time I will definately make the full amount!).It worked out just perfectly,they were soft,light,fluffy and airy,even fresh from the oven. This is a super recipe,I highly recommend it.Many thanks for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I think this is a good recipe, although more specifics on timing for letting the boiled mixture cool, and how long to let the dough rise would have been helpful. I ended up making a dozen buns, that were very heavy but had a nice flavor. I had enough dough to make another dozen...but it was so late by then we decided to use it as pizza crust last night. It actually makes a great pizza crust!! I think I will attempt to make these again, but I will let the dough rise longer next time and maybe end up with a lighter/softer texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Derriere Extraordinaire!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I made 'half qty' of this recipe exactly, because there are only two of us. It turned out just fabulous! I made a 'large' round loaf; a small round loaf; and l large bun. YUM YUM -- just a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I give these rolls TEN stars, they are so good. Had them for out Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone raved about them. The directions are clear and easy to follow, the buns rose so pretty and big, the texture was light and the taste great, a very impressive bun. I can't thank you enough for a great recipe that will be my only bun recipe from now on. Thanks Chef Dee, for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Your mom has the best buns in town!!This recipe is more than outstanding -- it is exceptional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      very easy, couldn't keep enough on hand!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      These rolls were excellent! I used 100% whole wheat flour (hard winter white) ground by me the day before. The dough was much softer than any I had used before, and came out perfectly. I made it into burger-type buns and hotdog buns and a pan of smaller rolls for a 'pulled-pork feast' this weekend for 14 people. Soft on the inside, just right on the outside, I couldn't ask for more!! Thanks for showing us your mom's buns!- sue b

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I came home from the office yesterday & had reviewed Mom's Buns on my trusty computor, so decided to make. Was in the middle and did not have enough of all purpose flour, so finished off with whole wheat flour. Mixed all up then had to leave & show a property. They raised nicely under a warm tea towel, punched down, raise again, panned out this dough that was absolutely wonderful and easy to work with, put in the oven and these wonderful buns came out looking awesome & the taste was as awesome as the looks. This is the first time ever making buns, The reviews prompted me to make them. I am so glad and thanks to Chef Dee. As another review said, I then made some into your cinnimon rolls. These just melted in your mouth and the carmel gooey part stayed soft and delicious. This is a pair made in heaven. Thanks again to Chef Dee from Pat Merwin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Chef Dee your Mom's Buns are exceptional! I had given up making anything with yeast for 7years now. But I wanted to learn how to make rolls for thanksgiving. I halfed this recipe and now I wish I didn't. I can't say thanks enough for a the help the other members gave me in the baking forum. I will be making these soon and hopefuly often. I have renewed faith in my self that I can bake. I will also try your cinnamon bun recipe too! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2006

      I scaled down the recipe to a third, and used regular active dry yeast. I mixed the dough by hand, and kneaded it in the same bowl. Buns were soft and fluffy, and best of all, so simple to make, and no sticky countertop to clean. Thank you Dee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      I made these buns using half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose, whipped the dough up on my Kitchen Aid mixer, I think it's the amount of oil in this recipe that gives the buns texture and flavor!thanks for posting...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW!!! That is the best way to describe these!!!!! Ok I'm like sooooo far from a baker.. sometimes even a cooker lol lol. I was scared to make these, but I said I'll give it a try anyway. Well THESE WERE GREAT!! Nothings better than having the wonderful aroma of fresh bread blowing through the house.. THEY WERE GREAT!! THIS IS A KEEPR FOR LIFE!!!! to all the non cooks, and beginner cook------YOU CAN DO IT TOO! Cheff Dee THANKS SO MUCH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      These were delicious and so easy! The dough was very easy to work with and man oh man, did these things rise! I made them early in the day, so I just kept punching down the dough and letting it do it's thing till I was ready to shape them! I forgot to brush with butter after cooking, but it didn't matter. My guests wolfed them down. Ended up with about 4 dozen, so I, too, formed half and froze them for baking later. Thanks for this addition to my "keeper" pile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2006

      I can make a mess out of anything. My kitchen looked like a hurricane hit it. I had flour everywhere. I thought my dh was going to take my baking priviledges away. I don't think I added enough flour to the final dough because mine was still sticky. I had a hard time getting the formed dough out of my hand to put in the pan. I am glad I find these things amusing or I would have to stop baking. Believe me, this is not the recipes fault, only I can be to blame. Now I really didn't think these would turn out at all. Can I tell you- They were Beautiful. I got pics to prove it! I am stunned and dh was happy! Thank you once again my dear Chef Dee! Your recipes are awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      Good rolls, and easy to make, and the guests raved about them. Baked all of them up and froze those not eaten tonight...will defrost and warm in oven when needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      These really are gems. I have never baked bread, but you can't tell by these beauties. They are golden brown on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside. My DD said to give them 5 stars as they are fantastic! Thank you Cgef Dee for sharing your Moms fabulous buns!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      These are excellent and my husband wanted me to pass on that he loves your mom's buns! ;) These came out sweeter than I expected, but with some salted butter they were absolutely perfect. Dense and chewy...yum! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      If I can make these anyone can. This was the second time I attempted to make homemade bread.(First time I could not cut it with a knife. Not your recipe by the way) I thought I would mess it up and worried all day it would not come out right but it came out perfectly. I was jumping all over the kitchen when these came out of the oven. The looked so perfect. Thank you so much. *Also I halved the recipe. It came out to 12 buns and I made one loaf of bread for sandwiches tommorrow. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Buns

    Serving Size: 1 (2637 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1593.1
     
    Calories from Fat 307
    19%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 158.6 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1228.0 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 278.6 g
    92%
    Dietary Fiber 9.1 g
    36%
    Sugars 39.6 g
    158%
    Protein 38.3 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes