Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Beef Stew (Pressure Cooker) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Beef Stew (Pressure Cooker)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2012

      We enjoyed this very much. Added a rue to thicken it up. A few spices would be a good idea. Very good base and easy to tweak to the families tastes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      I chose this recipe because you just throw everything into the pot (instead of cooking the potatoes separately). I followed it exactly (except added mushrooms as well) and it turned out perfect! The stew was so flavorful and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This is a very good stew. I use pork (or a beef/pork mix - any cut will do) and sweat the onions and garlic before searing the meat, which I dust with flour. I then deglaze with some red wine, add beef stock, beef or chicken broth, spices, and celery and then bring to high pressure for about 10 minutes (though 5 minutes would be fine). I then open the pot and add liquid (water or broth), potatoes, carrots and fresh mushrooms. I simmer this until the potatoes are done. Additional spices, wine, flour, etc. are fine at this time. Thank you for the recipe. I enjoyed this again tonight, not even noticing that it is well below freezing outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I love my pressure cooker, always have. This recipe was perfect. the only change I made was salting and peppering the beef chunks before I braised them. Otherwise it was a perfect fit. They licked the pot clean and asked for more!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      This was a HUGE hit even with my picky eaters! Not a drop was left by the time we were done. We used frozen egg noodles in place of potatoes and they turned out just fine. My husband said he thought it needed something, but couldn't quite place it, so I'm sure we'll play around with adding some other type of seasoning to see if we can make it just a bit better. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      FAST!! I doubled the meat and used close to 2 cups of water. It was fabulous and my picky kids gobbled and asked for seconds!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Super yummy! I followed the recipe pretty closely...didn't have quite that much meat (probably under a pound) but it was fine for us. I did add a small package of Italian tomato sauce to the finished product. The potatoes thickened the stew perfectly for us so I didn't add any flour or corn starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Great recipe. You can customize with your own selection of spices and vegetables. I doubled the onions and garlic and used Rosemary, Thyme, Turmeric, Hot Paprika, and a bit of potato starch as a thickener. I also salted and peppered to our taste. It was a hit with the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      This recipes is spot on. I added some gravy mix to thicken it up and used beef broth instead of water. Also added parsnips to the veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      I made this in my pressure cooker and it was a hit for sure. I not a person who cooks but tonight I was Julia Child in disguise. Absolutely delicious. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      More of a soup than a stew. I thought it was pretty bland; needs a thickening agent. Probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      So much easier than the way I've been doing it and tastes even better. Puts dinner on the table in no time. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I just purchased an electric pressure cooker and on St. Patty's Day I wanted to make a beer beef stew! This recipe sounded perfect and the only change I made was a bottle of beer in place of water! I used a package of frozen stir fry strips and was a bit worried since they were long but in less than 15 minutes they had all fallen apart and I used whole baby carrots, baby potatoes, and pearl onions and EVERYTHING was just perfect! At the end I just stirred in some flour...my husband is deployed so I devoured this all 2 meals LOL! Delish! I also added some extra herbs. Will definitely make again! Thanks for making my first pressure cooking experience a good one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I made this last night and it was really, really good. The only change I made was using onion powder instead of onions. My entire family LOVED this. This is how I will be making stew from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Added 2 t. thyme and a couple shakes of paprika along with a dash of red wine. Perfect and I only cooked it 10 minutes but then I like small dice of all the ingredients so that you can get more than one chunk on a spoon. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      oh wow... i borrowed a pressure cooker, and, as always, came straight here for recipes... this is the first one i have done, and i literally just finished and tsated... superb!! next time i want to add some red wine, and tomato paste too...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Made this tonight. It is delicious. It will be on the top of my list for beef stew. Quick and good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      OK, this was one of the best beef stew recipes that I have made. It was cold here today and I just wanted some comfort food. I did screw this up though...I forgot to lock my pressure cooker for the first 10 minutes, so it was more like beef and potatoes with carrots and celery, but man! It was SO good! My husband gobbled it right up! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Beef Stew (Pressure Cooker)

    Serving Size: 1 (617 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.7
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    38%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 127.5 mg
    42%
    Sodium 182.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 40.9 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites