Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Best Tomato Soup Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Best Tomato Soup Canning Recipe

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on July 12, 2012

      This is not a review, but an observation. It sounds good enough for 5 stars to me, but I have not tried it yet, but I hope to try it soon. What I am about to say is in no way intended as a criticism of the recipe, but a point of information only. Anyone planning to can it should be aware that, according to current USDA standards, the use of starches in home-canned products is not considered safe, even if processed in a pressure canner for 75 minutes. The butter is another problem, too. Freezing the soup as it is written is a safe option, or adding the butter and flour to thicken it after opening the jar is another. There are many many heirloom recipes which are no longer considered safe without some simple changes. For instance, today's tomatoes have been bred to be less acidic than the old time ones, so acid must be added to them in many recipes. There is a canning forum on RecipeZaar that is very helpful with recipes and safety issues for those who would like more information.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      This appears to be an heirloom family recipe from the contributor's grandmother's time.

      The guidelines have evolved over the years based on laboratory research. What once were perfectly acceptable canning practices and recipes might not be so anymore.

      If you're following current USDA/NCHFP (US National Center for Home Food Preservation) recommendations for shelf-stable food storage safety (updated in 2009), they no longer recommend canning things with flour as a thickener. Likewise, butter and dairy products.

      If you do decide to can this soup, I'd suggest you pressure can it. As one of the reviewers said, "This soup was extremely good...heaven in a bowl. Like another reviewer mentioned, I would NOT recommend canning this in a water bath...I canned it in a pressure cooker for 30 minutes at 10 pounds pressure."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I made this today and had some for supper. It was very good. I did the same amount of veggies, reduced the sugar by 1/4 (maybe even less next time) and cut the salt a bit as well. I was canning this so I didn't add the butter or flour. For supper I sprinkled with cheese and threw in 1/4 cup dried milk. The kids both seemed to love it. I just pureed everything in the food processor, cooked it, and pureed again. Good, quick and easy... I got a little over 7 quarts in the first batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Three yrs ago I went searching for a tomato soup recipe to can for my husband and stumbled across the best recipe ever!! This yr I lost the recipe and had to once again go searching. Thank you so much for sharing the goodness. :) I particularly do not like to add the baking soda; I think it makes it go flat. Other than that, it is by far the best recipe for tomato soup. That is saying alot coming from someone not too keen on tomato soup. Three yrs in counting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      I have always used organic home-grown & canned tomatoes to whip up soup in the winter but decided this year's bumper's crop contributed enough fruit to can homemade soup as well. I had a 5 gallon pot of tomatoes cooked down into sauce already so I used 20c. of that with 6 stalks of garden celery and 5 smallish onions. I added a 1/2 tsp. ground cloves (which does something lovely to the overall flavor.) I heated everything until the veggies were soft, then used the immersion blender to puree. No thickener needed as the sauce was already a good consistency. Processed at 10 lbs. for 30 minutes. Yielded 12 (12 oz.) jars which filled the canner with enough left (4 c.) for dinner. I will add milk (about 1/2 c.) to the soup when heating for a bisque style dish. Delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      UNBELIEVABLE! I got talked into making soup with some of our bounty of tomatoes. I found this recipe and became an instant hero! I'm not a tomato soup eater but didn't mind this...the ones who like tomato soup swear it's the best they ever had. Good thing it's easy to make is all I can say because it appears that I will be making it for as long as I'm growing tomatoes. Most thought it was good as is - without adding milk - although I add a little just to make it go farther. Thank you for making me look good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Oh My Goodness....what an awesome and easy recipe. Have had an abundance of tomatoes this yr. Husband just got home and has not stopped raving about this recipe. Can't wait to share it with friends and to make another batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      This is the exact same recipe that I received from my Grandmother. It is called Regal Tomato Soup in the family cookbook which we put together in the late 70's.. Gramma was a recipe clipper from the paper, most likely where she found it. It is, by far, the most delicious tomato soup I have ever had. The only change that I found, we cooked the onion and celery in the pressure cooker and then put it through a strainer. Much faster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I made 11 quarts tonight and its yummy!! I followed the directions exactly as written and great luck with it.. I had no lumps and the taste is fantastic!!! I used a crank style strainer and it worked great....Just shove the maters in there and viola' out comes the skin...Thanks so much WJKing...you are right! this is going to be hard to beat!! I havent tasted any better!!..Thanks so much for sharing, this will go in my canning cookbook to use every year...
      Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      This soup was extremely good...heaven in a bowl. Like another reviewer mentioned, I would NOT recommend canning this in a water bath...I canned it in a pressure cooker for 30 minutes at 10 pounds pressure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      WOW!! I'm trying to tighten the budget, and tomato soup is something I frequently purchase. I simmered the celery and half the onion required (Not enough onions) I placed them in the food processor-placed in a colander and pressed to remove as much liquid. I used tomato juice instead of tomatoes. Since I was shy on the amt. of onions I used onion powder. Much thinner than I expected-perhaps due to too much water in the celery/onion? I added onion powder to the tomato juice since I ran shy of onions. Next time-YES NEXT TIME, I will use just onion powder (I hate crying anyway) instead of chopped. Hmmm...to make it even easier is there such a thing called celery powder? Awesome recipe-Thank You for sharing this recipe I'm a Tomato Soup Freak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      This recipe is delicious! It is a little time consuming but well worth it! My family loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      I have been canning for 2 years and made this recipe both years with tomatoes from my garden. It is wonderful. When I go to reconstitute the soup after its been canned, I usually add 1/2 jar of milk and skip the baking soda. My husband loves tomato soup and I initially made this for him. I, on the other hand, have never been a tomato soup fan, but once I tried this, I was sold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I can not say enough about this recipe except that I will not make any other, this has all the things that I love in a tomato soup... I made a couple changes
      1.I used 3 very large tins from Costco of tomato sauce (tomato's are very $ here right now)
      2.Splenda in exchange for sugar
      3.I added no salt..didn't need it
      4. Sauce is so thick I didn't need the flour
      5. pressure canned 10lb for 30min
      Thank you WJKing, Thank you for passing this recipe along to my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Three years in a row, this recipe is a hit. I had to buy canned tomatoes during the spring after I ran out of soup with my home grown tomatoes! Even with canned tomatoes it still turned out great. But as always fresh and unprocessed are best! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Fantastic recipe. I put my tomatoes through my squeezo strainer, or juicer, raw to save vitamins, then saute onion & celery til soft and put them in the blender. Add them and the sugar,salt and seasonings to the tomato and bring to a boil. Add a chilled roux made from butter and flour. Whisk until thickened. pour in bottles and PROCESS IN PRESSURE CANNER. I'm not a huge fan of tomato soup, but this recipe is comfort heaven. I canned 38 pints and already know that wasn't a third enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Been wanting to try your mother's recipe for some time now. Made it today! Sssooooo good! My sister and niece stopped over and we all had to taste it several times. So glad I went over board and had an extra quart of juice in the batch. Worked out just right. Did 4 qts, 7 pts, and 2 half pts. The 2 half pts are going into our son's Birthday box and going to Japan. Will be making labels with cooking instructions in the morning. Oh, also sending your recipe on to my sister so she can make some also. We all love good homemade soups/stews and any thing else made with love...:) Will be making up at least 2 more batches this year.
      I read of concerns regarding the flour in the recipe. Flour isn't a starch, yet it is a thickening agent. Have made oodles of batches of pie filling using flour. Just follow the directions and your fine.
      Thank you for posting this recipe, it's a 'keeper' for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      I canned three tomato soups recipes in summer 2009. This is the only recipe I am keeping - it is absolutely delicious. We tried a jar for the first time in Nov 2010 and now wish I had made a batch in 2010. I will be making it again in 2011 and every year after that. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      Wonderful taste. I added some fresh basil, oregano and thyme, chopped, to the finished product before canning. I cut the recipe in half but will make again soon. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I love this soup, my mother used to make this all the time and it was a family favorite. I make it now but do not can it. I make smaller batches using can tomatoes and I puree about half in the blender and then pour it back in with the rest so a get a chunky tomato Soup. I have also frozen it many time and it comes out great. thanks for Sharing

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Best Tomato Soup Canning Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (7525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 529.2
     
    Calories from Fat 223
    42%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 3827.1 mg
    159%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 11.4 g
    45%
    Sugars 48.5 g
    194%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites