Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Best Soft Gingerbread Cookies (New! Gb House Directions!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Best Soft Gingerbread Cookies (New! Gb House Directions!)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2010

      I had never made gingerbread cookies before and thought this was the perfect recipe to start with (as I already had all the ingredients on hand). The cookies turned out great and were so easy to make. The cooking times were spot on and the directions easy enough to follow. The results were awesome tasting gingerbread cookies. I also liked that these cookies were a bit on the softer side. Before, I never would have thought to make my own gingerbread cookies, and now I will never think to buy them from a store. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      The cookies turned out soft and delicious. Steeping the cloves in the water seems to ease the "bite" that you get with cloves sometimes. I reduced the heat and baking time a smidge for the "second roll-out" and the cookies were perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Everyone loved this cookie!!!! They were all gone by the end of Christmas day . My little 2 year old grandson couldn't stop eating them!!! Will keep this in my written cookbooks for all time!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      These are great! The taste is not overpowering. The dough is easy to work with. The cookies are soft and moist for days! If you're looking for soft, chewy gb cookies, these are the ones! Thanks, Wildflour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      These had a strong molasses flavour and needed more spice. Great dough to work with, though. Very easy to handle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      These cookies are AMAZING! I didn't have molasses though so I used 1/2 dark brown sugar and 1/2 honey. The dough broke up quiet a few times but was very easy to mold back together, loved working with the easy to mold dough. So yummy, thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      The best for soft gingerbread that I have been able to find.I had one years and years ago but wasn't able to get the recipe.I think the next time I make them I will double the ginger,add ground cloves(in addition to the clove water),and add some allspice as we like things very spiced in my house.I will also increase the sugar a half cup or so because I don't frost mine...I just like them plain.Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This was a nice and simple gingerbread recipe for soft cookies. Really great flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Heyy I havent tried this recipe yet but im writing so that i remember to use this recipe for my GB house :P

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      these were tasty and i loved the clove water!. i used all the flour and still i was not able to roll out the dough. these are a definate 5 star on the first day. right out of the oven. they are not as delicious the second day but still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I made these cookies today and they turned out soft chewy and delicious. Excellent balance of spicy and sweet. The ginger isn't overpowering and the cinnamon and clove water give it just the right touch. I don't detect any saltiness described in other reviews, just excellent taste. Even my youngest son, who doesn't typically like gingerbread, raved and gave some to visiting friends. Thanky you Wildflour (and your Mom) for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      these are very good, we like crisp cookies so I made them slightly thinner and baked till light brown, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Great recipe, lots of flavor! Although I must have screwed up on the flour somehow (I KNOW I added 5 cups altogether!! lol), it was overly sticky.. So after making a couple of cookies, I decided to add some more flour and let it sit back in the fridge overnight again.. They all turned out good in the end, my whole family LOVES them. (Especially my Mom!) I frosted them with a white buttercream frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I burned mine :*( but the 10 or so that didn't get burned were GREAT!! I am still learning to bake and made a few mistakes but I'll definitely try this one again. UPDATE: I made them again, this time I put in about 2 Tbsp of thinly sliced candied ginger to the mix before putting it in the refrigerator to cool, and iced them. I also didn't put in two cookie sheets at the same time, and only heated the oven to 350, this kept them from burning (yes.. still learning how to bake) WOW! My boyfriend and I are both wondering if we can live off of these and these alone because they're darn tasty, and we're not big "Dessert people"! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Wildflour: Your Mom's gingerbread recipe ROCKS! My 6 year old son and I made these today and they turned out soft and chewy.... exactly the way we like them! I took your advice from the recipe thread and underbaked them just slightly and made the dough just about 1/2" thickness. We also made gingerbread stars, Christmas trees, and Santas! Thanks for sharing your Mom's recipe. It's the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Very easy to make and delecious.I love the combination of ginger and a lot of cinnamon here with just a touch of cloves. I used butter instead of shortening, which gave the cookies an even richer taste and make them even softer. I kept the dough almost 2 hours in the fridge which melts all the different flavours, but I think you could keep it in the fridge for about a day (so you could make the dough ahead of baking). They came out perfect after 10 minutes, not overly sweet, spicy, a touch salty (as I like it) and with a wonderful flavour of cinnamon. This recipe is great, try it and you will love it. What do you want more: easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Best Soft Gingerbread Cookies (New! Gb House Directions!)

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 340.8
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    31%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 10.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 246.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 24.3 g
    97%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites