Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Best Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Best Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2008

      A Wonderful Banana Bread!!! My family loved it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Delicious! Perfect for when you have a few extra ripe bananas left in the cupboard. (I used 2 decent sized ones) My boyfriend was impressed, as was I. I will definitely make this again. I had not a wooden spoon, (I used a plastic one in the same shape), nor any nuts or flax seeds...but came out great anyhow. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla and sprinkled a little brown sugar on top before I put it in the oven. Yum! I can't wait to try it again with all the right ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Okay. Who is your mom? She gets a standing ovation from us. This is the absolute best banana bread we've ever had. Made it at midnight last night and at 8am this morning, there is 1/4 left. My husband took some to work. We had six slices between us, and I'm wishing I'd made two. Didn't change a thing, Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2008

      Fantastic! The whipped egg whites make all the difference in the texture - this is the most deliciously moist banana bread I've ever made. It got rave reviews from my husband, who hated banana bread as a kid because it was always so dry. This is my new go-to recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      Truly is the best banana bread I have ever had! I love it. It would also be good with walnut chunks and maybe if you lower the sugar some raisins. But even without it is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Yummy! The bread was moist and tasty. I added a tsp of vanilla and usually add 1/2 cup of yogurt or sour cream but omitted it this time and it still came out moist. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Yummy! I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and about a 1/4 cup (give or take) of applesauce and omitted flax seeds because I did not have any. Just made it yesterday and it's almost gone. Gotta go get more bananas. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      I misplaced my family's recipe so I tried this one - and I'm so glad that I did! My Mom's B.Bread is a bit crumbly, and I would always spread butter onto a piece. This bread is very moist and doesn't need anything else! I doubled the amount of cinnamon to 2 tsp. 45 minutes was the perfect time to bake for me, and the edges came out nice and medium brown with a bit of a sugary crust. This recipe will replace my Mom's (shhh!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This was absolutely delicious! I also used sour cream instead of milk and it came out so moist. I didn't add the flax seeds or nuts, since my husband can't have either. Regardless, he ate half the loaf about an hour after I made it. Thanks so much for a great recipe and thanks to mom as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Kudo's to your mom, this was wonderful! I substituted 3T sour cream for the milk and added 1/4 c mini chocolate chips. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      You HAVE to make this. It's worth taking the time to do it right. Best ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was fantastic....my family wouldn't even wait until it cooled. The three grandkids were here and they all ate it up before it even cooled. Thanks for a great recipe. I will definitely be making again! baknpies49

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      This is the BEST!. I made it in the morning. When my son came home from school he raved about it. By the end of the night it was more than half gone and devoured by the next evening! Flax seeds are great in in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I have been look for so long for a really good recipe for banana bread and have now found it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I am not a banana bread lover but this is the first recipe I have found that suits my taste. Our mothers recipes are usually the best!!!!! Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      my family ADORED THIS! sooo rich and good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2007

      Holy moly! I have the worlds pickiest husband and he ate the ENTIRE loaf in one night...I got one sliver while it was cooling, and what I ate was great as well. This one is def. going in the keeper file. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      I don't think that I did anything wrong. I followed the recipe exactly as stated(even using a wooden spoon), but the bread seemed a little flat and a little dry than what I am used to. I guess that I like my mom's recipe better... I'll have to find it and post it on here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I can't believe how GOOD my house smells right now! This has to be, by far, the best banana bread recipe I've ever tried. I agree with the comment below - FAR worth the little extra effort to make. Fabulous! Thank you and thank your mom for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I just wanted to let you know that this was absolutely the most delicious b. nut bread EVER! It came out so moist and lovely. I didn't have a wooden spoon, but I did use a spatula. Also, I accidentally put about three times as much cinnamon as it calls for, and I believe it made it better. I also believe that the whipped egg whites are responsible for making it soooo moist. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Best Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.2
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    34%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 135.2 mg
    45%
    Sodium 349.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.0 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 42.2 g
    168%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes