Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Apple Tart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Apple Tart

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 18, 2013

      Was burning at 30 minutes in the oven. Otherwise i loved the simplicity of the recipe and old fashion taste:).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I used an 8x8 glass pan and I rubbed it down with butter before adding the crust which turned out very moist for me, I think sifting the flour is key. I grated the apple for 1 apple but found that just turned it into apple mush, so I shredded the other 2 apples. I baked for 56 minutes before my nose detected a burning smell and I promptly removed the tart. I should have taken it out at 50 minutes so my advice would be to check it at 50 minutes as oven's vary. It turned out bubbly and golden brown, smelled amazing! Now to taste....yum! Very sweet and warm and melty in your mouth. Great for cool fall and winter months with your loved ones, good conversation, delicious coffee, a good book or a foggy morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This recipe is great! I usually have all the ingredients on hand besides the apples which is a real cheap pick-up. Just took it to Easter dinner tonight and it got rave reviews, like it always does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      I love this recipe. I use granny smith instead of red delicious because I like that tart flavor it gives, but aside from that I followed the recipe and it turned out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I thought this was great! I halved the recipe and it made three 4-inch tarts.The crust turned out perfectly. I only had Gala apples, so that's what I used, but it tasted fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      This was good - but it wasn't anything special for me. I liked the apples shredded, but I thought the flavor was a little lacking. I'm not sure what else should be added to make it have a little more flavor. I agree with a previous review that the crust seemed dry at first, but don't add anything to it! The crust is perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      This really hit the spot. I love how easy it is to make this recipe. The crust was very dry when mixing and I thought I might have missed something, but I resisted the urge to add more vinegar and it turned out great. I used Macintosh apples and added some chopped walnuts. Then I drizzled just a bit of caramel syrup on top before baking. MMM! Great with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Hi Hellen! I was really impressed with this recipe. I used the little slicer on the the side of my square cheese grater to cut up the apples in very tiny slices. I did not press any of the juice out. Turned out awesome! It was a great way to use delicious apples, which I've never tried cooking with before! Crust was great too. I served it warm with ice cream. mmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2006

      Very, very good. The next time I make it (and there will definitely be a next time), I think I'll lower the oven temperature a bit. My tart wound up with very tough, almost burned edges, and I am sure it was just because my oven is quite "fast" (mind you, the rest of it was superb). I was particularly impressed with the crust -- I am sure it could be used with different kinds of fruit. Thanks ever so much for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      This tart was so easy to make and delicious!! I made this in a hurry when I had unexpected dinner guests. Instead of grating the apple, I chopped it in batches in the food processor and it turned out perfectly. So quick and easy. I'll definitely make again and again. Thanks Helen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      This is a delicious way to use apples. The crust is flaky and the apple topping is nicely spiced. If you're craving apple pie, but want something quick and easy with the same kind of taste, this is your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      Hi Helen, This was a really good tart.I thought it sounded good,but was afraid it might be dry because of pressing the extra juice out but it was not dry at all. Thanks for this recipe. Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Apple Tart

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 299.5
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    35%
    Total Fat 11.7 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 175.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 33.0 g
    132%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites