24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

By far the best recipe I've come across on here yet. I've tried a lot of different bun recipes from many websites, and cook books, but.. bar none, these are the best. Light and fluffy and oh such beautiful aroma as they rise and puff up while baking. I will be doing these rolls for Christmas dinner. They are scrumptious, easy in a bread machine. They work out, they are not heavy hockey pucks like many buns are. I feel like Julia Child or Martha Stewart tonight after baking these lovely buns. You must try this recipe, you'll be sold on this one for sure.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldgirlnewtricks December 04, 2012

Hello Sweet Baboo; I made these buns yesterday, 11/26/09. Waited patiently for the buns to complete baking. Just had to try a hot, right out of the oven bun, along with lots of butter. I was absolutely delighted with the lightness and texture. Had one bun for breakfast with butter, peanut butter and honey, and a cup of coffee, Wowee, absolutely scrumptous. I followed your recipe exactly. The first 2 hour rise was perfect. Divided the dough into 16 buns (2.9 ounces each), place them on a cookie sheet just touching each other, covered and let them rise for 1 hour, then baked for 25 minutes and they were a beautiful light golden brown. Thank you for sharing this with us, will be making them often. Regards, "Uncle Bill"

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin November 26, 2009

I have baked buns for many years and tried many recipes and I think this is the best recipe I have ever tried!! Made my first batch yesterday and have another one rising right now. I will definitely be making them again and will double the recipe for a bigger batch:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarann63 November 10, 2012

Great recipe, nice light fluffy buns. I first proofed the yeast, then I poured the wet ingredients along with the yeast in the stand mixer bowl with 1 cup flour and added the rest of the flour gradually. I let it go for about 7 minutes using the dough hook, then followed the directions starting at number 4. Very happy with the end results.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice May 30, 2010

This recipe was made on 7/7/09 to go with mine and SO's dinner. I followed the directions for making in ABM, and they turned out just " WONDERFUL ". I know why they are called " Air Buns " because if you don't hurry up and grab them when they come out of the oven they'll just float away. :) This will be made again and again, and again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 07, 2009

I have to say this recipe is amazing. It takes alot of work to begin with, mixing alot of unusual ingredients. But its well worth the effort. I've tried it as buns and loaf using oven. All are so soft and lovely. Will be trying it in the bread machine next. Thanks for sharing this. I'm passing it onto everyone I know who makes bread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shazlee64 June 19, 2006

I made this dough in my ABM, then shaped it,let it raise and baked. It's now my favorite homemade roll recipe.The rolls come out light,airy and very tasty. They also keep well, unlike many homemade rolls that get stale the next day. Thanks for a keeper recipe! t'S

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn53 May 19, 2006

Fantastic, light airy rolls.Very good and they went over great with the in-laws for Mother's Day lunch! Turned to this recipe b/c trying to find one that didn't have an egg since I was out. These were great and I will make again. I did use 1/2 white whole wheat flour and use the bread maker to make the dough.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 May 12, 2013

Really, really enjoyed these buns, especially when right out of the oven! Made the whole batch & shared about 1/3 of 'em with a neighbor couple, & now I've been asked to make 'em again this next week! A great recipe! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 04, 2012

I will add another 5 star review for these lovely rolls. I made 1/4 of the recipe for 4 rolls. Which turned out perfectly. I let them rise for the first 2 hours, which they needed that amount of time to rise and then shaped into balls and let rise for another hour. Produced 4 light and airy rolls. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for PRMR Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 May 24, 2010
Mom's Air Buns (Rolls)