12 Reviews

Was burning at 30 minutes in the oven. Otherwise i loved the simplicity of the recipe and old fashion taste:).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina No Ar November 18, 2013

I used an 8x8 glass pan and I rubbed it down with butter before adding the crust which turned out very moist for me, I think sifting the flour is key. I grated the apple for 1 apple but found that just turned it into apple mush, so I shredded the other 2 apples. I baked for 56 minutes before my nose detected a burning smell and I promptly removed the tart. I should have taken it out at 50 minutes so my advice would be to check it at 50 minutes as oven's vary. It turned out bubbly and golden brown, smelled amazing! Now to taste....yum! Very sweet and warm and melty in your mouth. Great for cool fall and winter months with your loved ones, good conversation, delicious coffee, a good book or a foggy morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GretchenPeach September 05, 2012

This recipe is great! I usually have all the ingredients on hand besides the apples which is a real cheap pick-up. Just took it to Easter dinner tonight and it got rave reviews, like it always does.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Talula42 April 04, 2010

I love this recipe. I use granny smith instead of red delicious because I like that tart flavor it gives, but aside from that I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderfully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatzMeow October 30, 2009

I thought this was great! I halved the recipe and it made three 4-inch tarts.The crust turned out perfectly. I only had Gala apples, so that's what I used, but it tasted fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPugh January 14, 2009

This was good - but it wasn't anything special for me. I liked the apples shredded, but I thought the flavor was a little lacking. I'm not sure what else should be added to make it have a little more flavor. I agree with a previous review that the crust seemed dry at first, but don't add anything to it! The crust is perfect as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug February 11, 2008

This really hit the spot. I love how easy it is to make this recipe. The crust was very dry when mixing and I thought I might have missed something, but I resisted the urge to add more vinegar and it turned out great. I used Macintosh apples and added some chopped walnuts. Then I drizzled just a bit of caramel syrup on top before baking. MMM! Great with vanilla ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez January 21, 2007

Hi Hellen! I was really impressed with this recipe. I used the little slicer on the the side of my square cheese grater to cut up the apples in very tiny slices. I did not press any of the juice out. Turned out awesome! It was a great way to use delicious apples, which I've never tried cooking with before! Crust was great too. I served it warm with ice cream. mmmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
68Ranchero January 20, 2007

Very, very good. The next time I make it (and there will definitely be a next time), I think I'll lower the oven temperature a bit. My tart wound up with very tough, almost burned edges, and I am sure it was just because my oven is quite "fast" (mind you, the rest of it was superb). I was particularly impressed with the crust -- I am sure it could be used with different kinds of fruit. Thanks ever so much for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen35 October 14, 2006

This tart was so easy to make and delicious!! I made this in a hurry when I had unexpected dinner guests. Instead of grating the apple, I chopped it in batches in the food processor and it turned out perfectly. So quick and easy. I'll definitely make again and again. Thanks Helen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ballarat November 20, 2005
Mom's Apple Tart