108 Reviews

Now this was just FUN!! Fantastic recipe...tasted like I was at the fair. Kids went NUTS over them and were begging for more! Very easy to make. Next time I think I will go all the way and make lemon shake ups too!! Only problem I had was my funnel opening was too small for the batter...but we compromised and used something else. They still turned out great!! (I will be buying a bigger funnel though!!) Thanks for the great recipe :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae August 14, 2002

This funnel cake was so delicious. Put it in my cookbook. My family loved this. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula giles August 02, 2002

This is a great recipe, its small, quick and tastes great.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanner Kellogg August 02, 2001

I must admit, I wasn't impressed. I got nostalgic the other night, and decided that I wanted to make funnel cakes like the ones that I used to get at the fair as a kid. I looked up this recipe. The batter was way too thick, and wouldn't pass through my funnel, so I had to pour it from a cup, as thinly as possible. It did not work very well, so I tried thinning the batter with a little extra milk. That just seemed to make it thicker. The 'cakes' turned out very thick and doughy. I think I will try again with a different recipe, because this one was very problematic. Sorry!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick September 03, 2003

The recipe was easy to follow, batter was smooth, the funnel cake had a nice soft crunch when you bite into it and then a bit soft in the middle. The only complaint I have is that the funnel needed more tast. Maybe if I added brown sugar instead of white sugar and vanilla extract it would then give the funnel cake more tast.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna romero October 31, 2013

AaaahYUMMMMMM! Great recipe, thanks! I used splenda instead of sugar and grinded more splenda to just make powdered sugar. Added just a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. Used the fry daddy and it worked perfect.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Duodenalbitchinthekitch July 16, 2011

OMG!!! This was better than the fair if you ask me because, it was cheaper and you can make it any way you want. I didn't think it would come out this good. I will be making this at the next family function. I know it will be a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shena4922 May 27, 2011

I made this for Hanukkah, with great results. Poured batter into 2 small sandwich bags and before frying, cut a corner (not over the pan, because you don't want the piece of plastic falling into the hot oil). It was a little messy, but I have no funnel or spare ketchup bottle. Sandwich bags are dispensable and convenient. That said, kids loved it - it served way more than 6. There were about 8 of us, including about 4 children with hearty appetites. I was inspired to make this after having Burger King's funnel cake - sadly though, BK's funnel cake was sweeter. It was fun to make, but better left as something done annually.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyx March 15, 2010

I think this review should come from the source, so I am writing this after my wifey found this recipe. OMG!!! I don't even like funnel cake but this was soooo good! I had been trying to talking my wife into going to the gas station to get us drinks (at 1 am) and she refused, saying she was making these. She gave me the first one and I said "If you make me another I'll go to gas station right NOW!" Thank you Traci and Jeff and whoever the carni was who let this secret outa the bag! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lampwilkins April 03, 2009

Greatly disappointed. They were rather blase and flavorless. Even added cinnamon and vanilla to give it some flavor and it still didn't work. I was hoping for more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danae A. October 31, 2015
Momma's Fair Funnel Cake