22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

made half recipe and got 18 large, soft, flavorful, beautiful rolls. ( See my photo ). I usually use a bread machine to prepare yeast rolls but these were definately worth the work. Dough was very easy to handle and very smooth. A wonderful addition to our Christmas dinner !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper December 26, 2013

This is not the recipe for you if you need rolls in a hurry,but it really is well worth every minute that is spent making them.Let's face it,most of the time is spent waiting for dough to rise,rather than any effort being exerted.I cut the recipe in half,as it seemed like a colossal amount (although next time I will definately make the full amount!).It worked out just perfectly,they were soft,light,fluffy and airy,even fresh from the oven. This is a super recipe,I highly recommend it.Many thanks for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo October 07, 2008

I think this is a good recipe, although more specifics on timing for letting the boiled mixture cool, and how long to let the dough rise would have been helpful. I ended up making a dozen buns, that were very heavy but had a nice flavor. I had enough dough to make another dozen...but it was so late by then we decided to use it as pizza crust last night. It actually makes a great pizza crust!! I think I will attempt to make these again, but I will let the dough rise longer next time and maybe end up with a lighter/softer texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jewlmaker July 03, 2008

Derriere Extraordinaire!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes December 08, 2005

I made 'half qty' of this recipe exactly, because there are only two of us. It turned out just fabulous! I made a 'large' round loaf; a small round loaf; and l large bun. YUM YUM -- just a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickie December 10, 2007

I give these rolls TEN stars, they are so good. Had them for out Thanksgiving Dinner and everyone raved about them. The directions are clear and easy to follow, the buns rose so pretty and big, the texture was light and the taste great, a very impressive bun. I can't thank you enough for a great recipe that will be my only bun recipe from now on. Thanks Chef Dee, for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 26, 2007

Your mom has the best buns in town!!This recipe is more than outstanding -- it is exceptional!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear January 19, 2007

very easy, couldn't keep enough on hand!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crescendogal December 17, 2006

These rolls were excellent! I used 100% whole wheat flour (hard winter white) ground by me the day before. The dough was much softer than any I had used before, and came out perfectly. I made it into burger-type buns and hotdog buns and a pan of smaller rolls for a 'pulled-pork feast' this weekend for 14 people. Soft on the inside, just right on the outside, I couldn't ask for more!! Thanks for showing us your mom's buns!- sue b

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SDB November 25, 2006

I came home from the office yesterday & had reviewed Mom's Buns on my trusty computor, so decided to make. Was in the middle and did not have enough of all purpose flour, so finished off with whole wheat flour. Mixed all up then had to leave & show a property. They raised nicely under a warm tea towel, punched down, raise again, panned out this dough that was absolutely wonderful and easy to work with, put in the oven and these wonderful buns came out looking awesome & the taste was as awesome as the looks. This is the first time ever making buns, The reviews prompted me to make them. I am so glad and thanks to Chef Dee. As another review said, I then made some into your cinnimon rolls. These just melted in your mouth and the carmel gooey part stayed soft and delicious. This is a pair made in heaven. Thanks again to Chef Dee from Pat Merwin

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pmrealty November 02, 2006
Mom's Buns