Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Applesauce Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Applesauce Muffins

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2011

      these were ok. I will make them again but without the cloves and more applesauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This is a recipe that can be found in the Gooseberry Patch Cookbook, "101 Homestyle Favorites Cookbook". Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      The muffin was ok, but the crumb topping was dry and there was way too much of it for the 18 muffins I made, and I love crumb topping. I think if I make it again I'll leave out the oatmeal in the topping and that might help that part of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      excellent...and easy to throw together. Nice sneaky way to get some nutritional components into my kids...I just told them that these were cinnamon spice muffins....they gobbled them up and asked for seconds. This muffin is at its best if warm (or slightly reheated in microwave) although still tastey at room temp. Will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      absolutely wonderful! really muffins don't get much better than this, I use homemade applesauce that I keep in my freezer, for the the amount of sugar was just right, I love cinnamon so I increased to 1-1/2 teaspoons, the topping is fantastic, made for Think Pink event, thank you Kitty, I'll be making these many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      I made these this morning for breakfast and they were very tasty! I accidentally left out the raisins and was kinda worried that the muffins would be dry and not very flavourful without them, but I neednt have worried. They were still very tasty with a wonderful cinnamon flavour and nice crunch from the topping. Next time though I will definitely put in more applesauce, cause I couldnt taste it as much as I would have liked to. Like momaphet I too did have half of the crumb topping as left over so just used it for making individual apple-rhubarb crumbles with some compote I happened to have on hand. I did cut back a lot on the butter (only used 1/3 cup in the batter and 1/4 cup in the crumb topping) and I might even use less next time. Also used only 1/4 cup of sugar, which was perfect for me. My only problem with this recipe was that I had some trouble blending in the butter with the other ingredients. I think it would have been better to melt it and then add it to the batter. But other than that a great recipe! Thanks so much for sharing this lovely recipe with us, kittycatmom! Made and reviewed for Porluck Tag Game March 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This is a very good muffin, though a little on the sweet side for us. I cut the recipe in half and it made 6 muffins. The only changes I made was to add a little nutmeg, and left out the raisins which DH doesn't like. This muffin has a little bit of a dense texture, I think because of the quantity of fat with the applesauce, next time I make them, I will cut back on the butter a little and sub more applesauce; I would also cut back on the sugar as the cake part of the muffin is very sweet and more so with the topping ( I even used unsweetened applesauce). The crumble is more than enough - I had almost as much left over as I used, so I saved it for the next muffins I make. I like the touch a clove it's not overpowering but adds a little nuance. These cooked perfectly at 25 mins. Thanks kittykat mom for sharing your recipe! Reviewed for 123 Hit Wonders Tag March 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Hokie Pokie shared her photos of these muffins in the PAC thread & I just had to try them! Deelish! My boys went crazy over them too. I used Craisins instead of raisins but other than that made per recipe. Easy recipe for a muffin that looks like you went to a lot more trouble. Thanks for sharing, kittycatmom & thanks to Hokie for making me drool! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Heavenly muffins!! Oh my goodness these are so simple to put together and are very moist and delicious!! The only thing I subbed out was the raisins (we are not a raisin loving family) so instead I chopped up some Rome apple instead and used that. These made 15 nice and full muffins. Baked up perfectly in 25 minutes! Tagged for 123 Hit Wonders!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Applesauce Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 418.5
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    35%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 56.1 mg
    18%
    Sodium 305.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 32.8 g
    131%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites