45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutley Wonderful!!! I have been trying for years, but my banana bread always comes out heavy and tough. This was perfect and well worth the effort. Gradma may have some competition!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myownwings September 05, 2008

A Wonderful Banana Bread!!! My family loved it. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamdonuts August 04, 2008

Delicious! Perfect for when you have a few extra ripe bananas left in the cupboard. (I used 2 decent sized ones) My boyfriend was impressed, as was I. I will definitely make this again. I had not a wooden spoon, (I used a plastic one in the same shape), nor any nuts or flax seeds...but came out great anyhow. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before I put it in the oven. Yum! I can't wait to try it again with all the right ingredients!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennysee July 10, 2008

Okay. Who is your mom? She gets a standing ovation from us. This is the absolute best banana bread we've ever had. Made it at midnight last night and at 8am this morning, there is 1/4 left. My husband took some to work. We had six slices between us, and I'm wishing I'd made two. Didn't change a thing, Mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrrrea July 08, 2008

Fantastic! The whipped egg whites make all the difference in the texture - this is the most deliciously moist banana bread I've ever made. It got rave reviews from my husband, who hated banana bread as a kid because it was always so dry. This is my new go-to recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichJ June 19, 2008

Truly is the best banana bread I have ever had! I love it. It would also be good with walnut chunks and maybe if you lower the sugar some raisins. But even without it is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jezibearie May 17, 2008

Yummy! The bread was moist and tasty. I added a tsp of vanilla and usually add 1/2 cup of yogurt or sour cream but omitted it this time and it still came out moist. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vang494494 May 02, 2008

Yummy! I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and about a 1/4 cup (give or take) of applesauce and omitted flax seeds because I did not have any. Just made it yesterday and it's almost gone. Gotta go get more bananas. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
odomjko April 19, 2008

I misplaced my family's recipe so I tried this one - and I'm so glad that I did! My Mom's B.Bread is a bit crumbly, and I would always spread butter onto a piece. This bread is very moist and doesn't need anything else! I doubled the amount of cinnamon to 2 tsp. 45 minutes was the perfect time to bake for me, and the edges came out nice and medium brown with a bit of a sugary crust. This recipe will replace my Mom's (shhh!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KariBunny February 29, 2008

This was absolutely delicious! I also used sour cream instead of milk and it came out so moist. I didn't add the flax seeds or nuts, since my husband can't have either. Regardless, he ate half the loaf about an hour after I made it. Thanks so much for a great recipe and thanks to mom as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamesandjuliaquinn January 28, 2008
Mom's Best Banana Bread