Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Air Buns (Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Air Buns (Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2012

      By far the best recipe I've come across on here yet. I've tried a lot of different bun recipes from many websites, and cook books, but.. bar none, these are the best. Light and fluffy and oh such beautiful aroma as they rise and puff up while baking. I will be doing these rolls for Christmas dinner. They are scrumptious, easy in a bread machine. They work out, they are not heavy hockey pucks like many buns are. I feel like Julia Child or Martha Stewart tonight after baking these lovely buns. You must try this recipe, you'll be sold on this one for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      I have baked buns for many years and tried many recipes and I think this is the best recipe I have ever tried!! Made my first batch yesterday and have another one rising right now. I will definitely be making them again and will double the recipe for a bigger batch:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Hello Sweet Baboo; I made these buns yesterday, 11/26/09. Waited patiently for the buns to complete baking. Just had to try a hot, right out of the oven bun, along with lots of butter. I was absolutely delighted with the lightness and texture. Had one bun for breakfast with butter, peanut butter and honey, and a cup of coffee, Wowee, absolutely scrumptous. I followed your recipe exactly. The first 2 hour rise was perfect. Divided the dough into 16 buns (2.9 ounces each), place them on a cookie sheet just touching each other, covered and let them rise for 1 hour, then baked for 25 minutes and they were a beautiful light golden brown. Thank you for sharing this with us, will be making them often. Regards, "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Great recipe, nice light fluffy buns. I first proofed the yeast, then I poured the wet ingredients along with the yeast in the stand mixer bowl with 1 cup flour and added the rest of the flour gradually. I let it go for about 7 minutes using the dough hook, then followed the directions starting at number 4. Very happy with the end results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This recipe was made on 7/7/09 to go with mine and SO's dinner. I followed the directions for making in ABM, and they turned out just " WONDERFUL ". I know why they are called " Air Buns " because if you don't hurry up and grab them when they come out of the oven they'll just float away. :) This will be made again and again, and again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      I have to say this recipe is amazing. It takes alot of work to begin with, mixing alot of unusual ingredients. But its well worth the effort. I've tried it as buns and loaf using oven. All are so soft and lovely. Will be trying it in the bread machine next. Thanks for sharing this. I'm passing it onto everyone I know who makes bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      I made this dough in my ABM, then shaped it,let it raise and baked. It's now my favorite homemade roll recipe.The rolls come out light,airy and very tasty. They also keep well, unlike many homemade rolls that get stale the next day. Thanks for a keeper recipe! t'S

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      Fantastic, light airy rolls.Very good and they went over great with the in-laws for Mother's Day lunch! Turned to this recipe b/c trying to find one that didn't have an egg since I was out. These were great and I will make again. I did use 1/2 white whole wheat flour and use the bread maker to make the dough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2012

      Really, really enjoyed these buns, especially when right out of the oven! Made the whole batch & shared about 1/3 of 'em with a neighbor couple, & now I've been asked to make 'em again this next week! A great recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I will add another 5 star review for these lovely rolls. I made 1/4 of the recipe for 4 rolls. Which turned out perfectly. I let them rise for the first 2 hours, which they needed that amount of time to rise and then shaped into balls and let rise for another hour. Produced 4 light and airy rolls. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I made all the ingredients in my bread machine at dough. But I didn't change the amount of the ingredients cause I didn't read your last step about it. But it was still perfect. I was able to work the dough in 16 buns with just a little flour. I just reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup but a little bit less that 1/4. Thanks Sweet Baboo. Made for Please Review My Recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      These are wonderful dinner rolls! Made as directed but used all whole wheat flour. This required an extra 1/2 cup. They are soft, airy, and flavorful. They have great texture, are simple to make, and they rise really well! Oh, and sooooo yummy too. Thanks for posting. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Very tasty! They rose beautifully and made very soft and light buns. I'll definately be using this recipe again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      I have FINALLY found my "keeper" bread recipe. These are to die for! Soft and light! Ditto Lynn53!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Wow! This is a great bread recipe! They are so light and fluffy. This is going into my favorites cookbook! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Light, fluffy and delicious!!! I can't wait to try the whole wheat version!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This recipe makes nice buns/rolls. I made small rolls and larger rolls. I put the extras into freezer bags and froze. When I need (want) rolls to go with pasta or soup...I just pop a few into the microwave. Yum.....I think I will also try the Whole Wheat version to see if they are also light and soft....and good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I made these today for a dinner at my daughter's and they were wonderful. Very tender and airy, just as the name implies. I made them with my KitchenAid mixer, which turned it into no work at all. This will definitely be my go to dinner roll recipe from now on. I got 16 HUGE dinner rolls from this amount and may make them smaller from now on. I brushed with an egg glaze before baking and the 20 minute bake time was perfect. Thanks for such a lovely recipe, Sweet Baboo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      These are delicous! I made the dough in the bread machine , took it out , let it rise , punched it down , formed my rolls (i need practice at THAT lol) let them rise and baked ... they are soooo soft and light ... very very good recipe!! I'm thinking these will be "THE" roll recipe I use from now on! Thanks so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      I used this recipe to make hamburger buns when the stores were closed around here, and the kids really wanted sloppy joes. The recipe was really easy to make, and they rose beautifully! Not sure I'd use them again for hamburger buns (they're a wee bit sweet for that), but I'd definitely make them again for dinner rolls... or cut back the sugar slightly if making hamburger buns. Thanks, Sweet Baboo, for another great Air Bread/Bun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Air Buns (Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (1106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.3
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    18%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 74.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes