Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Momma's Fair Funnel Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Momma's Fair Funnel Cake

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2002

      Now this was just FUN!! Fantastic recipe...tasted like I was at the fair. Kids went NUTS over them and were begging for more! Very easy to make. Next time I think I will go all the way and make lemon shake ups too!! Only problem I had was my funnel opening was too small for the batter...but we compromised and used something else. They still turned out great!! (I will be buying a bigger funnel though!!) Thanks for the great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This funnel cake was so delicious. Put it in my cookbook. My family loved this. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2001

      This is a great recipe, its small, quick and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      The recipe was easy to follow, batter was smooth, the funnel cake had a nice soft crunch when you bite into it and then a bit soft in the middle. The only complaint I have is that the funnel needed more tast. Maybe if I added brown sugar instead of white sugar and vanilla extract it would then give the funnel cake more tast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      AaaahYUMMMMMM! Great recipe, thanks! I used splenda instead of sugar and grinded more splenda to just make powdered sugar. Added just a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. Used the fry daddy and it worked perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      OMG!!! This was better than the fair if you ask me because, it was cheaper and you can make it any way you want. I didn't think it would come out this good. I will be making this at the next family function. I know it will be a hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I made this for Hanukkah, with great results. Poured batter into 2 small sandwich bags and before frying, cut a corner (not over the pan, because you don't want the piece of plastic falling into the hot oil). It was a little messy, but I have no funnel or spare ketchup bottle. Sandwich bags are dispensable and convenient. That said, kids loved it - it served way more than 6. There were about 8 of us, including about 4 children with hearty appetites. I was inspired to make this after having Burger King's funnel cake - sadly though, BK's funnel cake was sweeter. It was fun to make, but better left as something done annually.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      I think this review should come from the source, so I am writing this after my wifey found this recipe. OMG!!! I don't even like funnel cake but this was soooo good! I had been trying to talking my wife into going to the gas station to get us drinks (at 1 am) and she refused, saying she was making these. She gave me the first one and I said "If you make me another I'll go to gas station right NOW!" Thank you Traci and Jeff and whoever the carni was who let this secret outa the bag! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      I must admit, I wasn't impressed. I got nostalgic the other night, and decided that I wanted to make funnel cakes like the ones that I used to get at the fair as a kid. I looked up this recipe. The batter was way too thick, and wouldn't pass through my funnel, so I had to pour it from a cup, as thinly as possible. It did not work very well, so I tried thinning the batter with a little extra milk. That just seemed to make it thicker. The 'cakes' turned out very thick and doughy. I think I will try again with a different recipe, because this one was very problematic. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2014

      Needs more sugar and vanilla in the batter to be 100% but a pretty good recipe and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      Incredible taste, easy to make. Only issue I had was the batter was pretty thick so I had some issues pouring it from my funnel. Perhaps next time I will use a little less flour or more milk. I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars because the thick batter was really the only issue. Even with that, the cakes came out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside and nice and light just like funnel cake should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      Delicious. <br/><br/>3 eggs seemed a little high, so I subbed 2 egg whites for one egg yolk; fried in canola oil. Health food!! Guessed on temp by dropping little bits of batter in until they cooked in a reasonable time. <br/><br/>Tried with powdered sugar on one and cinnamon and sugar on the other. Really, really good either way. Next time I'm going to add a little vanilla to the batter, and maybe a little cinnamon if I'm going the C&S route, see what happens.<br/><br/>I had a condiment bottle laying around - a messy pour, but it worked just fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Great Recipe! It brought me back to the funnel cakes I had as a child. I used a deep fryer and it worked just great. Thank you for such a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Very nice and fun! Like a deep fried waffle. I increased the salt to 1 1/2 ts and there is much more dough than for 6 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      I honestly never knew funnel cakes are so easy to make. And, it's just as the others have said. These really do taste just like the ones at the fair. I wish I'd bothered to check out recipes sooner, 'cause I've spent a small fortune going to fairs over the years just for the funnel cakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Very good duplication of flavor of the fair ground version. Comments: Added a dash of vanilla. I used grape seed oil because it has a high smoke point and is light. I reduced the recipe to 2 and still had leftover batter which I saved and will try that to see how well it holds up. I used a funnel inserted into the top of a baster tube (no bulb) for better control and it worked well. I used a medium sized cast iron skillet which gave just the right size per cake and reduced the amt. of the oil. I hand whisked the whole thing which I prefer to do when possible. There's no oil temp indicated on recipe... I started on high and reduced to med. high but this will vary according to your stove. Too hot will turn edges dark, too low and it absorbs too much oil before browning. I'd err on the side of too little batter per fry versus too much which end up with one big, solid cake. Will follow up with success of using leftover batter for a second round. All in all, I thought this was an extremely good sub for commercial funnel cakes and would definitely recommend and will repeat. Oh yes, dusted with powdered sugar just like the fair vendors do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Made these tonight after having a craving for funnel cake. Definitely does not taste like the ones at the fair. The batter makes way too much and it is very thick. I think 3 eggs is too much, it has a very eggy taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Looooved this recipe! These were fun to make and tasted just like the amusement park ones. It did yield a lot though for just me and the husband. I did follow others advice and leave out some of the flour so it wasn't too thick and added some vanilla extract. I'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Wow.

      I had no idea how easy it was to make funnel cake. I made them for a bunch of college guys and it was universally agreed that they're just like the ones from the fair or the race track.

      The batter was a little too thick to flow through the funnel though. I had to trickle it from a measuring cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      They were ok...Just seemed to dry not to much like a Funnel cake ive ever had, and made WAY to much batter. but the taste was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Momma's Fair Funnel Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.9
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    13%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 104.3 mg
    34%
    Sodium 391.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites