Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's 100% Whole Wheat Air Buns (Rolls) for Abm Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's 100% Whole Wheat Air Buns (Rolls) for Abm

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2010

      These were amazing! I loved them, the kids chowed down, DH raved. I did follow amyelice's adaptions for making them by hand, and then following our family's own food issues, I subbed olive oil for the shortening and whole grain spelt flour for the wheat. I also did not have gluten, so while these rose, they didn't "puff" on top. I plan to get them and try again. They were still delicious without it though! I plan on making them for Thanksgiving, even for the "white flour people" :) Updated to add: Have sicne started using gluten and it helps it hold together much better. (Though without gluten and making by hand, I found I got a better rise by increasing the first rise time). Also, I like to double the recipe and put it in a 9x13 to make 2 nice loaves of bread. A staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      This was fantastic. I'd given up on wheat bread because every attempt came out too heavy or dense, but these are amazing. I used the shortening and sugar instead of honey and butter, and I brushed a little melted butter over them before and after baking. I adapted the directions a bit to use my Kitchenaid. Using the mixer, and with my kitchen being so dry this winter, I did not use all the flour called for. I'd say I used about 1/2 cup less, and I let the dough hook knead for about 5 min. I also used about a 1/2 tbsp more gluten than stated. I did put them into 2 round cake pans, but I shaped them into 4 rolls for each pan for hamburger buns. This dough was very easy to work with, and I'd recommend this recipe to anyone who has been hesitant about the taste and texture of whole wheat. I'll be making some more tomorrow, I'm sure these won't last long at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Fabulous. I tried these out and they were great. Put half of the rolls unrisen and unbaked in the freezer. A few days later I let them thaw for 2 hours and then baked as normal - they were even better than the first day! What a rise!! Amazing. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      These are the fluffiest whole wheat rolls I've ever made -- so good! I used butter, and added 3 tablespoons of powdered milk. I've just had one hot from the oven and it's amazing; I'm officially tossing my other whole wheat roll recipes. Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      This is absolutely the best recipe for bread, rolls and buns! I've been grinding my own whole grains for over 10 years and this is the best recipe I've found. I make 24 rolls or 12 buns (bake at 375 for 16 minutes), and they both freeze great. I thaw them and then heat in a 350 oven for 5 minutes. When I make a loaf, baking at 375 for 25 minutes is perfect for my oven. The only adjustment I made is 4 TBS olive oil and 4 TBS honey in place of the shortening and sugar, and the flavor and texture is perfect for us. Thank you Sweet Baboo! I can understand why you got that name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Wow! These buns are absolutely delicious. I use the butter and honey options, and for the vinegar I use apple cider vinegar. I live in Canada, so I just use regular 100% whole wheat flour and leave out the gluten. The buns are very light and buttery tasting. Best whole wheat buns ever! I now make these almost on a weekly basis. Usually I make about a dozen kaiser size buns for bunwiches. I have also made the two trays of nine for dinner buns. Even my white bread lovin boyfriend loves them. Thank you so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      Great... so glad to find a great whole wheat bun recipe. It's easy and delicious. I find it challenging to find fresh whole wheat rolls and when I do, they are pricey. Now I can make them easily at home. Thanks a bunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Even my daughter who doesn't like whole-wheat rolls loved these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Thank you for an excellent recipe!! I made these buns and my kids gobbled them up! I did have to add a little bit of water in the begining as it seemed too dry, other than that it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I have only ever made a loaf directly in my bread machine so I had no idea what to do with the rolls; I wish the directions were a bit more descriptive. But, they came out pretty well, a bit dense on the bottom, I'm sure I probably did something wrong never having worked with doughy things before. Nice to have more WW recipes around for the bread machine, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2010

      These were GREAT!!! We used them for everything from sandwiches to dinner rolls! I got 18 buns and I froze because I figured it would take us awhile to eat them. I was wrong. I thawed the other nine two days after I froze them! Thanks for posting! Made for PRMR tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Made it several times now, always with a combo of white and wheat. I make 12 hamburger bun size rolls. I'm trying to make enough to freeze but they keep getting eaten as fast as I make them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I'm not sure I should rate this recipe as I made it as a loaf not buns but I loved it! I used the butter/honey option. Unfortunately, I wasn't sure how long to bake it as a loaf and I think it got a bit underdone. I baked at 350 for 25 minutes. When I make it again I think I'll shoot for 30-35. This is the first all whole-wheat flour recipe I've really liked the texture of! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      This was the first thing I made in my new bread machine; I used the butter and honey options and I made it as a loaf, since I didn't have time to shape the rolls. It rose so high that it deflated a little after hitting the top of the bread machine, but that's just an aesthetic issue. It is delicious! I will definitely be keeping this recipe, and next time I'll make the rolls :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      So far, the best all wheat buns I've made. I used the butter and honey options. The recipe yielded 14 hamburger buns at 2.5 ounces each. I will add more honey next time for a slightly sweeter roll, but that's just personal preference. Thank you for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This is my go-to recipe for everything from dinner rolls to hamburger buns. I substitute butter for shortening, but otherwise I keep the recipe as-is. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Gret recipe! I made 1 loaf and 6 hambuger buns. I still have a lot to learn about shaping those buns but they taste really good and light for whole wheat. Thanks for sharing. I will keep practicing. Sage/Rita I made these again and they turned out Perfect;thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Very good rolls. I used about a cup of white flour and the rest freshly ground white wheat flour. Also brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      Easy and delicious! I made half a recipe - 9 lovely rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Wonderful rolls! Used butter and honey. Not too heavy, very tender, which can be difficult when flour is all whole wheat. I love Erin 's suggestion of using white whole wheat flour and will try that as a variation, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's 100% Whole Wheat Air Buns (Rolls) for Abm

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.5
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    23%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 130.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites