Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Apple Crisp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Apple Crisp

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2008

      I just made this tonight, it was very simple and very good. I have my own recipe that i usually make but i didn't have enough apples for that recipe, so i tried this one.We were not disappointed!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This recipe is great! I did tweak it a bit. Added a bit of cinnamon and chopped walnuts to the crumble. I decreased the amount of butter/margarine to 1/4 cup. For our taste that was plenty of fat for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      I love this and so does everyone i've shared it with. I did add cinnamon to it, but other than that, it is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      Wonderful! The only apple crisp recipe I use since finding this one. I add a splash of cinnamon to the apples before adding the topping and it adds so much flavor. You have got to try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Sprinkled some walnuts in with the topping mixture, and this was to die for good! Sinful is what it is :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Delicious! Just like mom used to make it. I had a frozen crust in the freezer I used and it tasted superb with whipped cream. Mmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

    • on December 30, 2007

      Thanks! I am currently living in China and needed a desert to take to a potluck Thanksgiving lunch. Everyone loved this. I did add a bit of cinnamon to the apples before putting the oat mixture on top, but left the recipe alone otherwise. It's very easy to make and tastes fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This has always been a favorite of mine and I was glad to discover it again. Thank you!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Absolutely delicious Marg. This was so easy and so quick to make. I used 4 large apples that Mom brought back from their vacation in Washington. I didn't peel them, as I like the peel on the apples, and I added a little cinnamon sugar over the apples before topping them with the crumb mixture. The whole dish was gone in under 30 minutes after it was finished baking. I almost didn't get pictures!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      This crisp saved the day. Made an apple pie and messed up the top crust. Made this crisp, baked on top and was told, the best pie ever. Go figure. Served with Tahitian Vanilla Ice Cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Mom's Apple Crisp was a success. However, I did change a couple of things....I substituted apples with pears because that's what I had on hand. I sprinkled the crisp with cinnamon before baking....Let me tell ya, the smell was heavenly! Of course, it's a mortal sin not to serve this al mode so that's just what I did. Thanks Marg, you did Mom proud!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      So yummy. I've made it 3 nights in a row now because it just doesn't last. I did sprinkle some cinnamon on the apples and then drizzled some caramel sauce over them before adding the oatmeal topping. It did take longer to bake......I'd say closer to 45 minutes or so, but the end result was worth the wait.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Good recipe. I added a lot of cinnamon--just a personal preference. I added a couple of shakes to the topping and a couple of shakes to the apples! I wasn't thinking and used the low fat butter--DON'T! The lowfat butter is too soft and you don't get those nice crumbles for the topping. So, I added a lot more flour and some extra oats! Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      I thought this apple crisp was a little too sweet. I also felt like you could cut the butter by a couple of tablespoons. It was very buttery. It tasted good but not great. Maybe I used the wrong kind of apple. I used Fuji--should I have used a different variety??? Also, I would definitely recommend 4 apples. I only used 3 and it needed more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      Wow, I posted on here before that this recipe was too sweet. That would because I'm an idiot and put in the wrong amount of sugar. I just tried it again (correctly) and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      Added 2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I cooked it in the microwave (in microwave safe bowl)on high for about 12 minutes. Thank you. This is a very easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      Absolutely delicious and easy to make. I had a recipe when I was ten years old and left it at my mom's house when I got married. This one beats it hands-down...even my mom thinks so. Thanks for the comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Wonderful tasting apple crisp. I make all kinds of apple crisp and I put 1 cup of blueberries in with the apples. I will make this recipe again because it's supendously delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe Marg Caymon Designs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Apple Crisp

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.6
     
    Calories from Fat 219
    39%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.8 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 217.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.7 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 57.6 g
    230%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites